Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Cathreen

Personal Details

Reference # 201-78118
Name Cathreen
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Shona

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)1998 Hyundai Accent 1.3
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedN/A
In what year did you obtain your driving license?11/2016 in S.A and 07/2007 in Zim

Education

Secondary Education

NQF Level 4 - SAQA -2013

A Level - Thornhill High School in Zimabwe - 2003

Tertiary EducationAu Pair course - 3 weeks - Du Care - December 2011
First AidYes, valid until 25/09/2021

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started in February 2017, until December 2017. Both children started school full time and I was no longer needed.
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 2 boys, they were aged 7 and 3 years old when I started.
What were your duties?Basic child care for the little one at home, drop and pick up for the older boy to and from school, I took them to friends for play dates, to play centres, building castles in the sand and extra murals. l packed their bags for school.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started in January 2011, until December 2014.  I worked as a part-time babysitter.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?

1 Boy, aged 18 months and 1 girl aged 4.

What were your duties?Baby sitting in the evenings when mom worked late and also on weekends when she saw clients and attended class.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?My eldest child was born in 2005, but professionally I started child care in 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I always had a passion for working with kids, so my friend's boss was looking for a baby sitter for a newborn as they needed someone they could trust. I got the job but only with the Kock family, I had to do the official course.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I cared for was a new born.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?My kids keep me very busy and I try to spend a lot of time with them. During my spare time I am a mother, I make sure my children also get a fair part of me and in the evenings I sometimes do food deliveries for extra income.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy interactive play that we both take part in like lego blocks memory games, drawing, painting and drawing. Puzzles, even ball playing investigative play, like 5 senses play dough and shape cutting. All interactive games.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In a home there are a lot of emergencies that could happen, never the less we try by all means to avoid having one. In an emergency you need to calm down, if it´s not a life threatening then assist the victim with 1st aid kit, if it professional help is needed, call for help and inform parents and in a case where we can drive to get help as soon as possible like a hospital we rush to the emergency centre.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When a child felt rejected by friends at school and needed more love and caring and just acknowledging that they are not better than him. Communicating, letting them know he is not much worried if they do not play with him showing him there are lot more who appreciates him as a friend. It was a temporary situation.
What is your approach to discipline?Kids will always have their moments, but we always have positive ways of discipline. Praise and reward for good behaviour and as a care giver always deal with situations calmly. Discipline helps a child understand what is good behaviour and what is unacceptable but must age appropriate. If I explain why things are wrong and give alternatives to bad behaviour.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Remain firm. Stick to the rules. Sometimes they need some attention. Stop what you doing and listen to them and find out what is causing the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Stop them and explain to them why drawing on the wall is not good for the property. Give them paper. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Talk to them and explain to them the benefits of doing their homework and why it is good to do their homework on time and what will happen if they don't do their homework, communication is good.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Age groups between new born and 6years, most preferably but am comfortable up to 9years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still work for the Naicker family but not often.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, I have 2 girls born in 2005 and 2009.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a simple person, down to earth, I like being appreciated. I'm responsible, trustworthy and lovable.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I love cooking.
BreakfastFor breakfast I could make bacon & eggs, bread & tea, cooked porridge.
LunchFor lunch I could make mash and sausage or mince and gem squash
DinnerFor dinner I could make spaghetti bolognaise.
SnackAs a snack I could make pancakes and cut up fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?There is no food that I am not comfortable cooking.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?We are a family of 4, which consisits of my husband, 2 kids and myself. At the weekend we go to church and a little bit of a family outings. We are working most of the time but we make sure as busy as we are that we have time to have dinner together at least 3 times a week as a family and a day out at least once a week normally after church. I have a sister in Cape Town and 5 siblings in Zimbabwe. We are a very close family. My parents are still together.
 How do you handle a crying baby?You have to find out the reason why the baby is crying , check if hungry and diaper is wet or baby is sick. Check all of these things.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
 Security for the child is number one. Make sure the child is safe.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Singing nursery rhymes. Reading to them. Soft toys, touching and feeling things. Play catch with toddlers. Encourage movement like crawling.
Are you comfortable with changing diapers, have you changed diapers before?I am comfortable changing diapers and I have done so many times.
 Have you ever had to sterilize bottles before? Describe how to do this. I would boil it botles. I am flexible, according to the parents requirements.
Can you prepare meals for infants? Give an example of how you would prepare such a meal.
 Cooked food and puree. It also depends on the parents requirements. I am flexible.
Have you ever bathed an infant before? Yes, I have bathed an infant.
Are you capable of looking after twins? Yes, I am capable of looking after twins.
Name situations you think could be dangerous for a child under 2 years old?Open plugs, medication in reach, boiled water, choking hazards, cables and stairs are all dangerous situations.
Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2 years old, how old were they at the time?

 No, I never needed to.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?Take them aside and explain that what they are doing is wrong. Try to understand why they are throwing a tantrum and then calm them down.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?
I believe each child will potty train when they are ready but it depends on the parent. Each child is different. I will take them after meals for toilet time. Every child also has a routine and you need to be in sync with that.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Outdoor plan and interaction is good for development and stimulation. The sense of team work and working together. The sense of sharing. 
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Puzzles, colouring in, painting and building blocks are good educational activities.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Time out and taking away privileges are ways of limit setting or discipline.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 Cartoons but this depends on the parents.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Not more than an hour per day.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a client’s home and/or take the child/ren in your care to outside activities?Yes I am willing to do so.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.