Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melissa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-7348
Name Melissa
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa lite 2006 Model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes, all currently working back and front.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since March 2008.

Education

Secondary Education

Abbotts College Milnerton

Tertiary Education

College of Cape Town: Early childhood development Level 5.

National Diploma in Early childhood development Level 5.

First aid TrainingYes
Other trainingNo other training or courses at the moment.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2009 - May 2009. Temporary position. I filled in for one of the staff members who went on Maternity leave.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?65 Aftercare children 5 - 12 years of age. Boys and girls together. We each had a group of 10 at time.
What were your duties?Assisted with lunches, snacks, general supervision, assisting with homework from Grade 1 - 3. Keeping them entertained.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2009 - October 2009. I wanted to be more active and interact with children. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Various children ages from 3 - 8 years of age. Boys and girls.
What were your duties?I would make sure that each child has canvas with the chosen picture on, hand them an apron and a pallet of paint and brushes, I would supervise the children, assist them, keeping them entertained and really just making sure that they are enjoying their activity. 
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving6th Jan 2010 to current time
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I am currently working with age 4 to 5 years and have 27 children in my class.
What were your duties? 
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving1 September 2010 - 15 December 2011, I want to further my studies.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?28 Children, aged 2-5 years.
What were your duties?Educare teacher.
  

Reference 5:


Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have a special love and enthusiasm for children. I studied for 2 years and achieved my Diploma In Early Childhood Development. I enjoy organizing activities and running children day.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 years old.
What activities are you involved in?I love being out doors. 
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love to be outdoors and spending time with friend and family.
What are your interests?Keeping up to date with childcare and activities in the market place.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like to teach them and see them grow with enthusiasm. having fun with children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I would take the child to the hospital and make sure he or she is safe, I would contact the child's parents once the child is safe. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?First and foremost see to the child and then contact the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?An incident were one of the children were hit by a cricket ball on the head on purpose, I explained that it was wrong of him to do that and that he must go and apologize to him and explain to the parents what happened when they came to pick him up. We treated the head with ice.
What is your approach to discipline?A child needs to know what is right and wrong. When they do something wrong the adult needs to to explain why it is wrong, so the best way to do that is in a calm and gentle tone of voice explain and then ask them does he have any questions. When they have done wrong they need to learn to apologize. Follow the parents rules. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?You need to let them have their tantrum finish because the more you try to stop them the more they are going to carry on. Once the temper tantrum is over explain its wrong to do that.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain that that´s not nice to do, tell them we only draw on paper and now we are going to wash it off of the wall together.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?We need to encourage the children to get this home work done and after all the homework is done we can go have a swim in the pool.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with any ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No, I don't work for any of my previous employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I have no children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I´m a fun loving young girl. I enjoy having fun with children.. I´m honest, trustworthy and am a real hard worker.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScramble eggs and bacon, cereal or toast and jam.
LunchFish fingers and steam veggies, sandwich or cheese and tomato wrap.
DinnerSpaghetti, Mac and Cheese and chicken and veggies.
SnackSandwich with peanut butter, cut up fruit or biscuits and cheese or marmite. 
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am comfortable with cooking any types of food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I have a sister she is 17 she is still at school. My parents are still married and my mom is credit portfolio manager for First National Bank. My dad works in the Table bay harbor as a Milwright.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.