Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Harriet Tomlinson

Personal Details

Reference # 201-80520
Name Harriet Tomlinson
Nationality British
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Full time access to one
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Mercedes A class
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education

2010 - Ellesmere College       
A – Levels:  Sociology B; Media B; Geography C    
As – Levels: 1A, 3Bs  
GCSE- 1A, 5Bs, 3Cs

2010    Ellesmere College       
    A – Levels:  Sociology B; Media B; Geography C    
    As – Levels: 1A, 3Bs  
    GCSE- 1A, 5Bs, 3Cs

Tertiary Education

2010-2013: Cardiff Metropolitan
BA (Hons) Education & Early Childhood Studies UWIC: 2.1

This included a placement year working fulltime within a primary school

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingTwo years during school and university holidays (3 month periods through summertime).
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Ranged from 6 months – 4 years. Mixture of genders.
What were your duties?I was a nursery assistant. I assisted in different classes depending on where an assistant was needed. My main focus and support area was for children aged 3 to 4 years old.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving6 months – October 2009 – April 2010
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Ranged from 6 months – 5 years. I would mainly be looking after one child but could sometimes be two. Mixture of genders
What were your duties?I would look after a different children each week. My role would be to do activities with them throughout the day. I would cook for them and babysit them most evenings.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving3 months – March – May 2011. It was a short term contract.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Here I was looking after mainly primary school children between 4-6 years old. There was around 20 in each class and mixed genders.
What were your duties?I was the teaching assistant here.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full time 
Part time 

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?I was involved with childcare professionally working in a nursury at the age of 16, and I have a total of 4 years of experience professionally overall (2018).
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I enjoy working with children. My mum's best friend owns a nursery so I did lots of work for her which made me even more interested
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Surfing, hiking, swimming and tennis.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outdoors activities - park, beach etc.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Check to see if there is anything I can do. If not call ambulance and then parents immediately
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Tantrums - get down to their level and compromise.
What is your approach to discipline?Not to get angry, remember you are the adult.Just keeping calm, keeping to their level. Discussing the problem and trying to solve the problem. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Give positive attention, don't scream at them, distract them, be positive and compromise with them. Always staying calm. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Tell them that its wrong, don't get angry. show them that its more fun to do it on paper, encourage correct drawing space and stay with them whilst doing it.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Make it fun and positive. Give them rewards if done correctly and in a certain time.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am open to groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am confident and enthusiastic in everything I do. I have a positive outlook on life and want to get the most out of it. I get a big kick out of working with children and parents.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes.
BreakfastEggs (any) and porridge/ cereal.
LunchPasta or fish.
DinnerMeat of some form with veg.
SnackFruit or snack bars.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I am very close to my family. We spend a lot of time together, we all love to be active. My parents are retired and live in Portugal but try to come out here as much as possible and my younger sister is in marketing in London.
How do you handle a crying baby?I would check if the child is hungry, comfortable, needs changing etc, soothing the child.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Making sure the child's physical needs are met, playing with them, keeping them stimulated.Keeping an eye on them all the time and ensuring their safety.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Going to the park, taking them swimming, taking them to play group. Playing games. 
Are you comfortable with changing diapers, have you changed diapers before? Yes, I have had to do this for children.
Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before? Describe how to do this. Yes, but a while ago.
Can you prepare meals for infants? Give an example of how you would prepare such a meal.I would provide stewed, steamed or mashed meals.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes, I would feel comfortable with this.
Name situations you think could be dangerous for a child under 2 years old?Small objects on tables, fire, plugs, water and a pool could be dangerous, making sure the food is chewable, small objects, heavy objects they can pull down.
Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2 years old, how old were they at the time?Yes, I did this in the nursury and Verbia, during my studies. We were required to work with a new family weekly.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?This has happened to me. The child wanted ice cream, and started crying, kicking me, screaming and holding his breath. I got down on his level tried to calm him down etc. 
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I have done potty training before. 
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?I am a massive advocate for it. I believe technology has negatively impacted on children. Its really important to enjoy time outside. With all the nurseries and children I have worked with if its a good day, I like to spend at least 2 to 3 hours outdoors daily. 
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I don't really watch TV myself and don't encourage it for the children I care for when on duty. 
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a client’s home and/or take the child/ren in your care to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation? Yes. No problem at all. 
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with children’s homework?Yes.
 Are you willing to supervise friends of the children you are caring for who are invited to the families’ home while you are in charge?Yes.
 Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.