Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Didi

Personal Details

Reference # 201-7700
Name Didi
Nationality South African
Age 48
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English and Afrikaans

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chevrolet Spark 2005.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2002

Education

Secondary EducationRHS - Namibia 1983 - 1989 Matriculated Afrikaans first language HG English Second language SG Biology SG Business Economics HG Accountancy SG Typing SG
Tertiary Education

N4 Commerce & N5 Hotel & Tourism - Cape Town Technical College -1991

Waterfront Theatre School -1999

Cape Academy of Dramatic Art -2002 - 2004

Screen Actors Studio - 2005

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2007 - April 2007. Temporary position ( Parents went on holiday)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children 12 and 15 boy and girl.
What were your duties?Take them to school, collect them from school, collect them from activities in the afternoons, assisting with homework and projects, Prepare breakfast, lunches and dinners. General supervision.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2007 - current. Still assisting them on a part time basis.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys ages 5 and 10
What were your duties?Take them to school and collect them from activities and extra murals, I would make sure that the boys done their homework. I would assist with projects, I would prepare snacks and light meals for the boys. I would supervise them and make sure that the house hold is running smoothly.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2008 - March 2012, Better opportunity.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children boy and girl. Ages 5 and 6 years old.
What were your duties?Taking and collecting form extra murals and parties, organise play dates, take them to the doctor or hair cuts, assisting with homework and projects, keeping them entertained and playing fun activities. I would prepare a light meal or snack for them.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingI started in April 2012 - current. I am on a long holiday, I might go back again, but if something better comes along in SA, I will stay.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, he was 2 months old when I started. 
What were your duties?This is a live-in position, I am in full care of the baby, changing his nappies, feeding him, bathing him, putting him to sleep and playing with him. I have to be with him every minute.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?A friend of mine referred me to the first client I had, and things just happened from there, I have a love for children and really enjoy being in their presence. Working with children is extremely rewarding for me. It does my soul good and I love children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I have cared for is 5 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I enjoy acting and drama, I do make up for matric dances and enjoy going to church.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?No, no at the moment.
What are your interests?Acting and movies, hiking I love the outdoors, traveling.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The rewarding part, when they say something and your heart just melts, when they innocently do or say something.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Arts and crafts, swimming, going to the beach, building , blocks going for walks, and puzzles. Taking them to POP and Jimmy Jungles, and the park.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would contact the emergency numbers and get help asap, If I could I would take the child to the hospital and make sure the child is safe then contact the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A little boy I was looking after had a fit, I calmed him down, made sure he was in a comfortable space and contacted the parents.
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm but fair, I believe that every child should be disciplined the right way, I would use removal of privileges and time out.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try and calm the child down, I would distract them with something fun and creative, I would find out why the child was having a tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why it is wrong by drawing on the wall and explain that its better drawing on paper, I would let them help me clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try figure out why don´t want to do their homework, maybe there is something they don´t understand. I would try and make it fun and exciting, I am fond of using star charts, I think its very motivating to the younger ones.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I really enjoy working with children under 10 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, the family in Saudi Arabia.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am fun, loving and caring, I am loyal and honest.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPorridge, yoghurt and fruit, eggs and toast.
LunchSandwich, dried fruit, pasta and veggies.
DinnerVeggies with fish fingers, potato wedges, chicken nuggets.
SnackDried fruit, peanuts ( if not allergic) fruit rolls or biscuits and cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I would feel uncomfortable cooking big roasts.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My mom and dad are not married, I have two sisters, I am really close to my sisters and mom and dad. My mom lives in Namibia and my dad lives here. My mom usually comes down on Christmas.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.