Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Susan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-82432
Name Susan
Nationality South African
Age 41
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2005 Hyundai Getz
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened2005 - rainy morning, another vehicle not stopping behind line at intersection. I was concerned that they would not stop and was checking them as well as oncoming traffic in case I needed to take avoiding action. Unfortunately there were new traffic lights up ahead and I did not see cars coming to a stop ahead, and I could not stop soon enough to avoid colliding with vehicle ahead of me
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1996

Education

Secondary Education
Matric -Wynberg Girls High School - 1995
Tertiary Education

Secretarial course - 1 year - completed - Fairhills secretarial academy

Therapeutic Massage - 2 years - completed - Cape Institute for Adult Health Studies

Social Sciences - UCT - 1 year - incomplete

Facilitation - online course - busy with

First aid TrainingValid until October 2021

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2018  - contract ended
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?High school children - special inclusive education school - Facitator
What were your duties?Classroom facilitation, weekly reports to parents, supervised homework.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
Constantia and Surrounds

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full time15000
Part time9000

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?Been involved with children for over 20 years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I initially started babysitting in school and was involved in the church youth group. I enjoy the positive impact I have on children's lives and connect well with them.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Privately: My nephew - now 9 1/2 months my stepdaughter - since age 4. Professionally from around 6 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Baking, sewing, gym, reading.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Baking, swimming, puzzles, drawing/colouring in, reading, dancing
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on the emergency. 1 - Dont panic 2 - Call for help while dealing with situation 3 - in case of children, reassure them that they will be ok . 4 - Notify employers. 5 - Give children specific tasks to help with the situation.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Temper tantrums. It is balancing the stress the child is experiencing while not being able to communicate their needs, with the expectations of how to behave so that they can communicate. Tell the child that I want to understand why they are upset, and they need to explain to me (in a very relaxed and quietly compassionate manner).
What is your approach to discipline?I do believe a spanking may be warranted in certain circumstances, BUT this is a parents´ responsibility. and perogative. If child needs a time out, especially if they are tired and crying and cannot communicate, I would ascertain the degree of teaching required for that situation. Explaining the reason for time out is important. Also, if persistent requests for respect, quiet, sharing etc are not met, then the toy or activity they are busy with gets stopped immediately and a new task/activity is started.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Allow them firstly to get on with their frustration - acknowledge their frustration, acknowledge that their feelings matter - then tell them I might not understand and ask them to show me or point out what is bothering them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them to stop immediately (NB, don´t shout or scream, or panic - it is after all only a wall). Put the crayons down, and explain why it is not ok. Then make a plan for an easel or frame to be put up with with newsprint (paper roll) for them to draw "on the wall".
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?There are some creative arguments - use logical thinking as to why they think they should (rather focus on the positive, and also make them feel that it is their decision). I also work on concentration boosts - they give me x amount of minutes, and then they get y amount of minutes rest. Earning something they would enjoy).
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?5-9 year olds mostly
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?n/a
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?A step-daughter - now 19 she moved in with her father and I at age 9 (about 2 weeks after we were married).
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Fun, loyal, compassionate, caring, honest, Christian.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastSmoothies, granola, cheese on toast, eggy bread, fruit and yoghurt
LunchToasted sandwiches (egg mayo, chicken mayo etc), fish fingers, baked potatoesT
DinnerMac´n cheese and spaghetti bolognaise.
SnackCelery sticks, cucumber sticks, carrot sticks, cottage cheese dips, biltong, crackers, and sometimes a sweet option
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?Single parent mother - my father passed away when I was 12. Younger brother and sister. Brother is married with 9-month old baby boy. Married, have a step-daughter. No children of my own.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.