Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Tori

Personal Details

Reference # 201-9152
Name Tori
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i10 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, seat belts back and front in good working order.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2004.

Education

Secondary EducationSt Johns College -International Baccalaureate Organisation - 2005.
Tertiary Education

Curtin University in Perth - Studying Graphic Design - 2006

UCT - Studying Film and Media Studies -(2008-2010)

I am currently studying through Unisa towards my teaching Degree.

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2007 - December 2007. I left to go and study at UCT.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?It was a pre-primary nursery school in Knysna. There were about 40 children in the school. I was in charge of a maximum number of 8 children at a time. Boys and girls 3months - 4 years.
What were your duties?Entertain the children by playing games with them, reading stories, doing productive activities such as puzzles and listening games etc.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2008 - October 2008. Needed to concentrate more on my studies. Occasional babysitting.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children. Girl-aged 13, boy-aged 10.  
What were your duties?I was expected to make sure they had dinner, help with homework, and make sure they got to bed on time.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving8 months - left due to needing more hours work per day
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, boy age 7, girl age 3
What were your duties?Collecting from school, homework, stimulating activities such as reading, drawing, painting, puzzles, outdoor activities, imaginary games, extra mural activities, household errands
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2009 - Dec 2010 - and on and off for 7 years - re-located to Cape Town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children, girl age 15, girl age 8, boy age 5, new born baby boy
What were your duties?Collecting from school, dropping and collecting to and from extra mural activities, homework supervision, light cooking and household errands, stimulating indoor and outdoor activities with the children, helping with workers as well as events for Louise´s business
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children. There is no really other reason for it. I am interested in children and the courses I am going to be studying. Working at Oakhill School in Knysna and since then au pairing for two lovely families. Working with children are the times I've felt most happy and fulfilled. Also, I am starting my teaching studies through UNISA in 2015.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child that I have cared for is 2 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy art, playing the piano. I enjoy being outdoor and skiing.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No other jobs at the moment.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love their innocence and they just make them happy. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love doing puzzles, drawing and painting. I enjoy imagery games.Outdoor activities playing balls.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?The first thing I would do is make sure the child is ok, once I have done my first aid course I would know what to do. I would contact the emergency numbers and then contact the parent.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?At baby Oaks I was reading him a story, one of the cords of the stereo and the radio hit him on his chin. He had a big shock and then I took him to the nurse. 
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm but fair.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?At Baby Oaks we were taught to hold the child till they have finished their tantrum and keep contact with them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would be firm and explain why it is wrong and give him paper to draw on.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try and make it interesting and make a game out of it. I would find out why they don't want to do their homework either.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2 years - 16 years of age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I don't work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, children of my own at the moment.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun and creative, I am patient, friendly and reliable and honest.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal or toast with fruit.
LunchSandwich or noodles, soup.
DinnerPasta, chicken and veggies, potatoes and rice.
SnackLittle health bar, biscuits and juice, fruits.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I am comfortable in cooking any types of foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 3 sisters they are all younger than me. My parents are separated. My mom is re married and I get on really well with my step dad. My dad is now re married.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.