Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Marisa

Personal Details

Reference # 201-71724
Name Marisa
Nationality South African
Age 29
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (2nd) Zulu (3rd)

Requirements

1. Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2. Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3. Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4. Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5. Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6. Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2014 Honda Jazz (Not registered in my name)(parents ownership) (insured)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2007

Education

Secondary Education
National Senior Certificate - 2011 - (GPED)
Tertiary Education

Diploma in Home Health Care - 18 month course - completed in 2015 -Intec

Pastel Accounting course Online - 1 month course - completed 2005 - ?

Intellect International Training Solutions (2003):

  • Computer Basics
  • Using a PC & Managing Files
  • MS Excel 2000

Shaw Academy:

4 week diplomas completed between 2016 - 2017): 

  • Nutrition and Sports Nutrition
  • Child Nutrition
  • Music Theory
  • Cookery
First aid TrainingYes, expiring May 2020.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2013 - January 2015. Relocated to Cape Town to go and study. I started studying nursing as I was offered bursary.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy aged 5, when I started.
What were your duties?This was a half day role. I would collect him at school at 1pm. He had a lot of extra murals. I would assist in preparing for lunch. Get out of uniform. We would do homework. I would also do swimming, cooking together. We did lots of activities and outdoor play. I would then leave at around 17h30. I did babysitting for them on occasion as well. We would also do occasional outings. His mom worked on the property, I would occasionally have to go to her. The child was very active and would require a lot of distraction. I needed to show interest in his interests to keep him focused. This was a single parent family. I got on very well with the mom. I had trouble being firm with the boy when he misbehaved. The mom was aware of this which helped. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary to May 2013, the mother´s work situation changed which meant she would be home more often, I was offered another position and had to take it for financial reasons.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, a boy 7, a girl 9 years old.
What were your duties?I would work Monday to Friday, from 13h00 to 17h30. I would collect the children from school. I would take them to activities if they had extra murals, we would go on outings. I had to prepare food, lunch or snacks. We did baking together on occasion. I also did homework with them. I had a lovely relationship with the parents. I still keep in contact with mom.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingNovember 2015 - end of May 2016. I relocated to Kwa-zulu Natal.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children, a boy  aged 11 years old, a girl aged 3 years old, a newborn girl.
What were your duties?

I lived on the property, I would wake up and set their breakfast. I would then go to my other morning job. I would then start again at around 10h00 in the morning. I would run errands, doing shopping etc. I would fetch the older children from school. The 3 year old would stay at school until 16h30. In the early afternoon I would collect the oldest from school at around 2 or 3, take him to extra murals and do homework with him. I would then collect the 3 year old. When I got back I would prepare dinner for the family and would usually leave at around 6pm. The mom was at home during the day, caring for the newborn, I would occasionally be left to care for the newborn when she needed to go out. I would also assist in sterilising bottles and changing diapers, changing clothing etc. I assisted in bathing the 3 year old. I had to sometimes provide expressed feeds to the infant if the mom went out. I developed quite a close relationship with the family. I was going through a really rough time at the time due to a personal incident that had happened which they understood. 

  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2014 - March 2015 Working three jobs was getting a bit too much and I was considering a move to Kzn so we agreed that they would look for another au pair
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children girl age 3 years old and a girl age 6 months old
What were your duties?I would start at 05h30 am. This was a morning only role. I would provide breakfast to the oldest child, feed the baby and change her diaper.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leaving2 weeks -Temp position while children on holiday
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twins - aged 2.5/3
What were your duties?Stayed with the twins the whole day whilst parents were at work. Supervision, meal prep, stimulation and entertainment
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West
Johannesburg Central
Johannesburg North East
Johannesburg North West
PRETORIA
Pretoria North
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion
MIDRAND
Midrand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I first started caring for children professionally in 2012. I was caring for childrenin a personal capacity since I was around 16 years old. 
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved children and ended up looking after friends and family´s kids. I started au pairing because I wanted to study part time, and because I love kids!!
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Dance and music, volunteer work, nature and exercise.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love their innocence, spontaneity, imagination and humor. I love seeing them grow and develop and being apart of that is an honor.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Swimming, baking, cooking,arts and crafts, imaginative play, playing games outdoors.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would remove any dangers and call for help asap.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A teenage girl and I were held up at gun point at her residence. I tried to maintain calm and cooperative, neither of us were injured in the end, I tried to provide emotional support after that.
What is your approach to discipline?Firm but compassionate. Positive reinforcement.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would not give them a reaction but I wouldn't leave them unsupervised. I would try and console them in a loving but firm manner.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Remain calm and explain why this is not a preferable activity, offer them alternatives and make sure they help clean the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Try to motivate them and make their homework very fun and interesting. Remind them that as soon as they done we can have lots of fun. A ten minute break from the work may be needed.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups. I am most comfortable with children aged from 4 years old and upwards.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a very loving, compassionate and empathetic person. I am also very adventurous and bubbly. I can be lighthearted and fun but also very sincere and deep. I love being active and creative
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack) 
BreakfastOatmeal porridge with honey, banana and chopped nuts.
LunchSliced fruit and veggies with their favorite dips, homemade free range chicken nuggets
Dinner Vegetable, kebabs with yummy sauce and grilled homemade salmon fish fingers.
SnackBiltong, a yummy smoothie.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, not really but I like to feed kids good wholesome food.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My parents live in Kwazulu Natal, my brother and sister live in Jhb and my other sister in the UK. We are all.close and enjoy our times together. My mom is a nurse which has given me lots of medical exposure.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with children’s homework?
 I'm very comfortable with assisting with homework for children up to Gr.10 maximum.
Are you willing to supervise friends of the children you are caring for who are invited to the families’ home while you are in charge? Yes, I have had situtions monitoring the friends of the children in my care.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?
I would do more constructive activities, being outdoors, arts and crafts. For younger children imaginative play, cooking, science experiments.
Are you happy to pre-pack lunches for children?
I am very comfortable with cooking and prepping lunches. I have had roles where I was responsible for all the cooking in the house. I enjoy cooking and would like to pack lunches.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual? If yes, please provide an example of such an experience.
I am able to handle more than one task simultaneously. I think that my waitressing experience has added greatly to this skill. Punctuality in my family has never been a strong point. When I know that there is a certain time that things need to be done or that children need to get to an activity or be collected or dropped off, I am more aware of this than I used to be having had numerous roles where this is important. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.