Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sarah-Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-9395
Name Sarah-Michelle
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mazda Soho 121 4 door
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes , seat belts back and front in all good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedN/a
How long have you been driving for?Since 2005.

Education

Secondary Education2005-Matriculated at Fourways High School, Johannesburg.
Tertiary Education2009-BA Psychology at The University of Johannesburg, 1st Major - Psychology, 2nd Major - Communication.
First aid TrainingNo, will be registering for first aid.
Other trainingNo other training at the moment,

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2009 - December 2009.Relocation to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children. 8 years and 11 years. Boy and girl.
What were your duties?Fetching the children from school, assisting with their homework, extra mural activities, making lunch (when required), as well as arranging play dates with other children.
Your comments on the experience with this positionLovely Family. Enjoyed working for them, very easygoing and great kids. Formed a special bond with each child and was sad to leave.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2008 - December 2008. Melissa's oldest son was relocating to Cape Town and no longer needed my assistance.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?10 and 13 years old both boys.
What were your duties?Collecting them from school, preparing lunch for them, organising friends to come over, supervising them and babysitting them. Assisting with homework and projects. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionGreat family, I got on very well with the parents and the boys. I had no issues with this family at all.

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityCape Town: Southern Suburbs, Atlantic Seaboard, South Peninsula and City Bowl.
Please state your accurate times of availabilityAu pairing Monday - Friday full day or half day. Babysitting in the evenings Monday - Sunday.

Salary expectations

Full timeNeg
Part timeNeg

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I have just finished Varsity and hostessing part time. Eventually I would like to open my own crèche. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children and have always had a passion for children. I love to entertain then and make them happy.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child that I have cared for was 1 years old. 
What activities are you involved in?I love scrap booking, I enjoy volley ball and swimming and water polo.I enjoy running in the afternoons.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently hostessing at the moment part time.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child’s life?I love to watch them develop and have a positive impact on their lives. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy play dates and taking them to parks and zoo's. I enjoy playing educational games with them, playing with blocks or reading them stories. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would firstly get all the emergency numbers from the parents, I would apply my first aid knowledge and if the situation is serious I will then contact the emergency numbers and then contact the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have never really had any issues I could not handle.
What is your approach to discipline?I would discuss this with the family, and their views on how they discipline their children. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try and distract them with something fun and try and calm them down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take the drawing object away, explain to them that what they are doing is wrong. Also I would ask them to help me clean the wall. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would use removal of privileges, Ideally I would help them with the homework because there is something most likely that they don't understand. Positive reinforcement works well. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable in working with ages 1 - 13 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I don't work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I don't have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am positive and creative. I am an extrovert and love being around children. I am responsible and very reliable.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook.
BreakfastYoghurt and fruit or cereal.
LunchSandwich with fruit juice and fruit or yoghurt.
DinnerFish fingers and mash, chicken and veggies with rice.
SnackFruit, dried fruits and fruit juice.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable in cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My dad is a surgeon, my mom is a nurse, my brother is doing his masters in architecture and is 26 now. We get along very well. My mom lives in Johannesburg and my dad lives in Paarl.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.