Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Precious

Personal Details

Reference # 201-69622
Name Precious
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Engaged
Languages English ( 2nd), Xhosa (2nd) and Zulu (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2009 Citroen Xsara Picasso
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education
Khulani High - 2011
Tertiary Education

Diploma in reception - CAD training centre - 2012

Diploma in Office administration - CAD training centre - 2013

certificate in early childhood development - Chilton au pair college - 2013

First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2010-2014 I left because they were going back to France.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 boys of 4 months and 3 years of age.
What were your duties?Preparing them meals and taking them to play dates and as well as washing their clothes and taking of their room and taking the 3 years old to school and fetching him.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSince August 2016. Still working full time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl two years old.
What were your duties?I have to care for the little girl while her parents are at work. I also keep the house and walk the dogs.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been caring for children in a professional capacity since 2010.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I got into child care because of the love I have for children. Spending time with them seeing them happy is just priceless to me.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From newborn.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Studying, playing tennis, spending time with my family, jogging.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The simplest answer is: I love children. I love to see them smiling, their shining eyes, their happiness when they learn something new and their imagination. I like to see them growing up and spending time with them.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Going to the park, reading books to them and taking them to play dates.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Accidental poison swallowing: The infant may accidentally swallow liquids such as liquid detergent, essential oils or mouth rinse. Once these chemicals get into the bloodstream, they may damage the internal organs. Signs of poisoning: Vomiting, tremors, sweating, abdominal pain, burns around the lips and mouth, loss of consciousness. What to do: Seek emergency care. Tell the doctor your infant’s age, weight, condition, what he or she may have ingested and time of suspected poisoning. Follow the treatment instructions.If the infant has stopped breathing, perform CPR as an emergency care procedure.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A Child had chest congestion and stopped breathing, so I called the family doctor while I was performing CPR on him and his chest got loosen before the doctor arrived.
What is your approach to discipline?By rewarding good behavior, rewarding good deeds targets behaviors you want to develop in your child, not things he shouldn’t be doing and being clear about rules.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?One important thing to understand about tantrums is that they are normal behavior, and should therefore not be punished. Toddlers are supposed to have tantrums. My goal at this age should not be to stop your child’s tantrums, but rather to guide your child through them and to minimize the situations that might elicit a tantrum.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?1-Store art materials out of reach when they´re not in use. When they are in use, provide appropriate surfaces for drawing, and supervise. This is as much for the child´s safety as for your walls. A plastic tablecloth makes a good drop cloth (whether on the table or the floor), especially for messier art projects, such as painting 2-Emphasize that all artwork is done on paper (or other approved medium) not on other things. Use short, direct language. When art work goes wandering, redirect the toddler. If the child persists, take away the materials immediately.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?1-I will be clear and firm, but don’t argue with your kids about homework. Make eye contact and tell them calmly that they are responsible for the work. 2- Choose a powerful incentive that your youngster will recognize as meaningful. This might be extra time on the computer, a special meal, or attending an activity that she is looking forward to. Incentives can be phased out when kids attend to the homework responsibly.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with? Any
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes I do, Mr Edward´s family because they still come this side during holidays. I am also still working for Lisa, my second reference.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes, I have a daughter born in 2003 and a son born in 2013.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as reliable, open-minded, polite, helpful, ambitious, creative and patient. Besides I am always punctual, I am good in making plans, and in always having a plan B.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBanana and Almond Pancake
LunchCauliflower cheese with cooked pasta pieces
DinnerMeatballs with Veggies
SnackSmall cubes of cheese
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not really
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes. Up to grade 12 with all subjects except math and Afrikaans.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?

Yes, I am currently doing that.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?I will take them to fun and educational places like the aquarium and the forest. Lots of outdoor activities. Everywhere we go we create scenarios ourselves to keep them busy like at the beach.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?

We can play dress up games and other pretend games.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?

Yes. I am happy. I am also planning to take a short cooking course. I can cook from recipes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes, I am.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?. I have been brought-up in a very disciplined way  where values and principles have always been given priority. I grew up very religious and our lives revolved around the church.  I was raised by my step moms because my father was married to four wives and I have 18 half brothers and sisters. The wives worked on the farm and raised the children. My dad is in the taxi business.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.