Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sasha

Personal Details

Reference # 201-73847
Name Sasha
Nationality South African
Age 60
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Suzuki SX4 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?Yes
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happenedFifteen years ago. I had stopped at an intersection. I did not see a car approaching as it was blocked by a road sign.
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1977

Education

Secondary Education
Matric - Greenside High School - 1976
Tertiary Education

Secretarial Course - 1 Year Certificate - Anchor College- 1977

BA Maths and Education - part time study - 1981 to 1987 -  UNISA - Completed 1987

Post Grad Education - part time study - 2008 to 2010 - UNISA - Completed 2010

First aid TrainingNo, I will be completing a course on or before December 2017.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving
Jan 2011- Mar 2017, Temporary post
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?Co-ed, Grade R to Grade 3, Aged 5 to 10 years, 30 Kids per class
What were your duties?I taught all Subjects at Foundation Phase. I was involved with extra-curricular activities such as Netball, Hockey, Swimming, Tennis, Drama and Chess.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving April 2009 - Dec 2014, Temporary post
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?30 kids, Age 5 to age 10. I taught mostly foundation phase but also assisted with other primary school ages/grades.
What were your duties?Relief teaching which included all teaching duties and extra-curricular duties for Swimming, Hockey, Drama and Tennis.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2011 - Dec 2015, I moved to the Junior Primary.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?30 children per class, co-ed, teaching all grades.
What were your duties?I was teaching and assisted with extra curricular activities: Chess
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? When did you start caring for children professionally?I started teaching in 2009 and I have also raised 4 of my own children since 1998.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children. After doing my PGCE I did my teaching practical at Hudson Primary and then applied for further teaching posts. I enjoyed working with kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Age 5
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs? I love surfing, hiking, paddling, boot camps and reading.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy baking, taking walks, visiting parks, playing games, doing puzzles and visiting museums.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Get the kid out the dangerous situation. I would do any basic first aid. Then call an ambulance, police or rush to hospital depending on the emergency. I would then notify the parents or next of kin to let them know.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Probably a child having a fit. I put him on his side, kept him calm, loosened his clothing and talked him through it while sending for help.
What is your approach to discipline?I am a strong believer in not sweating the small stuff. I also believe in being firm and consistent. If necessary, there should be consequences for bad behavior which should be explained and understood by the child. If a child refuses to do homework, hold back privileges until homework is done.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?If the tantrum is attention seeking try to ignore it. I would explain that I am going to take no notice and do so. I would not give in to any demands. Explain your reasons afterwards.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain that it is not acceptable. Get them to help clean it off. Make them apologize to whoever it concerned. Explain that if it were to happen again, there would be consequences, like cleaning after themselves.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Offering a reward if they do it, or take away a privilege if they don´t within a reasonable set time. Whichever I thought more appropriate depending on the child. Explain the consequences if homework is not done, such as getting into trouble at school and having more homework the next day.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Preferable primary school
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, as I have moved from East London to Cape Town. I am still in contact with teachers, parents and some learners.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have four children. Eldest Daughter born 1988, second Daughter born 1990, Son born 1995 and youngest Daughter born in 1997.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an enthusiastic, energetic, love life, outdoorsy, kind of person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBacon, eggs, tomato and french toast.
LunchMacaroni cheese and salad.
DinnerSteak, baked potato, butternut and peas,
SnackChicken wrap, nuts (if no allergies).
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My 2 youngest kids are studying at UCT, doing Chemical Engineering and Business Science The older 2 are working, 1 Actuarial Science at an NGO and other teaching English in Hong Kong.
What is your teaching style?I start by building on knowledge they already have, then introducing new concepts such as feeling, seeing and touching. Incorporate different teaching styles to cater for different learning styles.
Why do you tutor/teach/facilitate? i love kids and I love seeing them succeed. I find it very rewarding.
What are the qualifications, certifications or credentials that assist you to tutor?
 I hold a PGCE and I am SACE registered.
What subjects and grades can you teach?I can teach all grades and subjects for primary school
How will you get a sense of a child’s learning or attention needs?By oberservation, you could also check past records and their interaction. I would ask the odd question to see if he/she is still focus. Younger kids have shorter attention spans and one need sto be cognizant of that.
What specific strategies have you found to be most successful when you start to work with a child?Being firm and consistent. Listening to them. They need to be comfortable in communicating with me. e.g. for kids who love drawing, I would start the lesson with a painting. Incorporate things that interests the child into your lesson.
What kind of results can a parent expect to see if they hire you, and what happens if the child doesn’t make progress?If they don't make progress, see if they need remedial help. If I have tired everything get the child assessed. A parent can expect good results if they hired me.
What factors might interfere with achieving your tutoring goals for a child?If there was no discipline e.g. a child with bad eating or sleeping habits or psychological issues.
How, specifically, would you help a child deal with the problem he’s had with staying motivated [or whatever emotional or behavioral issues the child has had]?Understand where they are coming from. Sit down with the parents and discuss the issue at hand and the way forward.
How will you communicate with parents of children you are teaching or tutoring, and how often?   
Daily with a message book. If there is intervention I would arrange to meet and discuss issues with the parent. Quarterly progress reports.
How do you measure progress?
I wold check if the child can grasp concepts? i would manage this as I go along and I would also do continuous and formal assessments.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.