Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Melodie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-72731
Name Melodie
Nationality South Africa
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st) Afrikaans (1st) Dutch (3rd)French(4th)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2003 VW Polo
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Secondary Education
National Senior Certificate - Parel Vallei High School - 2009
Tertiary Education
BA International Studies - Diplomacy / Politics - 3 years full time study - Stellenbosch University - Completed 2013
First aid TrainingYes, expiring 26 May 2018.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving?
27/05/2016 - 19/05/2017. It was a year au pair contract in the USA.
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?Girl aged 3, Boy aged 5
What were your duties?This was a live in role. I would fetch them after school around 3pm, I would make dinner at around 6pm and I would finish at around 8pm.  When on holiday I would be on duty from around 08h30 till around 8pm during the term. I would take them on outings. I would also take them to extra murals during term time. I did house work in the morning during the term. I did bath time with them occasionally. Driving kids from school and to activities. I had a wonderful relationship with the family. We are still in contact and chat weekly.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingI have been babysitting for them for approximately 6 years and I still do.
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?Girl aged 2, Boy aged 10 months.
What were your duties?Adhoc babysitting from time to time. General child care and entertainment.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm      
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time 
Part timeR70 per hour

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started babysitting professionally at the age of 16, in 2007.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started babysitting when I was a teenager for extra pocket money and since then I have done two years of au pairing abroad. I find working with kids to be very rewarding.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Hiking, writing, traveling, playing music and building furniture.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I like that no two children are the same, each child comes with their own quirks and challenges and I love finding ways to connect with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like doing outdoor things with them like going to the park or swimming. I also love dressing up and being silly.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?That really depends on the type of the emergency. If it is not life threatening I would call the parents, however if it was, I would call the appropriate emergency response operator, while remaining calm and using my first aid training.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I cared for a child who had sensory issues and so he would quickly lose his temper and become aggressive towards me as well as other children. I had to learn what triggered him as well as to identify signs of this behavior as well as how to calm him down before anyone got hurt.
What is your approach to discipline?As a child care provider I do not believe it is my place to physically discipline a child, however I am very strict when it comes to manners and respect as I believe that if a child does not listen to you, it becomes impossible to ensure their safety.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?The greatest thing I have learnt from my grand mother is to copy the tantrum. Very quickly the child is laughing and has forgotten why they were upset in the first place.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Give them a bucket of water and some soap and a sponge and watch them wash it off. This has actually happened to me, but drawing on the back of a car seat.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Not allow any privileges (for example electronics) until it is done.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I still do babysitting for Lisa Jones.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very bubbly and outgoing. I consider myself to be responsible and reliable, without taking myself too seriously.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs and toast or yogurt with fresh fruit.
LunchGrilled cheese sandwich or tortillas.
DinnerLasagna or chicken and fried rice.
SnackApples with peanut butter.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Seafood
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I have two wonderful parents who have been married for 36 years. I have two older brothers who are both married, one of which has two little boys whom I love to spoil.
How do you handle a crying baby?
Check if they are hungry, dry or need to be burped, check that the environment is not too hot or cold.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old? Making sure that they are fed. Keeping a good routine. Instituting the parents preferred scheduling, particularly with regards to sleeping patterns.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
 I am lucky in that my mom owns a baby toy business. I will always be well equipped with toys, reading to them, colouring games, musical toys or instruments.
Are you comfortable with changing diapers, have you changed diapers before?
 Yes, I fear very little in this department now.
Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before? Describe how to do this.
 Yes, I have mainly used milton or boiling water.
Can you prepare meals for infants? Give an example of how you would prepare such a meal.
I have prepped bottles, but the youngest I had to prepare meals for was an 11 months old baby.
Have you ever bathed an infant before?
 Yes
Are you capable of looking after twins?
 I have never done it but I would be up for the challenge.
Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2 years old, how old were they at the time?
 No
Name situations you think could be dangerous for a child under 2 years old?
Anything involving sockets and wires, stair cases, unknown animals, pots with hot stuff, swimming pools.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?
A lot of the time they are more frustrated than angry, so I would try to understand what the frustration is about, if it is something completely illogical that I cannot fix, I would ignore the tantrum, and generally find they will soon forget why they were upset, I am not easily embarrassed so I will just ensure that the child is safe.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?
Each child responds differently, some kids enjoy the plastic potty and sticker  or reward systems. I prefer finding out what works individually for each child, creating a safe environment where the child feels okay to tell you when they need to go to the toilet or when they have had an accident.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 None. I'm not a big TV person.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a client’s home and/or take the child/ren in your care to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?
Yes. No problem.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?
Arts and crafts are always a winner. Something that will keep them busy for long periods. I enjoy being outdoors and playing sports.  I try to stay away from electronics as far as possible. I enjoy helping them to create a show for their parents and do imaginative play. Making home made instruments and practising with them.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.