Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Laurie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-76262
Name Laurie
Nationality South African
Age 58
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2015 Audi A1 (4 door) hatchback
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedN/A
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1980

Education

Secondary EducationNational Seniior Certificate - Wynberg Girls High - 1979
Tertiary Education

Autism Conference- 1 week - CTICC - no certificate 

First Aid Training
Level 1 - valid until 5th March 2020

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2017 - November 2017., I assisted her as her mom was ill and her father passed away. It was a temporary position until her son went to university.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? I looked after 3 children, a boy aged 7, a girl aged 14 and a boy 17.
What were your duties?I was lifting the kids to and from school, took them on outings such as the aquarium. I assisted both during the week and on weekends.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving10 days in June 2016, adhoc in 2017, It was temporary while she was  overseas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? I looked after 3 girls aged 7, 11 and 14.
What were your duties? I took the kids to school, extra murals and activities.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary - April 2016 and adhoc in 2017. I assisted while they were overseas.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I looked after 3 children, a girl aged 8, 2 boys aged 12 and 16.
What were your duties?I transported them to school and extra murals.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2016 - April 2016. She had a back operation and I assisted while she was in recovery.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 2 boys aged 16 and 14.
What were your duties?I was lifting them to extra murals and outings on weekends.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving 7 days in September 2015
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 2 children, a boy aged 10 and a girl  aged 6.
What were your duties? I looked after the kids while they were overseas. It took the kids to school and picked them up after. I supervised homework and took care of them until bed time.
  

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leaving April - July 2015. They needed me temporarily while she was recovering from surgery.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? Two boys of 11 and 8 and girl of 6.
What were your duties?I went grocery shopping, I took the kids to school, doctors appointments, dentist appointments, extra-murals and activities.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time R 6000 - R 8000 negotiable
Part time R 120 per hour negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?I have been babysitting and au pairing since 2008. I have 2 years of childcare experience since January 2015, I also have a child with special needs that I have taken care of for the last 21 years.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got involved with child care as a result of me taking care of my own special needs child. I love working with children and it is my passion to help children achieve their best results and strengths.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs? I love painting, doing puzzles, gymnastics, yoga, ceramics, pottery, reading and entertaining.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy playing with lego, mind games, scrabble, mastermind, going to the local parks, aquarium, putt putt, scratch patch, puzzles and baking, 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the severity of the problem, I would first see if I can assist with my knowledge of first aid, make a call to the parent to advise what has happened and if the incident is more serious I would immediately call the emergency services for assistance.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Looking after a son with ADHD who confided in me. He hated school and didn't have friends. He would tell me things that he wouldn't tell his parents. I convinced him to allow me to speak to his parents. Also, a 10 year boy who had ADHD I looked after, the parents never told me. He bit all his clothes broken. I had to talk to the parents and they appreciated my openness and honesty. They were overseas. I had to take the child to dentist while he resisted. I was able to convince him to go. He also didn't want me to leave at night. I had to call his parents for permission to stay later, they agreed.
What is your approach to discipline?I don't believe in hitting, as it is abusive. Talking the incident through with the child. Time out in a safe space for a specific amount of time based on the age of the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Remove the child from the situation. Talk to the child in a calm manner. If appropriate give them time out for a couple of minutes. Pick them up, hold them and try and calm them down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to the child that the action is not appropriate. Give the child the correct tools and show him/her how to clean the wall - done under supervision.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Explain that he would have to face the consequences at school. I can also try to make it fun. Attempt to turn the situation around by making it into a fun activity i.e if it is a Maths problem, use biscuits or smarties to do the calculation with a reward given on a successful outcome.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From the age of 4 years to 10 years but I am happy to work with children under the age of 4 and above the age of 10.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?yes, for karen Nathan. Not at the moment due to school holiday breakes
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, my daughter born in 1992 and my son who has special needs is born 1996.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a positive person who is passionate about working with children and everything in life. I never give up. I have tenacity and perseverance. I am family orientated and love spending time with friends and family. I'm honest , trust worthy, passionate, empathetic, outgoing and extrovert.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastYoghurt, muesli and fruit or an omelette with wholewheat toast, oats.
LunchVienna sausages or fish fingers with chips, crumbed chicken, noodles.
DinnerSpaghetti or cottage pie.
SnackFruit or dried fruit, health bar, carrot, biltong, nuts if allowed.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Pork and all related pork products such as bacon.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My daughter is in the hospitality industry and is currently looking at going overseas for more experience. She lives at home. My son is at Camphill Farm in the Hemel and Aarde valley in Hermanus. I took care of him until the age of 7 and then he went to Camphill to gain skills but he comes home every school holiday and mid term breaks. I lost my dad 2 years ago who I loved dearly, my mom I still alive. 
How do you handle a crying baby? Try a pacifier by swaying or swinging a bit or sooth. Check if the nappy is soiled or the child is hungry.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?The child's safety is my primary responsibility.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old? Play dough and shapes, going to the park, having picnics, dancing, singing and musical instruments.
 Are you comfortable with changing diapers, have you changed diapers before? Yes I am comfortable and I have many times before.
Have you ever had to sterilize bottles before? Describe how to do this.Yes, either machines, boiling water or milton.
Can you prepare meals for infants? Give an example of how you would prepare such a meal. I would give purity, mashed potato, soft foods that avoids choking.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?
 yes
Are you capable of looking after twins? yes
Name situations you think could be dangerous for a child under 2 years old?Opening cupboards and getting fingers caught, the stove, washing machine, doors, electric sockets and cables, stairs .
Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2 years old, how old were they at the time?no
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?Remove the child from the situation and not be phased by onlookers as it might be too much stimulation.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?There are various ways to approach this. Some kids are easier and others take longer. I would start with urinating. I would also use pull ups. I would constantly check if the child needs to go, especially after snacks or meal time. 
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Children should have fun and interact with other kids. It is important for stimulation.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Matching activities, reading, play dough and making shapes or puzzles.
 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?First sitting down and talking to the child. Explain why something is wrong so that they can understand.  
 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Frozen, Sophia the first or Cinderella but it also depends on the parents.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? An hour, not longer.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a client’s home and/or take the child/ren in your care to outside activities.Yes I am.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.