Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Samantha

Personal Details

Reference # 201-74288
Name Samantha
Nationality South African
Age 23
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English, Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2011 Chevrolet Aveo
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
National Senior Certificate - Cape Town Studies - 2014
Tertiary Education
Life and Environmental Science - UNISA - 1 Year course - (currently busy)
First Aid
Yes, valid until July 2020

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1 month - March 2017. I worked for them while they were on their working holiday in South Africa.
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy, 4 months old
What were your duties?Take him for walks, play with him, feed him and entertain him. Take care of him while his parents worked.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2017 - current for baby sitting
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?3 Children: Girl aged 14, Boy aged 15, Girl aged 16
What were your duties?Pick the children up from their house in the morning and take them to school. Occasional afternoon pick ups. Occasional house/pet sitting.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2013 - current for baby sitting
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?2 Girls: Aged 2 and 4 when I started.
What were your duties?Dinner time, bath time, bed time. Playing/reading/outings etc for the girls in the day time
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingMarch - November 2016. Tutoring for that period only.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Boy, aged 15
What were your duties?Assist with homework and create a study time table and sit with him while he works on projects and studies, helping him when he needs it.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving2012 - current for occasional baby sitting
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children: girl aged 3, boy aged 6
What were your duties?Play games with them, supervise TV time (allowed by parents), bed time, bath time
  

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leaving1 month 2012, 1 month 2014, 1 month 2016 - she was here on holiday in S.A.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl, 6 months old. 2012 (taking care of her. day time, 3-4 hrs), 1 month 2014 2 years (went to beach, read, swimming, watch tv, make lunch, parks, colouring),  1 month - 2016 4 years. lunch, swim, some tv time,
What were your duties?Play with Anna, feed her lunch and snacks, swim with her, read, color, walks ans occasional TV time
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am            

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeR75 per hour minimum
Part timeR75 per hour minimum

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?Approximately 5 years. In 2012
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?My sister is a professional au pair and referred some of her clients to me. I like working with kids and spending time with them and I need short term or part time work while I study. I am interested in babysitting.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 months old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy reading, hiking, swimming and going to the gym. I also love animals and volunteer with an organisation on some weekends. I love the outdoors.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Reading, crafts, games, swimming, walking.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would make sure that I have the child or children with me and that they are safe and unharmed and call the police/fire station/ambulance (if necessary) as well the parents. Use my first aid if I need to.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A 4 month old baby boy did not enjoy being away from his mother and cried and screamed continuously. I found that he liked to be rocked/swayed and was soothed by a particular French children´s song which I then began to sing repeatedly. I also took him for walk outside. Singling a french nursery rhyme. 
What is your approach to discipline?I follow the discipline style of the parents, but am never as strict or forceful as the parents unless they tell me to be. I believe in using please and thank you and I always encourage and remind children about manners. I correct the child if something is done wrong and explain why they should not do it. I don't believe physical in punishment. Strict on manners.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would try to comfort him/her by picking them up and soothing them, make them feel secure. I would try to establish what was wrong and calm the child down, distract them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would calmly tell the child that we cant draw on walls and that we have lots of paper to draw on. I usually remind them that mommy/daddy would not be happy so maybe drawing them a picture on paper that they can put on the fridge etc. Give them paper.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?With slightly older children I like to try and reason with them or find out what is bothering them. I try encourage them. Let them know of repercussions if homework is not done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?1 year - 8 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes. Silvana Nicole. Manule
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Responsible, trustworthy, relaxed, fun loving, creative, positive, laid back. Adventurous yet responsible and independent.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs and bacon, flapjacks, pancakes.
LunchToasted sandwiches, Mac and cheese.
DinnerPasta (macaroni cheese/bolognaise/stews etc)
SnackPopcorn, fruit and nuts.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Seafood as I am not really familiar with cooking it.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I have 2 siblings, a brother and a sister. Both are older than me. I live with my mom and siblings. We all love animals and the outdoors. My brother is an auditor and my sister is an au pair. My mom was a lawyer and is now a dance teacher. My parents are divorced and I live with my mom.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with children’s homework?Yes I am and I have done it in the past.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children you are caring for who are invited to the families’ home while you are in charge? Yes I would, it depends on how many. Maybe not more than 5.
 How do you handle a crying baby?Check for soiled nappy, check if they are hungry, check they are not sore or uncomfortable.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Make sure they don't hurt themselves and that they safe. 
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Reading to them, working with shapes and pictures and drawing. Building blocks, touchy feely stuff to play with.
Are you comfortable with changing diapers, have you changed diapers before?Yes i am and I have done so in the past.
Have you ever had to sterilize bottles before? Describe how to do this. I have sterilised bottles in the past with the machine but need a refresher.
Can you prepare meals for infants? Give an example of how you would prepare such a meal.Cook and puree vegetables.
Have you ever bathed an infant before? Yes
Are you capable of looking after twins? It depends on the age. I would from age 3 years old.
Name situations you think could be dangerous for a child under 2 years old?

Electrical cables, hot drinks, any sharp objects. 
Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2 years old, how old were they at the time?

 Yes, youngest 2 and older one 4 years old.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?Try to figure out what is wrong. Make the situation it better for them. Try to distract them.
How do you feel potty training should be approached? I have never potty trained. If I had to I would work on reward system and celebrate successes.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day? Play dates are good as peer interaction are good for socialising and sharing.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?
 Practice book and stickers for number allocation, working with shapes and colours.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Television is not allowed unless parents agree to it.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.