Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Karen

Personal Details

Reference # 201-8839
Name Karen
Nationality South African
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans / English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chevrolet Aveo / Prado
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedN/a
How long have you been driving for?Since 2003.

Education

Secondary EducationDurbanville High School Matric  Grade 12 with Endorsement. 
Tertiary Education

Boland College Cape Town January 2003 -  December 2003

Dept Teaching: Age 3 - 6 years

Sathra: South African Therapeutic Riding January 2004 - January 2004 & March 2004

Association.  Short course in Therapeutic Horse Riding

Theory & Practical in Therapeutic Horse Riding

Play Therapy and Training January 2007 - February 2007.

Begginers Course in Play Therapy

Advance Course in Play Therapy. 

 

First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)Yes, I have a valid first aid certificate.
Other training 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2005 - February 2008: I left to go to the UK.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?About 9 children a week. Ages from 2 - 6 years old boys and girls. 
What were your duties?Teaching them to communicate and talk, social skills and self help skills and over all adjustment to the world around them.
Your comments on the experience with this positionI loved it very much, I had no issues at all.

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2008 - June 2008 & February 2009 - September 2009. I left to do caring work.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?One girl aged 8 and also assisted in the class, a mixture of ages 4 - 6 years old boys and girls.
What were your duties?Special needs children: I tutored the Autistic girl who was 8 at the time, I also assisted with the class and other children. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionI enjoyed it very much.I have not had any issues at all. 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2008 - February 2009: They relocated to the UK
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3 children, 5 months, 3 and 5. Two boys and one girl.
What were your duties?To watch and entertain  the children, take them to school and take them to school, assisted with some cleaning in the house. I would also prepare light snacks and lunches for them, keep them happy and bathed them I would read bedtime stories to them make sure they have brushed their teeth etc. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionWe are still in contact and I loved the position very much. I have had no issues at all.

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingOctober 2009 - November 2009. I relocated back to South Africa
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Elder lady and husband 84 years old.
What were your duties?I helped her to bathroom facilities, cooking and cleaning taking to shops and doing shopping, taking her for walks, dressing her. Kept her company and watched movies with her.. 
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was a really good experience and I learn't allot out of it, I had no issues at all.

Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

Other

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityNorthern Suburbs
Please state your accurate times of availabilityAu pairing and babysitting

Salary expectations

Full timeNeg
Part timeNeg

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? In five years I would like to have my own company and working with Autistic children and on the side line Make up artist.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?

I love children very much, I would also like to spend some time with normal kids I would like to be given that chance, my job can be very stressful at times

In March 2004 I assisted Dr Engela Young: I was an Therapist, I worked with children who had learning problems and some disabilities, I worked with ADDHD and ADD children, aspersion syndrome and autism children, sere pal palsy. 

What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest age that I have card for is 5 months.
What activities are you involved in?I gym every now and then and tennis, hockey. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I tutor in my spare time - Monday - Friday during the week.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Teaching them things that I know or new skills that make things easy for them and then the end results are very rewarding at the end. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love playing outside with them, building puzzles and board games. Anything educational and fun. I enjoy playing cricket with the boys or cycle with them and swimming.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would contact Net care or the ambulance first then get hold of the parents immediately and inform them.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not had any situation I could not handle.
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm but fear, I also use removal of privileges. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would explain why it is wrong and find out why they are having the tantrum. I would distract them with something fun.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why it is wrong and give them paper or a coloring book to draw in.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would use removal of privileges. I would find out why they don't want to do their homework and assist them with it.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Babies up to 7 years of age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still tutor for private clients.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am caring and loving. I am creative and energetic, I also have allot of patients. I enjoy arts and painting. I have passion for children and love working with them.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, fruits and yogurt
LunchSandwich with grapes and juice or cut up cucumber, carrots and tomato. Small little melrose cheese. 
DinnerChicken nuggets or fish fingers and oven baked chips or pasta or broccoli and carrots with sausages.
SnackFruit and yogurt.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am uncomfortable cooking curry.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents are still together, my dad has his own company and my mom does not work anymore. I have two older sisters.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.