Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Samantha

Personal Details

Reference # 201-71023
Name Samantha
Nationality British
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Enligh (1st), Cantonese (Basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?  Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Kia Picanto 2017
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
A Levels - Hurtwood House (UK) - June 2009
Tertiary Education

Currenty Studying:

Montessori Teacher Training - 1 year - Indaba - started July 2017

Sports Conditioning- 1 year - HPFA - started Feb 2017

First aid Training Yes, expiring Dec 2017

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2009 - Dec 2016. I moved to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? Variety of children, both genders, ages 6 months - 14 years.
What were your duties?

Rent-A-Mum is a babysitting and child-care service for both expatriate and Chinese communities in Hong Kong. I did au pairing and babysitting. Assignments were short term and long term.

One of my  longer assignment (7 months) involved looking after a 9 year old boy. I fetched him from the bus, gave him lunch and did activities with him in the afternoon. I would bath him, feed him and look after him until his parents came home. We would play soccer, swim and other games.

A second longer assignment was au pairing for a 9 year old boy with Autism. I would fetch him from school, feed him, play with him and take him swimming. I would give him dinner, bath him and stay with him until his parents arrived home. I also babysat him.


  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingOct 2015 - Jan 2017. I moved to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Variety of children, both genders, 6 months - 6 years.
What were your duties?

I taught children and trained teachers. I managed education at the Family Members Club.

I taught music, art and cookery classes to children. The parents were present with the children. Some classes were for babies of 6 months old. They were Montessouri style classes. The idea was to focus on the development of the child and allow for moms to have some child parent bonding time as well.

 

  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingSince Jan 2017 - still babysit for them.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, 6 year old boy & 7 year old girl.
What were your duties?I babysit the children. I play with them and do bedtime.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs
Constantia and Surrounds

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am      

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Part timeR70-R100/hr

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2009.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I am studying child development. I was previously teaching in Hong Kong and developing lesson plans for early years education. I always wanted to work with children. I started teaching children's yoga and realised how much I love working with kids. After that, I got involved in training teachers. I also became involved in teaching and working with children.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?The youngest child I au paired for was 2 years old. The youngest children I taught were 6 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy sport, music and cooking. I do volunteering and I also teach touch rugby to children.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I have always wanted to work with children, I have a natural ability to deal with children. I have a childlike personality so I always feel that children are enjoying my company. I left teaching so that I could further my studies to work with children with special needs and in sports recovery.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy art, cooking, music and sport.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In cases of a physical accident, I would take the child to hospital. Anything else, I would deal with myself. It depends on the circumstances.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?

A child got pushed off a slide in a park. I drove the child straight to hospital and contacted the parents.

Recently, a 6 year old boy slipped and hit his head on a table. I took him straight to hospital and contacted his parents. I had his younger sister with me as well. 

What is your approach to discipline?I believe it is very important to try and work in line with the parent as that is where the child is going to look first for guidance. I will do my best to discipline the child and set boundaries so that they respect me and we will build the relationship from there. I have worked with children from all backgrounds and with children with severe learning disabilities so every situation will vary. Through teaching you learn very quickly how to discipline and set boundaries.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would initially get to the root of the issue. If the child's reason for having a tantrum is understandable then I will reason with the child and try and find a solution. If the child is being naughty and spoilt,   I will still reason with him/her. I will also try and teach the child that it is not the way to behave if they want something.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?It is about teaching the child what is right and wrong. This is something that is clearly wrong so I will initially stop the child from doing it and then explain why he/she needs to respect the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?The child will have to sit at the table and will not be allowed to do any other fun activities until the homework is done. I would explain to the child why homework is important and reward him/her with a fun activity after they have completed the homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?6 months upwards (but not older teenagers)
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes. I do babysitting.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very confident, outgoing, honest, kind, responsible and hard working.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
Breakfast Eggs on toast with avocado
Lunch A noodle salad with pesto, tomato and spinach
DinnerAny kind of pasta dish, Moroccan falafal or a pasta with chicken or fish
SnackHumus, carrots, sandwich
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents live between Hong Kong and London. I have two younger siblings. My sister (22yrs) lives in Hong Kong and my brother (25) lives in London. I am very close to my grandparents who also live in the UK.
 How do you handle a crying baby?I would try and work out why the baby is crying. Babies usually cry because they are wet or hungry. I would check these two things first. After that I would try skin to skin contact, keep the baby warm and try take it to a quiet place to calm the baby down.
  What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?My primary responsibility would be keeping them safe.
  What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I would engage musically and do lots of tactile activities to develop motor skills. I would use rattles and do art and cooking. 
  Are you comfortable with changing diapers, have you changed diapers before? Yes
 Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before? Describe how to do this. Yes. I am trained in the Montessouri way which is to use hot water.
  Can you prepare meals for infants? Give an example of how you would prepare such a meal.Yes. Mash up food ie. sweet potato 
 Have you ever bathed an infant before? Yes
 Are you capable of looking after twins?I have never looked after twins.
  Name situations you think could be dangerous for a child under 2 years old?Everything. You have to keep an eye on them at all times but some examples are electric plugs, kitchen equipment, anything that can be pulled or climbed.
 Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2 years old, how old were they at the time? I have done this in my time volunteering in Langa. I was in charge of a 6 month old and 4 children under the age of 4. 
 How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I would remove the child from the situation and try to get to the root of the problem. 
 How do you feel potty training should be approached?I haven't done potty training formally but I have been involved in this in the community. I think it's important to encourage the child and for the potty to be as close to the toilet as possible. 
 What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?I think engaging with the outdoor environment and nature is really important. It's also important for toddlers to be around other children and get used to sharing and sharing attention. 
 What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old? I would spend lots of time outside. I would also do painting and shaving cream. Children this age love organising things so I would do games involving organising or putting things in order.
 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

I believe in setting boundaries and teaching manners. I would also be guided by the parents preferred methods but I would never hit a child.


 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? I would never put any child in front of TV.
 How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? None
 Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a client’s home and/or take the child/ren in your care to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation? Yes
 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with children’s homework? Yes
 Are you willing to supervise friends of the children you are caring for who are invited to the families’ home while you are in charge? Yes
 Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities? Yes
 What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?I would do as many outside activities as possible i.e. playing games, hide and seek, going to the beach. There are so many wonderful outside places to go in Cape Town. Indoors, I would engage children in imaginary games and doing plays. 
  Are you happy to prepack lunches for children? Yes
 Have you worked with children with special needs? Yes. I au paired for a 7 year old boy who is autistic. 
 Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual? If yes, please provide an example of such an experience. Yes. I don't like to be late. I am normally early.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.