Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lauren

Personal Details

Reference # 201-77621
Name Lauren
Nationality South African
Age 26
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes

4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?

No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Fiat 500 2012
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened N/A
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary Education
Matric - Table View High school - 2011
Tertiary Education

BSc Human Life Science - 3 years -  Stellenbosch University - 2016

BSc Honours - 1 year - Stellenbosch University - 2017

Masters in Biochemistry - 2 years - Stellenbosch University - 2018 year 1 currently

First Aid
No

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingSince October 2015
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boys and girls aged 1 to 3 years old.
What were your duties?Baby sitting the kids while the parents are at church. Telling stories, reading bible stories, colouring in, toilet time for potty trainers and feeding if necessary.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time R70 p/hour

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?3 Years, I started caring for children towards the end of 2015
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?At church I do the kids church, I enjoy looking after kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?7 months.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Studying takes up most of my time. Other than that, I enjoy walks and listening to music.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children? I enjoy playing board games, phone games, going to the park.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Phone the emergency number and then the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The child was constantly crying, I made sure I was calm instead of panicking. I distracted the child by blowing bubbles and played some soft music. I made sure the child was not hungry or irritated by something like a clothing item.
What is your approach to discipline?Be stern but not scary. Tone of voice is important. I don't believe in hitting  children.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try and distract them, try to pick them up and soothe them, show them something cool, like a toy or a video.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Remove the crayon or pen from the kid and ask them not to do it again, or get paper and distract them by saying for example lets see who can draw the best tree or fish on the paper.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Create an incentive, example if you finish your homework we can do something they enjoy like or playing outside. I also need to remind him/her of the consequences at school when home is not done. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?1-10 year olds.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Karen at the Kids Church.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Down to earth, loving, happy, outgoing and dedicated.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Not big meals but I can do basic cooking.
BreakfastScrambled Egg
LunchSandwiches, Noodles
DinnerMash Potatoes, roast chicken
SnackCut up fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Seafood and stews or anything complicated.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I only have a mom and dog who is part of the family. My mom is very loving and kind.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with children’s homework? Yes
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children you are caring for who are invited to the families’ home while you are in charge? Yes
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?Visiting the park, painting, arts and crafts, playing musical instruments like piano, experiments, baking.
 Are you happy to prepack lunches for children? Yes

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.