Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Devon

Personal Details

Reference # 201-70041
Name Devon
Nationality South African
Age 24
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2006 Ford Fiesta
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened2013
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1234

Education

Secondary Education
 Westerford High School - 2013
Tertiary Education
 BSc Human Life Science with Psychology: 3 year degree: University of Stellenbosch:Completed in 2017
First aid Training?Yes I have a level 3 First Aid.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2014- December 2014 (7 months). Returned to South Africa at the end of my contract.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 girls, ages 2 and 4 at the time of work.
What were your duties?In charge of morning routine including breakfast and school drop off. Pick ups and daily adventures when they weren't at Kindy. The New Zealand Education system also had me do a monthly picture page for each child with learning stories of various educational activities.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Stellenbosch
Winelands (Paarl)

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2014.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Took a gap year and Au Paired in New Zealand. I absolutely love working with kids, and the joy they can bring into one's life amazes me.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 Months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love anything to with the outdoors, as an avid runner and cyclist I take every opportunity to train I can. I have been a waitress for 1 and a half years at Hudsons in Stellenbosch as well.  
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?The fact that children see things in such an incredibly pure and untainted way is incredible to witness. They keep you on your toes all the time and question everything by not taking things as they are, and its wonderful to have such inquisitiveness around!
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Trips to the beach, and museum are cool, but my all time favorite thing to do is bake or create science experiments that help them understand the world around them in a cool way!
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Keep calm, make sure the children are first priority then call the necessary emergency services as well as the parents!
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When the 2 year old I was caring for went through a bit of a parent attachment phase, the way I handled it was through the use of distractions. It seemed to be the only thing to get her mind off of her parents leaving.
What is your approach to discipline?I don't feel its my place nor would I want to discipline a child as most parents see fit, but time outs are perfectly reasonable as long as the parents allow it.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Don't react, get down to their level and speak to them calmly,in an attempt to calm them and sort out the issue they are having.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Depends if the parents like the art work or not!
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Say to them if the homework gets done we can have TV time (granted TV time is allowed in the family) or we can do a fun activity.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age really, love the little ones 2-5 years, but I can tutor while Au Pairing if they are teenagers.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a fun, caring, go-getter. Inspired by that which brings me joy. I give 100% in everything I do, I do not believe in half done tasks. As a runner I am fairly fit and able to keep up with little busy bodies.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes, I can cook breakfast, lunch, dinner, snacks, I can also bake pretty much anything too!
BreakfastScrambled/poached/fried/boiled eggs with bread 'soldiers' or omelette filled with various veggies.
LunchWraps, sandwiches or toasty cheese.
DinnerHomemade pizza dough for mini pizzas, homemade chicken fingers or mashed potato are a few of the many options!
SnackCarrot/ cucumber/ cheese fingers, apple slices with peanut butter, fruit/nut mixes, rice cakes with peanut butter topping.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have an older brother (25) currently studying his Masters in BSc Sport Science in High Performance sport while cycling semi-professionally. We are very close for siblings. My mom is an accountant and lives in Cape Town and she is the most wonderful mother anyone could ask for. As we are a fairly fit family we all partake in the same races obviously at different levels, but sport is one of the gluing factors that always manages to bring us together. My father is a retired engineer who lives in Australia so is a bit out of the picture, not to say we love him any less though!  

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.