Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Cheyan

Personal Details

Reference # 201-81321
Name Cheyan
Nationality South African
Age 21
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (2nd) (I can teach Afrikaans)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2013 Chevrolet Spark 1.2L
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?February 2016

Education

Secondary Education
Matric: St Peter´s College:2016
Tertiary Education

LLB: Wits: 2018 - 2023

First aid TrainingLevel 2: Valid until June 2019

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2018 - July 2018. The mom decided to home school her daughter herself due to her daughters learning difficulties and no longer required my services.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, aged 14
What were your duties?Fetching her from school and managing her assignments/projects for Gr.8 as well as teaching her concepts she did not understand.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFeb 2018 - July 208. The family continually withheld payment from me so I was forced to quit.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, aged 17.
What were your duties?I acted in the capacity of a teacher. I taught her all 7 of her subjects and set and marked all of her tests and assignments for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2018 onwards. I am still tutoring her child.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy, aged 15 in Grade 9.
What were your duties?I teach her son primarily Afrikaans and other subjects when needed for 3 hours a week.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2017 -  December 2017. I was hired to teach her daughter in matric primarily, once she graduated, my services were no longer needed.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls aged 18 and 15.
What were your duties?To teach the girl in matric History, English, Afrikaans and Life Orientation and to help with her sister in grade 9 on an ad hoc basis.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2017 - Dec 2017. Both children improved their grades and my services were no longer needed.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, aged 16 and 13
What were your duties?I taught both students mathematics. Gr.7 and Gr.10 mathematics.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg North East
Johannesburg North West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time12 000
Part time8 000

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?I started caring professionally for children in my matric year in 2016 and have continued to care for children since.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?When my brother was younger he battled very badly at his new school to learn because his previous school was behind on work. Spending hours helping him get to a level where I could see how proud and confident he was in himself made me realise being involved in child care was something I wanted to do.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?8 years old professionally, 3 years old in private a capacity.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love to read books, do anything arty, hike, take my dogs for walks or to the park and socialise with my friends.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy playing games outside and going to the park, playing board games and I very much enjoy helping children learn to cook and bake.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In an emergency if it were dire, I would first and foremost ensure I contact emergency services and the parents of the child immediately after. I believe it is important to not panic and keep the children as calm as possible throughout the situation.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I recently had a student with a severe learning disability and ADHD. The student in one instance threw her books and glass of water at me in frustration. I maintained a calm attitude toward her and gently made her understand that although she is frustrated, she cannot lash out like that.
What is your approach to discipline?I feel I am a very calm individual, I do not ever shout or get angry and I believe it is not my place to discipline another person´s child. In a situation that requires disciplining I would generally take away a treat or reward.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would firstly remove the child if the tantrum is in a public place to a more quiet and secluded area. I would talk gently to the child to calm them down but ensure they know that having a tantrum is not okay.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would firstly take the crayons away from the child and remove the child from the situation. I would calmly explain that drawing on the wall is not okay and make them responsible for their actions by helping me wash it off.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would sit with the child and ask if they want to do it together and make the activity seem like a game rather than a chore.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am happy to work from 3 years until any age.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I still have a few tutoring students but they are generally only once a week with very flexible times.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very kind, intelligent and friendly person, I generally am always really happy and bubbly and playful with children. I think a flaw for me is maybe that I am a bit shy at times and I tend to avoid conflicting situations but I can be assertive when needed.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastA Cheese, tomato and mushroom omelette with toast.
LunchChicken and halloumi salad with a honey lemon dressing
DinnerChicken breasts rolled and stuffed with peppers and ricotta
SnackMini pizza tartlets
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I currently live with my mom and my little brother, he´s 11 years old now and the absolute apple of my eye. He and I have different fathers that we see often. We are all extremely close and spend almost every evening together.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.