Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Jacqueline

Personal Details

Reference # 201-76384
Name Jacqueline
Nationality South African
Age 44
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Arlfrikaans / English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Fiesta, metallic brown, 2016 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2013

Education

Secondary Education
Matric - Lifelong Learning Centre Wesbank - 2010
Tertiary Education

ECD - Level 5 National Diploma - Northlink College - 2017

Family Affairs Workshop - 25 hours - Life Choices - 2017

Inclusive Education in ECD Centres Workshop - 12 days - Northlink College - 2017 

ECD - Higher Certificate - ETDP SETA - 2015

ECD - Level 4 Certificate - ETDP SETA - 2012

 

 

 

First Aid
Yes, valid until 3/4/2019

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2013 - February 2015. It was voluntary and I could not afford to stay on. 
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?29 children in the class. Boys and girls age 6 yrs.
What were your duties?I was the teacher's assistant. I assisted with class management and activities. I helped with admin work and keeping the work area clean. I prepared for activities and took part in activities. I ensured resources were prepaid, I oversaw outdoor play, reading and story telling.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2012 - December 2017. I gave the youth in the church the opportunity to teach. I however still assist the Sunday School.
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?15 children, 4 to 11 years old
What were your duties?I picked up kids and drove them to Sunday School. I prepared the lessons. I taught Sunday School. I took the kids on outings. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am      

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeR8000 - R15 000 pm negotiable
Part time150 per hour negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?Since 2012.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was a house executive and loved caring for children. I went to college to further my knowledge in child care. I was baby sitting and teaching. I love children and want do au pairing. I have been working with children for many years.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I go to the gym.  I love doing crafts. I enjoy reading and baking.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy storytelling, drama, arts, dough play, outdoor play and block play. I also enjoy reading to kids and taking kids to the park.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I will calmly observe the situation to see what I can do and then call for help immediately such as an ambulance and then I will call parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?It was when a 2yr old girl developed a very high fewer and I had to rush her to the emergency room. I did not waste anytime to get her there I informed the mother to meet me there. 
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in communicating and not spanking. I will be firm and strict and try to keep to the rules that are set by the parents. I believe in encouraging the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Take the child away form the situation. Speak to the child. Calm the child. Try to figure out what is causing the tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would call the child aside and explain that it is not right to draw or write on walls. I will let the child clean the wall and assist the child in doing this.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will explain why homework is important and that he/she would be in trouble the next day at school and probably have more homework the next day.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From 1 to 13 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I help out at the Sunday school.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have 2 boys, one born in 2001 and one in 1998. I also have a daughter born in 1994.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun, loving person. I love people and I'm very patient and enjoy learning new things. I love the outdoors.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfast Porridge with milk or fruit and yoghurt.
LunchCheese roll or hot dog. Eggs and tomato.
DinnerChicken fillets ornuggets with a salad.
SnackSandwich or fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Seafood. I prefer keeping the menu basic. I will also need to know what the client prefers.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I am married for 20 years . I have 2 boys and a girl. My daughter is married for 2yrs. My is at high school. We are a very loving family. We enjoy outdoor life. My husband is a technician and a consultant.
How do you handle a crying baby? I will check if the baby is sick, check if nappy is soiled, check ears and mouth, check temperature, check clothing or check if they're hungry.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Always have the child in your sight. See to basic needs, such as.... Is the child fed and safe.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old? Playing with soft toys, singing, reading and ball play.
Are you comfortable with changing diapers, have you changed diapers before? Yes, and I have done so before.
Have you ever had to sterilize bottles before? Describe how to do this.Yes I have. I will use boiled water or Milton, it depends on parents requirements.
Can you prepare meals for infants? Give an example of how you would prepare such a meal.Yes I can. Cooked and pureed butternut.
 Have you ever bathed an infant before?
 Yes I have.
 Are you capable of looking after twins? Yes I am.
 Name situations you think could be dangerous for a child under 2 years old?Water in buckets or toilets. Bottles or chemicals, electric points, cables, stairs.
 Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2 years old, how old were they at the time? Yes, 18 and 20 months.
 How do you feel potty training should be approached?

Every child is different and potty training should be approached as per the individual. It's important to see if the child is ready. Boys are usually slower. When the child starts pulling off the diaper then they are probably ready . I would take them after meal times for toilet or potty time.

What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?It teaches them to share. They learn communication skills. They learn to about taking turns.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?I can use bottle tops to count, learn colours through songs and rhymes, dough play etc.
 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Time out to a certain extent. Removing something the child enjoys playing with and explaining the reasons. 
 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Educuational programs but I don't really believe that television is good for kids of that age.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 I will check with the parents first and take their queue . Maybe 2 hrs.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a client’s home and/or take the child/ren in your care to outside activities
 Yes I am.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.