Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Mary

Personal Details

Reference # 201-72864
Name Mary
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 41
Gender Female
Marital Status Divorced
Languages Shona (1st) English (1st) Xhosa (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Peugeot 307, 2002
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2015

Education

Secondary Education
Howard High School (Mashona land central) (Zimbabwe) (1996)
Tertiary Education

Au Pair course - 3 weeks - Little Sunshine - 2017

Special needs course - 2 weeks - Iris Children's Hospital - 2016

Secretarial course - 1 year - certificate - St Mary's College of Academic - 1997 

Cake baking and icing course - 3 months - Private  - 1999

First Aid Training
Level 1 - Expires 20 February 2019

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI started working for Laura in May 2014. I left in January 2017. I wanted to work less hours. I was working 60 hours a week for them and it was too much after 3 years. 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One girl aged newborn when I started.
What were your duties?

Cleaning the house and looking after the baby.  I would start at  07h00 and finish daily at 19h00. I would dress the baby, I would feed the baby and play with her until 10h00. I would then clean the house until 12h00. I would feed her, change her, sometimes I did shopping with her, or we would go to nanny and me. She would usually have a second nap in the afternoon, and I would do washing and ironing while she slept. I would bath her in the evenings and sometimes put her down to bed. 

I got on with the family. I was like family.

  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI started working for the family in 2011 until February 2014. The family moved away from Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twin girls, they were 2 years old when I started.
What were your duties?The one girl was down syndrome and I worked night shift for the family. I only worked day time for them for the first month of employment at which point they asked me to work as a night nurse for them. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Constantia and Surrounds

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full time7500
Part time250 per day

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started caring for children professionally in 2011.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have a passion for children. I was a Sunday School teacher from the age of 16. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy baking and watching movies.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like to stay active, have fun with kids. I enjoy drawing, pretend play, make stoves out of cardboard, riding bikes etc.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Painting, puzzles and playing outside.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Call the parent and ambulance, while attending the child.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?None.
What is your approach to discipline?I prefer to talk to the child politely, in a soft spoken manner.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Will wait until the child is calm then ask what the problem was and ask her how she /he will feel is i do it to her, then teach her how to behave if she is angry or if someone wronged her
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Will sit with the child and talk to him/her how bad it is to write on walls.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Will tell him/ her what he benefits tomorrow by doing school work.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Infant to 5yrs.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes,  I have 3 sons. They were born in August 1999, June 2003, October 2009.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a simple patient lady who loves children. I am respectful and quiet.I am helpful. I am a good listener.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastPancakes, warm milk or tea.
LunchPasta and mince, potatoes, sandwich
DinnerLasagna, chicken and veggies.
SnackJuice, fruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
How do you handle a crying baby?
I would check if the nappy is dry, and change the diaper to see if that is the problem, it could also be that the baby needs to be soothed and is tired. I would also check if the baby is hungry. If none of these is the problem I would check the child's temperature. 
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
 Make sure the baby is always safe.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Singing, painting, smell flowers, etc. There isn't much you can do with children under the age of 1 years old.
Are you comfortable with changing diapers, have you changed diapers before?
 Yes, I am happy to change diapers.
Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before? Describe how to do this.
 After washing them, some have a steriliser machine. If they do not have this then I would put the bottles in the microwave with around 100 ml of water for 2 minutes to sterilise them.
Can you prepare meals for infants? Give an example of how you would prepare such a meal.
 I have never had to do this before, I have only prepared milk. I can make babyfood though. For example if asked to make butternut for an infant, I would peel it, cut it up, boil and mash down finely.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?
Yes
Are you capable of looking after twins?
 Yes, I have cared for twins before age 2 years old.
Name situations you think could be dangerous for a child under 2 years old?
Leaving the child alone, choking or hot things, poison.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?
 Reading them, teaching them colors, counting, painting, throwing and catching etc.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 I think around 1 hour a day.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a client’s home and/or take the child/ren in your care to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?
 Yes.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Born in a family Christian family of 8 , I am the 6th born . I am now a single mother of 3 boys. My mom was always a stay at home mom, and my dad has passed away but he was a driver. I have a brother and sister stay in Cape Town, the rest of my siblings still stay in Zimbabwe. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.