Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Esti

Personal Details

Reference # 201-72715
Name Esti
Nationality South African
Age 21
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai i10 Model: 2011
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?November 2016

Education

Secondary Education
National Senior Certificate - Bellville High School - 2016
Tertiary EducationBSc Sport Science - 3 year degree -  UWC - (currently in 1st year - 2017)
First aid TrainingYes, valid to March 2019

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2015 - November 2015, January 2016. I stopped because I wanted to concentrate on my matric year and found that the coaching was impacting on my ability to focus on my studies.
Number of children, age and gender of the children when you started?I was responsible for groups of up to 10 children at a time, aged from 5-11 years old and mainly all girls.
What were your duties?I provided coaching on Mondays and Wednesdays from 16h45 - 18h00. I had to teach gymnastics at the lowest level, like balancing and walking on a beam, forward and backward rolls, etc. I enjoyed working with the children. I got on well with the other coaches. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am  

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full time Negotiable
Part time Negotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started working with children professionally in 2015.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested in au pairing/ babysitting?I love working with children, so I  started coaching at the gymnastic club were I did gymnastics since I was 3 years old. I coached the little girls and taught them basic gymnastic skills by playing games and having fun.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am currently studying , but I have so much free time I decided to start looking for an aupair/babysitting job. My hobbies are baking cakes for birthdays and cooking. I also love exercising.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love being creative and doing fun stuff with children. A child´s smile brightens up my day! So I would do anything to make the children around me happy. I enjoy putting effort into the things I love, and doing fun stuff with them like cooking for them and playing with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing outside and being active. Building things with them like lego´s, puzzles, blocks or playing with clay. Any activity that makes the child happy.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would use all my first aid skills and life knowledge to help the child in anyway I can. I will see if I can fix the problem myself, otherwise I will take the child to the doctor or hospital (in case something really bad happened). In any situation I would do everything I can to ensure the safety of the child.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One of the girls fell on her neck. I rushed to her, but did not touch or move her. I told her to lay still and I told the other girls to move away and give her space. I asked another girl to call the main coach. We asked the girl a few questions, whether she had any pain and where it hurts the most. In the end she was fine and didn't injure her neck.
What is your approach to discipline?I grew up with good discipline and rules. Rules and discipline doesn't mean that you can´t have fun but there is a line. I wouldn't motivate bad behaviour by laughing or thinking it´s cute, but I also wouldn't be so strict and mean that they hated every second with me. I would try to make everything fun and interesting so there isn't time for bad behaviour. I would talk to them, and explain what behaviour is expected in the situation.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Most tantrums kids have between 1-2 years of age are due to them not getting what they want. I would first make sure that the child has a clean diaper and they are fed. I´d give them a toy or something they´d like to try and create a diversion, to take their mind off the tantrum. I would try and figure out what is causing the child's frustration and try to fix it. I would speak calmly to them and try to hug them and calm them.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would stop him and in a calm voice and tell him that it is wrong to draw on the wall. I would ask him to help me clean it so that he knows there are always consequences to naughty behavior and then I will give him a big piece of paper to draw on as much as he wants.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would try and reward him/her for her work. If she does her homework, she can get a cookie as an example. I would try and make the work fun and easy. I would break it down so that it doesn´t feel like a lot of homework she has to do.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I don´t have much experience working with very small babies and changing diapers and feeding them etc. I am more than willing to learn.  I think I am more comfortable working with 2-15 year old children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am an energetic and friendly person. I like to go the extra mile and give my best in everything I do. I like to be creative and have fun. I love children and can´t wait to have my own one day. I have a lot of free time and it would be fun to work with children during the day. I like new challenges and I like planning ahead and being organised.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastI have a really easy and quick waffle recipe that I make every morning. I mix one banana, 2 eggs and oats together with a bit of cinnamon. I pour it into a waffle maker and i eat it with cheese and a bit of syrup. It i delicious and the kids won´t even know they´re eating something healthy.
LunchHam and cheese sandwich with a yogurt cup and fruit
DinnerChicken cooked in a delicious sauce with some roasted potatoes, a salad and vegetables that the kids will enjoy.
SnackYogurt/juice frozen into a Popsicle (Healthy ice-cream). Vienna sausages in a cheese dip.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I have an older sister (22) and a younger brother (15). I love my family, we are a happy family for sure. I grew up in a good home with a lot of love and laughter. My parents are still together. My mom is a stay at home mom. My dad runs a solar panel business. My sister is studying to be an Accountant. My brother is in Gr 9 and is dyslexic, so I assist him with homework.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with children’s homework?
 Yes, I have done this with my brother.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children you are caring for who are invited to the family's home while you are in charge?
Yes, I have looked after up to 10 children when doing coaching. 
Are you happy staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?
Yes
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?
 Imaginative play, baking together, playing ball together, etc. 
Are you happy to pre-pack lunches for children?
 Yes, not a problem.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?
Yes, I enjoy structure in my routines, spaces and studies. I have set times for most things in my day, like my studies. I enjoy planning and being prepared. I like researching and creating weekly menus. I also enjoy researching many things such as conditioning exercises for the children I gym with.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.