Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Ashley Crystal

Personal Details

Reference # 201-8815
Name Ashley Crystal
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans, a little German

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? If No, please click here to take part in a course near you.Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1999 Nissian primera
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes please describe the accident and when it happenedN/A
How long have you been driving for?I have been driving since 2006.

Education

Secondary EducationI completed a National Senior Certificate at The Natural Learning Academy. Subjects taken: English, Afrikaans, History of Art, Painting & Drawing Photography, Sculpture Graphic Design. Average percentage: +- 70%
Tertiary EducationNo I don't have any tertiary education.
First aid Training(If no, please fill in the application form for the course byclicking here, we cannot register you if have not done or do not complete a first aid course)Yes
Other trainingChild Safety Certificate obtained in New York from the American Red Cross

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI worked there from the 4th of November 2007 till 6 November 2008. I had to leave as my visa for au pairing overseas expired
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?The had 2 children, one boy of 12 years old and one girl of 8 years
What were your duties?Breakfast, taking and fetching from school and extra murals, laundry, keeping their rooms tidy, lunch and dinner, errands, house sitting, homework supervision
Your comments on the experience with this positionIt was amazing to work overseas. The family treated me more like a family member than anything else. They were very fair people and we kept up to date with each other on how the children were doing

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI worked there as a teachers assistant from January 2007 to August 2007. I left because I worked there to help out a family friend at their preschool. I also mainly worked their for experience which aided me in being able to go overseas to au pair
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?The preschool had about 14 to 20 children. The children were both boys and girls, between the ages of 2 to 4 years old
What were your duties?My duties were to prepare meals, change nappies, assist in potty training, organizing puppet shows, playing education games with them, and supervising nap time
Your comments on the experience with this positionI enjoyed working there, my only issue was that I wasn't paid well due to the fact that I was a teachers assistant and they also didn't need a permanent person  

Reference 4:


Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Please state your areas of availabilityJohannesburg North and Sandton
Please state your accurate times of availabilityBabysitting only

Salary expectations

Full timeN/A
Part timeR55 p/h

Questions

Please tell us a bit more about the courses you are currently busy with, if any and also a bit more about where you see yourself in 5 years? I am not busy with any courses at the moment, but plan to start studying child psychology in the near future by correspondence courses and after that I would then like to study to become a pre-school teacher. My dream has always been to become a teacher as I grew up having all three of my Aunts as teachers who all have their own schools. In 5 years I would like to be working pre-school teacher full time, and to be a child psychologist part time so that I can save towards opening up my own school with my oldest sister, since she shares the same dream as I do
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved in child care purely as a hobby at a young age due to my passion and love for children of all ages. When my first nephew was born, I would often babysit for my sister. My oldest sister has always been a role model to me and when she started Au pairing at a very young age (at that time I was about 10 years old) it became my dream to me to become an Au pair one day as well. I also and to travel at the same time, just as she wanted to do, but unfortunately right before my sister was going to depart for America as an Au pair, she realized she wouldn't be able to because she new she would get homesickness. Since then, I knew I would fulfill both our dreams to become an Au pair. After my trip to New York as an Au pair, I knew that childcare was not just a job to me, but also, a passion and a part of my life.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is for a newborn
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy quad-biking, as I grew up from a young age with it with my family. Our family used to go quad-biking every weekend with family friends until I relocated to Johannesburg. We all have own quad-bikes, and we are all fully kitted out from our riding suits (all of us having different colors), along with helmets and boots.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I completed Matric and grade 11 in an art school thus making art a huge hobby of mine. I love to paint, draw and do photography by hand using a dark-room and a vintage camera. I also love being outdoors such as swimming, going to the beach, hiking, quad-biking, and jogging. I also enjoy reading and writing short poems.
What are your interests?The art Surrealism really interests and fascinates me. I love to read books about all kinds of art and walk through museums and art galleries, observing the new, young and fresh art in South Africa, which to me is beautiful.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love the innocence of a child and being a role model and teaching children true values in life. Educating and growing with children as they become young adults; from the first steps of a child to the surprising hugs and kisses you receive from them as you take them on as though they were your own. One day I would like to have 3 children of my own and treat them just as I treat the children as a au pair for.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Activities I enjoy doing with children is playing any sports; taking walks; riding bicycles; building puzzles and blocks; reading books; playing dress-up; having puppet shows, and treasure hunts etc
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In an emergency I would first call the paramedics or police, then do what I have been trained to do which would be CPR or First Aid, and then call the child´s parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not encountered any serious, dangerous or difficult situations yet but If I had to explain a situation I encountered when I was in au paring in America. The family I was Au pairing for new puppy destroyed the child´s picture she had been working on for a long time for her mother´s birthday present. She was very, very upset and I gently took her away from the scene, sat her down and explained that I knew she had worked very hard on her picture but together we could make a more beautiful picture, and that we could both sign our names at the bottom of the picture, which would make it more important because we helped each other made it because of the effort was put into it. She instantly forgot it was even destroyed and became very excited to work on the project with me for her mom´s birthday present.
What is your approach to discipline?My approach to discipline is to take the child aside, explain calmly that what they are doing is not okay and not very nice. If the child continues, ask the child to sit facing a wall for the amount of minutes of the child´s age, such as a 4 years old would sit for 4 minutes facing the corner. Explain that it is not a punishment, but actually a time-out period where they can take the time to think about why their behavior is unacceptable

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If a 2 year old was throwing a tantrum, I would find something or an activity to side-track the child from the unnecessary tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?If a 5 year old was drawing on the wall, I would give the child a piece of paper and explain that we can stick it up on the wall once it is completed where it will look even better than it being drawn on the wall
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?If an 8 year old was refusing to do their homework, I would tell them how cool it is to be smart and ahead of the class, and explain that the only way they will become top of the class is to enjoy doing homework and work on it each and everyday as hard as you can. Then explain that the sooner it is over, the sooner we can do something of their choice.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with any age group as I have had experience with children of all age groups
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I don't work for any previous clients but I do babysit for my sister
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?none
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an easy-going, fun, energetic, creative young woman who appreciates all the positive things in life. I'm a very honest person and choose to have open relationships with my employers thus creating a stronger form of communication and less friction. I am reliable and responsible and think that I am also very mature for my age, especially having 2 older sisters and travelling overseas at such a young age.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastJungle Oats or Pro-nutro
LunchRoast Lemon Chicken, sweet potatoes and mixed vegetables
DinnerCottage pie with carrots, aubergine and leeks
SnackFresh fruit and yogurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have 2 older sisters and one younger brother. My parents are still happily married and run a family plumbing business together. My oldest sister is married with 2 children and my middle sister is engaged. My parents adopted my younger brother when he was 11 months old. My brother is now 13 years old and we have a very close bond. Most of my family stay in Cape Town except for my middle sister who resides in Johannesburg very close to where I stay. We are a very close family and I speak to them as often as possible.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.