Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Elizabeth René

Personal Details

Reference # 201-9887
Name Elizabeth René
Nationality South African
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans and English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?I am hiring a vehicle at the moment. I am also in the process of buying myself a new vehicle once financially stable. Transport wont be an issue for me as I have a hired vehicle. 
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Yes
Do you have seat belts all round?No, only in front
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No, I have never been in an accident.
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedN/a
How long have you been driving for?I have had my license since 2007. 

Education

Secondary EducationPoint High School In Mosselbay Passed with Matric Exemption. 2005.
Tertiary Education

Boland College

Marketing Certificate in N4 and N5.

Photography Certificate

Event Management Certificate

Indian Head Massage workshop (June 2011)

Swedish Massage Course (June 2011)

Educare  Au-Pair Full House Certificate (March 2010)

1 Year Au-Pair Completion certificate - Au-Pair Care New York

First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)I hold a valid first aid certificate 22 February 2010. 
Other training

Manhattanville College 2008

The English Language Institute.

Advanced Intergrated Skills

The Real you

Organizational Skills

Office training:

I have completed a Computer course at Boland College in Stellenbosch.

I have also been a PA for Leslie Josel the family I Au paired for in New York:

Duties:

Filing, answering the telephone, taking messages. Running of errands for her. Preparing documentation and working on Microsoft Word, Excel and Outlook Email. 

Time period: February 2008 - February 2009.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1st January 2003 - 31st December 2007. I went abroad.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Newborn - 6 years of age boys and girls.
What were your duties?General duties: Keeping them entertained, I would prepare a meal for the the kids if need be, supervised them, read them stories at night. Play fun educational games with them and then put them to bed.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI really enjoyed it. Its always nice to meet other people and their cultures. I love working with kids. I had no issues at all.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2008 - February 2009. My contract expired.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?2 children, 10 and 14 years old boy and girl.
What were your duties?

I would take them to school and extra murals, collect them from school. I would babysit them at night and supervise them. Assisting with projects and homework. Taking them to school. I also had to give the little boy medication as he had ADD, I also had to make sure he had a protein snack for his blood and sugar pressure. I also assisted her mother at her office, I was her PA as well. 

Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was a great experience. I had a wonderful relationship with the family. I had  no issues at all.

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMid September - Mid October 2009. I wanted to come back to South Africa.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?10 year old boy.
What were your duties?Take him school, assist him with homework. Prepare snacks, lunches and light snacks, dinner. The mother had a medical condition and could not take care of her child. I would assist with projects and tasks. Keep him entertained.
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was very challenging as the little boy did not have his mother around. I had no issues with this family at all.

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingThis is my current position.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?1 Boy, 12 years old.
What were your duties?Facilitator at Jan Van Riebeeck Primary for a Grade 5 learner. Assist the boy with school and homework. Make sure he rotates from class to class, assist him with exams, make sure he is up to date, drive him to extra murals, cooked for him and sometimes look after him when his parents go on business trips.
Your comments on the experience with this position 

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingPart time December 2009 - May 2010. I got a job offer overseas.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?1 Boy, 1 year old.
What were your duties?Making bottles, bathing, changing nappies, feeding, playing and organising his room and toys.
Your comments on the experience with this position 

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leavingCurrent position
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3 children  3 girls, 11, 10 and 22 months.
What were your duties?I look after the baby mostly. I feed her, bath her, keep her entertained etc. But I do occasionaly babysit the other children as well.
Your comments on the experience with this position 

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I have just finished my Au pair course. Ideally I would like more experience working with younger children. In 5 years I would like to start my own Montessori School.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in childcare as It would be a great experience go abroad. I love working with children and just to be there for them. I want to be part of their lives, and help them grow up and remember all the good things that they have learnt. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is Newborn.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy gym and walking up Chapman Peak. Going to the beach, travelling and seeing new places and meeting new people.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I don't have any spare jobs at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I can teach them allot of things, just to know that you have a purpose of being in that particular child's life. It makes you a child again. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy running around and being active, ball games and drawing.Taking them on outings like the Zoo or taking them somewhere they have not been before. I enjoy playing educational games with them. Going for walks with the dogs and the kids, taking them to the beach. In winter I would take them to the movies and play indoor games with them.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If its a baby, I would call the ambulance immediately, and perform CPR till the ambulance arrives. generally I would use my first aid knowledge on how to assist any medical emergency. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Little boy and his friend were playing TV games, they were playing int he basement. the little boy had a fit, I laid him down on his side, called the ambulance and the parents. 
What is your approach to discipline?I think discipline is very important. The child should know their boundaries. I would try and communicate with the child in the best way possible. Ideally I would discuss this with the family. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would calm the child down and try and distract them with something fun or creative. Take them out the situation that is causing the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take away the drawing object and give them paper to draw on, I would also explain to them that what they are doing is not the right thing to do. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain why they need to do their homework and why it is important to do the homework. I would try and make it fun and creative maybe there is something that they don't understand. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I don't work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I don't have any children of my own. 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I have allot of patients. I am very relaxed and easy going. I always lend a helping hand. I am fun and friendly. I can be an extrovert and a introvert at times if I don't really know the people. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastCut up fruit, yogurt or cereal or rooibos tea or eggs and toast.
LunchFish and veggies with potatoes.Chicken and veggies and rice.
DinnerChicken and veggies. Mac and cheese or pizza's on a Friday night.
SnackDigestive biscuits or fruit. Organic puffs. Juice and fruit. Nuts if the child is not allergic to it.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable in cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have one sister and one brother my brother is 10 years older than me and my sister is 5 years older than me. My brother has his own company in Mosselbay. My sister is a set designer for movies and background. My mom is a manager in Johannesburg. My father is an estate agent. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.