Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sharona

Personal Details

Reference # 201-6940
Name Sharona
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes - Attended MEC course in June 2009.
5.Is your criminal record clear(ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes
7.Do you have a friendly, outgoing, caring and patient personality?Yes
8.Are you relatively active and enjoy being outdoors?Yes
9.Do you love being around children and enjoy doing creative activities with them?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Fiat Palio Go! 2003 4 Door.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes , all in good working order back and front.
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
How long have you been driving for?Since 2005.

Education

Secondary Education

Herzlia School

Tertiary Education

UCT-  BSocSci majoring in Psychology and Sociology -2008

UNISA - Currently studying Honours in Psychology through UNISA. 

First aid TrainingYes - I have a valid First aid Certificate. 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingBetween February and March 2008 - Current.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?2 girls 6 and 3 years of age.
What were your duties?I would collect them from school and take them on outings, I done allot of sleep over babysitting if the parents were away for a weekend. Prepare breakfast, lunch, snacks and dinner, get them bed and read them stories, general house duties that would follow. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary - December 2008, My time table changed and I could no longer assist her. 
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?10 children in a group - ages between 4 and 6 boys and girls.
What were your duties?Making sure they had lunch and making sure they are looked after on the playground. On raining days we would keep them entertained by reading stories and building blocks or any fun activity.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingApril - September 2008, Only assisted them when they needed an extra hand. 
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?15 children per group, boys and girls 4 - 8. 
What were your duties?Prepare programs for the week, Supervising them and the activities that were done. Preparing their lunches and snacks. General supervision.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2009 - current.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?3 children - 3, 10 and 18 years of age.  Two boys and one girl.
What were your duties?Driving to extra murals and various activities, I look after the 3 year old most of the time, I arrange appointment for the children, In the holidays I would assist them and take them to the park or fun places. I would prepare snacks for them and sometimes make sure that the little one had a bath before his parents came home. 
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingDecember 2008 - current.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?Various age groups boys and girls. Any age from 3 - 10 years old. 
What were your duties?General duties, depending on the position. 
  

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2009 - April 2009. It was only for two month.
Number of children,age and sex of the children when you started?One boy in Grade 10 ADD.
What were your duties?I had to settle him in class, explanation of class instructions, I would supervise his homework and making sure he would understand his work. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg South
Johannesburg West

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Salary expectations

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Since High School, I would do babysitting in the community for extra pocket money, Then I finished Matric I decided that this is what I wanted to do and now I am studying Child Physiology. 
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From the age of 3.
What activities are you involved in?I go to them gym 6 times a week. I enjoy reading. I enjoy being around friends.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?In my spare time I gym and I study. Teaching in the morning and Au pairing in the afternoon. ( I am involved in a youth service every Saturday morning and Jewish festivals. 
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Its to see how the children grow and their development, I enjoy seeing their insight changing.  It is very rewarding and I really enjoy it. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I would take them to plays, I would take them fun activities. I love being outdoors, going to parks and Plinka Plonka. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would assist them situation with my first aid knowledge to the best that I can. I would then contact the parents and get an ambulance or if I can I would take the child to the hospital myself. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have not really encountered any situation that I could not control on my own.
What is your approach to discipline?I am firm but fair.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would calm the child down and try and distract them with something fun and exciting, I would then ask them why they were having a tantrum. 
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would take away the crayon and make them understand that what they are doing is not right. We would then get a piece of paper and let her draw on that. 
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain to them how important homework is, I assist them with the homework and try and make it fun and exciting. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age from 3 upwards.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Mandy Sevitz and Karen Thorne. 
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, I do not have any children of my own.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very confident and out spoken, I am very friendly and very positive I am very reliable and trustworthy. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal or a piece of toast and peanut butter and fruit.
LunchSandwich, hot dogs.
DinnerFish fingers or chicken schnitzel with backed potato or a salad. 
SnackFruit or yoghurt or dried fruit. Biscuits and cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I am not comfortable with cooking big meals.
Please tell us a bit more about your family? Eg. Do you have brothers and sisters? How old are they? What do your parents do?Are your parents still married? etc.I am an only child, My parents are divorced since I was one years old. I lived with my mother and grand parents. My mother is a PA at an accounting firm in Cape Town.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.