Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lorren

Personal Details

Reference # 201-69867
Name Lorren
Nationality South African
Age 37
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) and Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2014 Polo Vivo
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2000

Education

Secondary Education
Fairmont High School - 2000
Tertiary Education

CFNSA - Bachelor in Theology - 2008

SATS - Certificates in Social Media - 2010-2012

First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2 years - they moved to Australia 2012-2014
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child a girl, started in Grade 7 until Grade 9. 11 years old
What were your duties?Homework, driving around, extra lessons, babysitting
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2011 - current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Both genders from ages 4-7 small and big groups at church.
What were your duties?To stimulate the children with educational and fun activities and to take care of them while the parents attend church.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2008- End 2010. Me and my family moved from Jeffrey's bay to Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Girl, 2 and boy 5.
What were your duties?Au pair. I was responsible for their care on all levels while the parents were working.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2011-2012. i found a broadcast job at a christian radio station and felt it was my calling at that time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 children. 2 Boys aged 12 and 4 and a girl aged 10.
What were your duties?Full time au pair. I had to stay with the children and perform all parental duties while the parents were traveling for their job.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs
False Bay
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm        
6pm-6am          

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2008
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started in the Eastern Cape - realized how much I enjoy being a positive change in the lives of young people. I  am happy being apart of peoples families and enjoy being able to study online and work.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Study Nutrition online / Fitness and Music is my passion.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Seeing them grow and mature into respectable young people.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Age dependent. Lots of fun activities, parks, outings and stimulating things too. Things that they enjoy.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Situation dependent - Do what I could (burns, CPR, accident) and get help.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A child started chocking on s sweet, we were able to dislodge the sweet out of her mouth.
What is your approach to discipline?Some kids need firm boundaries, others not so much. I believe its not my place to discipline the children, I would have to hear from the parents.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depending on the child´s personality and arrangement with the parent. There may be a deeper root than just the surface tantrum, so I would investigate that avenue first.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Were they told not too? I would patiently teach a child first, if they were deliberate, we´d need to get it cleaned up and handle by one of the parents and or dealt with accordingly.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Again, why are they refusing? If may be that they do not understand, I´d help them understand. It may be that they tired... I´d assess the situation. If they are blatantly refusing out of rebellion, we would need to work with each child seperately.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Anything from 4/5 till 18.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Work hard, play hard. Fun, energetic and loud...but also loving, gentle, firm and kinds. Patient with young children and a friend (and an authoritative) figure to older kids.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastProtein and carbs Eggs, Oa tbran, (healthy cereals / oats)
LunchGood balance of macro nutrients (fish/chicken, Low GI sandwhich and or biltong, fruit, gluten free noodles, pastas)
Dinnercauliflour base pizzas / sweet potato / veggies
Snackfruit / low GI crackers / nuts and seeds / berries / cheese / yoghurt / raw veggies
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Unhealthy food :( LOL not really)
How do you handle a crying baby?Would try and calm her/him down as best as possible - I wont smack a baby but possibly try and take them to either fresh air outside or to a restroom.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Safety /protect / nurture / ensure they have their food, sleep and care.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?playing with toys and educational activities (drawing, blocks, puzzles, lego) 'baking'time - 'play time'- bottle / rest.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I'd gently take them by their hand and either a) walk with them or carry them and take them to a quiet area where I can calm them down.  I would try and find out Why they are upset.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?First chat to the parents and apply their strategy. Otherwise with patience and care.  Training anything new should be done with clear boundaries and then assess the situation as the toddler begins to mature.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?I would like to see this daily - I think interaction is important.  Possibly 2-4 hours a day - depending on the child's capacity.
What indoor activities would you engage a child aged 2 to 3 years old?Drawing, painting, clay and building.  Puzzles / games / toys / Media (on a limited scale).
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

Would hear what the parent's preference is and then apply things like "when boundaries are over stepped"what are the consequences... ensure the child understands and then stick to those boundaries.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
Minimal media / TV ... if they are educational an hour or so (broken up throughout the day) or allow TV after a certain time of the day - first playing, activities etc and then allow TV (if necessary) I would encourage music, reading, playing sport etc. over and above TV.  I don''t watch TV in my personal life, so would limit it as I believe things like baking and spending time with friends etc would take preference.  
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation? Yes
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework? Yes
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge? Yes
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities? Yes
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?
Anything that the parents would allow  - parks, movies, shows, outings to the zoo, animal parks, beach etc
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?
Riding bikes / parks  / shops / beach  - my number one rule is always SAFETY FIRST!!.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?
 Yes
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual? Yes
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Dad and Mom are still married and I also have an older brother. We are very loving towards one another - passionate and creative. Of Greek descent, we love people! Dad was a financial manager at Old Mutual for 30+ years now retired.  Mom was in admin also retired, my brother is a graphic designer and in the media industry.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.