Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Shumaya

Personal Details

Reference # 201-69810
Name Shumaya
Nationality South African
Age 57
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st),Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Hyundai Grand 2016
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?17 June 1998

Education

Secondary Education
Senior Certificate - Livingstone High-1980
Tertiary Education

Reception and Office Admin - Shapiro and Seagulls- 1983

Advanced Au Pair First Aid and COR- Chilton- 2016

Home based care- Robin trust- 2017

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving5 years. Child went to school.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 male started when he was 5 months old.
What were your duties?Totally responsible for the child including running of the household and cooking.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2010
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have a love for kids and can interact with them very pleasantly as I have lots of patience.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?5 months.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?My hobbies are hiking and I love pets.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Just the fact that I am  very responsible and I have a huge interest in a child's development. It makes me proud to share my knowledge with any child or children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Stimulating activities and creativity.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would call the Medical Facilities first and then the child's parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The child choked while eating and I used my First Aid knowledge to solve the situation.
What is your approach to discipline?Positive discipline with Routine and Boundaries.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would distract the child and create a new situation.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would speak to the child and show him the drawing board and very kindly tell him that we don't draw on walls.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would make it interesting by creating  a game so we both can participate and enjoy.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Newborns to 6 years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Daughter....35 Radiologist in Dubai. Son 29 Electrical Engineer.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I consider myself very responsible and mature. A woman who has a passion for kids and animals.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal and juice
LunchChicken Pasta
DinnerCottage Pie with Rice and Veggies.
SnackFruit.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not really.
How do you handle a crying baby?Distract a bigger baby or if tiny pick it up and tend to the baby's specific needs. I believe every baby has a different cry for every need.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?To see to the child's well being. Safety first.
Are you capable of looking after twins?

Yes.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?They are at a playful stage and absorb very easily. That is when we play lego and read books and develop fine motor skills.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?

I will pick the child up and take the child to a different place and distract him.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?It should be like a game. I have done it a lot at the pre-school where I did my practical for my au pair course. It took us two weeks to potty train a child.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?

It should be very important. They grow up without being selfish and they are very sharing. I believe play dates are crucial.
What indoor activities would you engage a child aged 2 to 3 years old?Board games and puzzles.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I do not set any limits. I believe in talking and I do not punish. I am firm.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I believe an hour an afternoons is ample. The 301 channel on DSTV. I do not really believe in TV and would rather do educational activities and play games with the children.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes of course. That is why you have to be fit and play like you are their age.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes. Up until age 15.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?

Yes.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?

They like to go to the swimming pool the zoo etc.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?They like reading and fun games. You can teach them educational games. Do activities around their hobbies.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes. Extremely.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I have a very close knit family and we are all scattered across the globe as my 3 sisters and their families are living in London and my 2 brothers are residing in Australia. My dad was a laborer. My mom's family owned  the Shweppes factory. My daughter is a radiologist in Dubai and my son is an electrical engineer in Dubai.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.