Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Micaela

Personal Details

Reference # 201-70439
Name Micaela
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans(2nd) Zulu (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)White Toyota Auris 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2013

Education

Where did you attend highschoolWembley College - 2013
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?Occupational Therapy - UCT: 2016-2019. (second year student)
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving6 months of 2014. (an still occasionally in the holidays) I left the town
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children, 3 boys one girl Boys aged 6, 9 and 11 years girl aged 2
What were your duties?Fetching from school, driving to extra-mural activities, doing homework with them, accompanying the girl to toddler classes, babysitting some evenings, shopping, playing with children.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingOn and off during the second half of 2014. I moved away from the town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Twin babies, a boy and a girl newborn (were 9 weeks premature)
What were your duties? Bottle feeding premature twins, dressing twins
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2010, including on and off babysitting jobs, running Children´s´ Church classes and looking after classes in school. As well as au pairing and interning.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Being one of the older children in my small home community and church, I have always had the privilege and responsibility of caring for young children. I am interested because it is an enjoyable way of making an income as I love children and might even be able to engage with them from an perspective in what I am studying.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Newborn (9 weeks prem) They were about 3 weeks old when I helped out.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I study! but enjoy reading, photography and try go for runs when I can . i enjoy baking and hiking too.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love being able to be a part of a child´s life at this age when they are impressionable and eager to learn. I love being able to encourage children to build their confidence and chase their dreams. I enjoy childcare because i find that i can learn from the child´s innocent perspective, i can care for them holistically and love them appropriately.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy playing , as I believe this is the most vital way of development. But I enjoy constructive play and engaging in what the child loves weather it is arts and crafts or playing outside.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Using the first aid experience I have, I would asses the situation to see if there is time to call for help or if the child needs immediate assistance to be stabilized. I would then follow the necessary steps to ensure safety
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have had some children throwing tantrums and refusing to listen. And I have seen a boy shove a little girl really roughly.
What is your approach to discipline?I feel that it is important to respect and adhere to the parents approach to this. I think that it is necessary to point out to a child when they are wrong, but to never shout or scream or punish, but rather to affirm and point out what is the alternative, correct way.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?There are three suggested ways to deal with this: attention, distraction and removal. First one needs to get the child´s attention by looking them in the eye (instead of shouting at the child) and speak to them firmly but calmly. If this doesn´t work then the adult can uses ´distraction´ and distract the child with something else until the child has calmed down and then you can explain that that kind of behaviour is not right. Or if the child is inconsolable then one needs to remove objects that threaten to hurt the child or others, until the tantrum stops.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain that this is wrong. I would tell the child that they need to tell their parent what they did. I would encourage that drawing is good but i would suggest drawing on something that we can carry around and show others! such as paper or a special drawing book
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I have experienced this. I would perhaps suggest we do something else for 10 minutes before . and then I would make homework more interesting and do it in a way that is more meaningful to the child. I could suggest we take a break or have a reward : being play time at the end. But i think the most important thing is to find a different way of doing it so that it does not become a bore for the child
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I love working with babies and children under 2 but i am definitely comfortable working with any age below 16 , I enjoy working with children younger then 6 but am happy working with any age !
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I sometimes work for the lady who I au paired for.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a gentle, person. I am known to stick by rules and be diligent in my studies. I would say that i am compassionate and loving. My faith is very important to me . I enjoy being adventurous and having good fun. I am easily approachable and caring.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, Bacon, omelette, french toast and other basics
Lunchtoasted sandwich, macaroni, quiche, cous cous, wrap, salads and other preferences
DinnerLasagne, cottage pie, quiche, any pasta dish, soup,chicken pie,
Snackfruit, muffin, smoothie, crackers and cheese, anything required!
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My parents live on a small holding outside a small town in KZN. My mom is a qualified teacher. My parents love children and we have been called upon by many families to help babysit their children and babies! I have a younger brother and 2 younger sisters. I am close with them and have had the responsibility of looking after them a few times. my youngest sister is 8 years younger than me.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.