Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jacquiline Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-9604
Name Jacquiline Michelle
Nationality South African
Age 36
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1998 VW polo playa white 1.4 i
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes there are seat belts in the back and front of my car
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedI was driving in the evening in wet rainy weather and my car skidded
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2003

Education

Secondary EducationNational School of the Arts - 2002
Tertiary EducationI have studied towards a degree in Health Psychology but haven't completed it as of yet.
First aid TrainingYes I have completed first aid
Other training

Self awareness (hospice)- 2007

Communication, counseling and life skills (hospice) - 2007.

EFT level 1 - 2009

Emotional intelligence - 2009

Life skills facilitator/coach for children - 2009.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Lindsay from May 2009 to December 2009. My reason for leaving was due to the fact that it was only a 6 month temp position.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?She has 3 children - 2 boys (3 years old and 9 years old), and 1 girl who was 6 years old when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were take and fetch children from school, take them to extra murals, make and take children to appointments (ex: therapy), make lunch and snacks for children, homework and project supervision, take children on outings, and to do basic family errands. It was a very interesting experience as the children had ADD and allergies, but I really enjoyed it and learnt a lot from it.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Julia from August 2007 to April 2008. My reason for leaving was due to financial reasons.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Julia had 5 children - 3 triplets (girls) 5 years old, 1 girl who was 10 years old, and one boy who was 12 years old when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were to fetch children from school, take them to extra murals, make children lunch, cook dinner for family, ran errands, play educational games with children and take them on outings.It was an amazing experience, I loved the kids and the family. They are wonderful people and they were very supportive towards me when my mom became ill.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingI worked for Sarah from March 2009 to January 2010. My reason for leaving was due to the fact that they were unsure if they were immigrating or not.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Sarah had 2 children, a girl who was 18 months old,  and a boy who was 4 years old when I started.
What were your duties?My duties were to do household shopping, cooking lunch and dinner for children and family, taking children to extra murals and on outings, playing education games and stimulating activities with children. 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingSince 2010 to present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?From newborn to 12 years old

What were your duties?

Babysitting and au pairing for various client for Sitters4U.

  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?

I got involved in childcare when I was in Varsity and was looking for extra money. I am interested in au pairing/babysitting because I love it, its rewarding and what I want to do with my life is working with children.

What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is from new born.
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in dancing, and watching movies
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I do arts, sky diving, camping, and going fishing.
What are your interests?My interests are nature, animals, and children.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?What I like most about childcare and being apart of a child's life is the experience and what you learn from it, not only about yourself but about children and development and what's its like to be a parent.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children are going on outings (zoo, park - feeding the ducks), going for walks, swimming, jumping on the trampoline, crafts - painting, drawing and making things.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In case of an emergency I would use first aid and call for help if the problem can't be sorted out by myself.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I haven't encountered any difficult situations but have faced many challenges, such as a children who had ADD, sensory issues and allergies, and mothers working from home. I learnt to deal with the challenging situations but following strict diets, working hand in hand with OT's, giving them medication. 
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline is firm but fair.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Dealing with the tantrum depends on the situation and why the child is throwing a tantrum. Steps would be taking accordingly, and there are different forms of dealing with it such as distraction, reason, or punish.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on a wall I would take a picture of it (if its the first time), and then sit down with the child and discuss with the child why drawing on the wall is not acceptable. If it is the 2nd time, its immediate punishment.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do homework I would take away activities they enjoy.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable caring for children from the age of 2 years old up till 18 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I don't work for any previous clients. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No I don't want any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as outgoing, friendly, outgoing, caring, empathetic as well as sympathetic, and free spirited person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes I can cook (food depends on family and dietary requirements)
BreakfastYoghurt / fruit / cereal / toast.
LunchFruit, sandwich / mini pizza's / omelettes / pasta
DinnerIf not requested by the family, then anything I choose such as fish with vegetables / salads / pasta / chicken and mash potatoes.
SnackPopcorn / dried fruit / nuts / biltong
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable cooking spicy food due to not having experience with it but willing to learn.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My mother passed away in 2008.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.