Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tarryn Leigh

Personal Details

Reference # 201-9592
Name Tarryn Leigh
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Uno Cento 1997. 2 door.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2010.

Education

Secondary EducationEdgemead High school - 2007 (Matric Endorsement)
Tertiary Education

Event management through Intec college.

Child Health Care Certificate

First aid TrainingYes, expired
Other trainingChild health as a subject in school. Baby care at a home facility. Horse riding with CHA in the USA.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2008 - October 2008. 3 months, the camp had finished as summer was over. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I was responsible for 6 children at a time for a weeks period, where after i´d have a days break before the next group of children would arrive. There ages varied between 6 and 16 and included both girls and boys.
What were your duties?My daily responsibility were waking the children up in the mornings and making sure that they got dressed in time for breakfast, where we would sit at communal tables eating and singing songs. After breakfast we would have camp clean up and make sure that my children went to their correct activities while I would teach horse riding to the other campers. We would then meet for lunch again and go for a second round of activities. In the evening, after dinner I was responsible for planning an "event" of sorts for my cabin of children to entertain them before bedtime. These would include anything from skits, to singing, baking, crafts or story telling. After ward i´d put the children to bed, I was always available through the night as my cabin was always placed next door, and then the same the next day.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFew weeks to 2-3 months. The mother sent her to a daycare for socialisation.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Child, 1month- 5months and she is a female.
What were your duties?General babysitting when needed, feeding, washing, changing of nappies, entertainment.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving20 December 2011 - Current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two girls aged 8 & 6
What were your duties?To provide a meal for the girls and to ensure that they eat it finished. Then to entertain them until bed time where they must brush their teeth, we then read stories.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always had a fondness towards children and have found it a tendency of mine to gravitate towards a job where a child is involved. I find it rewarding to work with them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2-6months old
What activities are you involved in?Social hockey. Horse riding. Gym.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Horse riding, gym, scrap booking, card making playing at the beach.
What are your interests?I enjoy nature and the fresh air, going to the beach or taking a walk to a park with my dogs. I love to capture memories in photo´s and scrap book them. 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The reward of guiding and teaching a child something new and seeing them able to accomplish this task on their own later. Knowing that i have made a positive impact on a child's life is a lot more rewarding than on an adults. A child is like a sponge and absorbs everything you teach or tell them and to be a part of the future generation leaves me with a lot more peace knowing their is a good souls out there.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing games and sports, teaching arts and crafts, story time. All of these enable us to find out who the child is and to be able to enhance that and bring out their personality.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It depends on the type of emergency, if it were life threatening i would immediately call an ambulance and try stabilize the child until they arrive. If the situation is a little less medical i would use my first aid training to deal with the injury or occurrence and perhaps take the child to a doctor afterwards.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A baby was lying in a cot at a home and it started choking, I placed it over my leg and started firmly patting it on it´s back until it took a gasp of air, where after I called a nurse for a check up.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in a non violent approach and that talking and explaining to a child as to why they can´t have or do something works better not only short term but in the long term works more effectively. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I´d firmly tell them to stop and if they were to carry on i´d ignore the tantrum, still watching them though and talk to them once they have calmed down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I´d tell them to stop, and explain to them that drawing takes place on paper and not on walls. I´d then provide them with paper at the same time giving them a cloth to help me clean it off the wall, as they are old enough to understand that there is a consequence to an action.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I´d bargain within reason, that if they were to complete their homework they would be able to do something more enjoyable afterwards, and perhaps try to make homework more fun.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I don´t have a preference to a certain age, but I would prefer toddlers and older.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I don't work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I don't have any children of my own. 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a hard working person who like to stick to a schedule when there is a task at hand, and then relax afterwards. I enjoy a good laugh and have a sense of humour. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs on toast or toad in a whole. Perhaps some french toast.
LunchSand which built as a boat with a celery stick oar and triangle cheese as a mast.
DinnerMermaids tail paste which is thick spaghetti noodles with some spinach for a ´green tail´ and perhaps some mince and mushrooms as pearls.
Snackyoghurt and fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable in cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have a sister who is now 18 years old and is studying to be a foundation phase teacher. My parents are divorced and still stay in contact with both. I stay with my mother and sister currently. My mom is a medical aid consultant and my dad is in IT. The rest of my family includes mostly animals, 2 cats & 2dogs with a few fish.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.