Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Elita

Personal Details

Reference # 201-9790
Name Elita
Nationality South African
Age 45
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans(1st),English(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Avanza 7 seater
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?1992

Education

Secondary EducationJ.B.M Hertzog (Witbank)
Tertiary EducationUNISA - Bcom in Psychology (Current)
First aid TrainingYes Expires 2018
Other trainingI completed a Staff Nursing course at Ann Latsky Nursing college in Springs in June 1993

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Linda from April 2009 to January 2010. The reason for me leaving was because Linda was ill and was busy with chemotherapy, so I helped her out during that time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Linda had 3 children; 2 boys of 14 and 16 years old, and 1 girl of 7 months old.
What were your duties?My duties were to take care of the baby in the morning, fetching children from school, taking them to extra murals, homework supervision, shopping, and errands. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Ida from February 2003 to December 2008. The reason for me leaving was because Ida got a morning job so no longer needed my help any more.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?She has 1 boy who was 4 years old when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were to fetch boy from school, take him to extra murals, homework supervision, take children on outings during school holidays. I would help Ida out with administration work in the mornings for her company.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2010 - July 2011, I left due to economy, Ilse could not afford me any longer.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, a 10 year old girl and a 7 year old boy.
What were your duties?I took the children to school and then did admin and shopping for them in the mornings. I then picked up the children from school again in the afternoons and took them to extra mural activities. I supervised homework, meals and holiday activities as well.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2010 - Currently still baby-sitting for her regularly.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Girl, she was 3 months old when I started, she is now 2 and a half.
What were your duties?Baby-Sitting in the evenings and over weekends as well as when nursery school closed during holidays.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2010 - Currently.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 
What were your duties?I work there on Monday and Wednesday afternoons from 15:30 to 19:00, sometimes later as required. I pick him up from school, make sure he has lunch. I then take him to extra murals and see that his homework is done. He then has to bath, I make sure he has his dinner and gets to bed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
PRETORIA
Pretoria Centurion
MIDRAND
Midrand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I worked as a nurse and most of my work ended up being in paediatrics. I fell in love with it, especially caring for children and my life started revolving around children. I also help out in the Sunday School at the church my husband is a pastor at.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is a new born.
What activities are you involved in?I am involved in helping out at support group for dependency issues.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I like to write, do beading, and making creating things.
What are your interests?My interests are reading, I like to read a lot about history, philosophy, spiritual and self help books.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like the fact that you contribute to them and make a difference in their life - emotionally, physically and spiritually.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children? Activities I enjoy doing with children are arts and crafts, reading books, educational games, and outdoor games. Activities all depend on the age of the child and what the child enjoys doing though.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It would depend on what type of emergency it is; but if its life threatening deal with it immediately and then contact the parents. If its not then contact the parents first then take care of whatever is necessary after that.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One boy would throw horrible tantrums one time he kicked a dent in my car. at one time he threw his suitcase at me because he I don´t want to do his homework. I just walked out the room for a while and let him calm down, came back and spoke to him about it and gave him time out, and then we sat and did his homework.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in positive reinforcement and reward system. If they are naughty, then use time out.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum i would ignore it because if you react they will do it again because its an attention seeking behaviour.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall I would take the child and explain that it is wrong and would get the child to help clean the wall and explain that its better to draw on paper.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework, I would find out why don´t want to do their homework and then would compromise with the child.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am most comfortable working with children any age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I don't work for any previous families.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?2 children. Both boys. Eldest born 1993 and youngest 2014
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as a gentle, loving, caring, kind, soft spoken and patient person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes I can cook.
BreakfastOats with dried fruit, yoghurt
LunchSandwich, omelet, little pizzas, hot dogs, 2 minute noodles
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise, vegetables
SnackFruit, yoghurt, pro vita's
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I love cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents both passed away, I am still married and have 16 year old son. My brother is 30 and has a girl of 4 years old and a boy on the way. My brother is a manager of pick n pay.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.