Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lauren

Personal Details

Reference # 201-9483
Name Lauren
Nationality South African
Age 30
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.No
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renult Cleo 2_ 2005 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happened 
How long have you been driving for?2 and a half years

Education

Secondary EducationI matriculated from Boksburg High School in 2007. Subjects taken: English, Afrikaans, Maths, Physical Science, Geography, History, Accounting. I Matriculated with a Distinction
Tertiary EducationI am currently studying Psychology and Maths at Wits University
First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)No -
Other trainingNone

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2008 to present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One girl of 11 years old
What were your duties?My duties were to tutor her maths
Your comments on the experience with this positionI love it, we work well together and have a close relationship

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityJohannesburg
Please state your accurate times of availabilityI am available in the afternoons to fetch children from school, and also available for occasional evening and weekend babysitting

Salary expectations

Full time 
Part time 

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I am currently studying Maths and Psychology. I plan on getting my Diploma in teaching once I have my degree to teach Maths, as well as go on into Psychology and become an Educational Psychologist
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have not been involved in child care as yet, however I am currently a tutor. I'm interested in Au pairing/ babysitting because it is good experience for me in terms of my future career, as well as that the hours are such that I am able to work around my busy schedule
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?My nephew who is almost one years old
What activities are you involved in?Activities I am involved in is ballet, church, palates, and tutoring.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I am involved in is ballet, church, palates, and tutoring
What are your interests?My interests are Psychology, church, and ballet.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?what I like most about child care is the fact that you can have an influence on that child´s life. Children are so willing to learn so to be a role model and possibly assist children with any problems they may have is a great honour.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children is helping them with homework, and playing out doors, anything creative is also great.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In case of an emergency I would immediately phone the ambulance if it is a severe emergency, if not then the parents of the child would be contacted.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never encountered any difficult situations.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline is to be firm while still showing love.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum, I would attempt to calm the child the best way possible, but not necessarily giving into their demands.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on the wall, I would Rep-remand them for doing it, then explain why it should not be done and give the child a piece of paper so that they can carry on drawing in a constructive manner.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework, I will not allow them to do anything else until their homework is done. If they then still refuse I would let them calm down a bit, while still not allowing them to do the activity they want, and offer to do their homework together. I would then reward them after the homework is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children between the ages of 11 and 16 years old age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I tutor for Stella van Niekerk
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No I don't have any children of my own. 
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very logical and particular. I tend to see the best in people and instead of beating someone down. I would rather encourage them and place emphasis on what was done correctly rather then the mistake.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes but not comfortable cooking
BreakfastCereal, toast
LunchSandwich
DinnerPasta
SnackBiscuits, cheese, raisins
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I would give the child whatever is in the house and that is suitable for the time but I am not conformable cooking big meals.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still married. I have 3 sisters, 1 younger (18) and 2 older. For 6 month my oldest sister stayed with us with her 2 children aged 7 and less then a year so I received experience in child care while looking after them. We are a fairly close family. My mother is a stay at home Mom, my Father is the owner of Flora Farm Garden Centre.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.