Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Mari

Personal Details

Reference # 201-734
Name Mari
Nationality South African
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans, English

Requirements

Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
Are you in good health?Yes
Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Citi 1.4i 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2005.

Education

Secondary Education: matric
Tertiary Education: Studying psychology at Bloemfontein. Will continue via UNISA next year.
First aid training:
Yes, I do have first aid.
Office training:

I have completed a computer literacy course at the University of Free State in 2008. 

Completed:

Microsoft Word

Microsoft Excel

Microsoft Powerpoint

I also worked in Caledon at a gas station as an office administrator in 2006.

Duties:

Stock taking

Ordering of stock

Working out spread sheets & invoices

Working on Microsoft 

Word

Excel

Email

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFrom January 2006 until present (18 months )
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Age 10
What were your duties?Au pair duties, primarily caring for her while parents where on holiday, helping with homework, feeding, entertaining, driving to and from activities etc
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFrom march 2007- present, age 2
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?1 1/2 years
What were your duties?Casual basis, Au pairing duties. Caring for her, feeding, cleaning, playing.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving8 months in 2006
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started? Age 7 and 11
What were your duties?Au pairing and babysitting duties, helping with homework, feeding, entertaining and driving to and from afternoon activities.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving10 months and I'm still employed.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?19 Children, ages from 18months to 5 years
What were your duties?Nappy changes, Craft, Entertaining with focus on motor and fine motor skills
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving6 months, and I'm still employed
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?one 7 year old boy
What were your duties?Driving to extra murals, entertaining with focus on fine-motor skills and preparing snacks
  

Reference 6:


Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
False Bay

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always enjoyed being in the presence of babies and toddlers
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?1 years old
What activities are you involved in?Book club, Fine wine tasting, Philosophy club, Art theory.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Same as above
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love teaching kids, simple things such as painting or gardening, etc. Children fascinate me.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Arts and Crafts, baking, story telling, playing outdoors, make-believe.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Stay calm, asses situation, deal with it. Its an automatic response.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Bumps and bruises. After cleaning the wound I would make a joke out of it or anything to distract their attention from it, calm them down.
What is your approach to discipline?Firm ,strict, stick to your decision. I don't talk down to children, I explain exactly what I expect, what is wrong and right and why.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would leave the child to finish their tantrum then assist them
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would say thank you but now I cant take it home, explain why it should be done on paper and clean it up together
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Try and make it as fun as possible, homework can be boring, make sure they child knows you are really into helping him or her, if that does not work take away a privileged that they have i.e not going to the park this afternoon 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2 years old to 10. I don't mind teenagers but I connect with toddlers and young children better.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, from time to time
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am friendly and out going, I love being around children and family 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, toast or french toast and milk
LunchFish fingers, mash and veggies, Sandwich or Snack witch
DinnerPasta, chicken schnitzels and veggies and rice
SnackFruit roll or dried nuts (if not allergic to them) 
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No I am comfortable cooking any food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.My parents and I are very close knit family.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.