Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Ashleigh

Personal Details

Reference # 201-70651
Name Ashleigh
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2009 Cross Polo 1.9 TDi
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
Lyttelton Manor High School - 2011
Tertiary Education
Tswane University  - BTech Degree in Architecture-2012 - 2015
First aid TrainingYes, Expires November 2017

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2013 - Dec 2014. She moved away.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Girl age 4, boy age 2.
What were your duties?I was responsible for the older child. I would entertain the children, running errands with them, making lunches, babysitting on weekends and evenings, playing with educational toys.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in childcare and tutoring since 2013.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing?I started tutoring as a way to earn money. I noticed how incredible it is working with children. I finished my degree as I had started it, however I would now like to study again as I would like to teach.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From the age of 4 years old upwards.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I'm a cabin crew member at the moment and read alot. I also have blog.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy building confidence so I enjoy educational games and creative recreation like painting and drawing and spending time outdoors.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If there was something I could do immediately I would. I would try to stabalise the child, then call emergency services and then the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?

I was caring for a child for over a year. She would occasionally have physical fights with her brother. I would separate them and talk to them separately.Calming them down and explaining why we don't fight with each other and trying to teach them new ways of dealing with issues.

With tutoring I have had occasions were the parents were not interested in the feedback I was providing which I found really difficult. I instead then focused on the children and persevered with them instead.  

What is your approach to discipline?I have this idea that if you are clear from the beginning and clear with expectations there is no need for scolding. Most children are happy to work within those confines if expectations are clear. There are some however that will try to push the boundaries as they think of you as more of a friend. So I try to avoid this. I make my expectations clear and calmly explain these if they are pushed. 

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I think try to calm them down to a point where they can explain to me what the problem is so that we can solve it together or explain why something is as it is.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain why we don't draw on walls. See if he understand by asking him to explain. Perhaps see how he would feel if that was done to his things.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I feel like, they would need to see the value of homework. Understanding why it is a responsibility, and how on completion they will feel more accomplished. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable working with children from about 11 years upwards.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I become immersed in what I do and I do things fully. I am patient, interested in a lot of things.Im still learning so I am open to a lot of things. I'm open, honest and adventurous. I enjoy laughing. I am non-judgemental. I am a perfectionist. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrench toast, banana and honey, or museli and yogehurt
LunchLight protein or stir fry with veggies
DinnerCurry, stir fry.
Snackfruit or yoghurt or a smoothie
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My parents are separated, but are good friends. My mom works for an airline. My dad is in business. I have a little sister aged 16 (2017). 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.