Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Stef

Personal Details

Reference # 201-69030
Name Stef
Nationality South African
Age 33
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2004 Opal Corsa Silver
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2009

Education

Have you completed Matric?No.
Where did you attend highschool?Khanyisa School for Supportive Education: 2004
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?Cape Town College: Early Childhood development Level4:2005-2006
First aid Training?No

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 2014- December 2016. My contract will end in December 2016 due to the parents getting divorced and the child will be going to aftercare next year.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One  3.5 years old female.
What were your duties?I am a full time au pair for the little girl. My duties included collection from play school, dropping and collecting from extra mural activities and play dates, preparing and serving lunches and taking care of the animals.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingAugust 2012-February 2013
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy, 1 years old.
What were your duties?Taking care of the toddler and assisting in his development on all levels. Putting him down for naps. Making his lunch and cooking family dinners.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary- April 2012. It was a temporary position.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy Robbie aged 2 years.
What were your duties?I had to help Robbie to adapt to the play ground environment, since he needed special attention.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2009- November 2011. I traveled with family to Australia for three months.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Group of 20 toddlers, both genders, between 1-3 years old.
What were your duties?I was a nursery class assistant.
  

Reference 5:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2006-2007
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?5 children of both genders between the ages of 3-11 years when I started there.
What were your duties?I had to help with home work, outings, do baby sitting and help out with functions like birth day parties.
  

Reference 6:

Period and reason for leaving2005-2006.It was 2 year practical training, completed at the end of 2006.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Group of children aged 2-3 of both genders (2005) and group of children between 3-6 years old of both genders.
What were your duties?I had to help with the children and aid with developmental skills on all levels.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2005
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I was always very good with children and decided to study in this direction. I did my practical with children of all ages from new born up until 7 years.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?New born.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Garden, walk the promenade, gym, read, swim.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love that children are willing to learn and their honesty and the unconditional love they have for people. I love being able to teach a child and watch them grow and develop.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Outdoor activities in the summer and I love creative arts and crafts - anything creative. At times I would need to do educational activities
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would phone the parent/parents and inform them there has been an emergency. If I cannot get hold of them I would call the closest relative such as a granny. I would try to stay calm.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Divorce- where parents are not speaking. I have tried to keep both parents happy and keeping my au pair child safe and secure and trying not to expose her to the tension in the house.
What is your approach to discipline?Parents and myself to discuss - adopt their approach. I personally believe children thrive best in boundaries and feel more secure.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try ignore the tantrum. Depends on what parents want but if it were me I would do time out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to the 5 year old that we do not draw on walls and he/she needs to come help clean it up. I would give the child paper and explain he/she must draw on that
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Make homework fun and lots of encouragement - try turn it into a positive
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I prefer working with  children aged 3-7.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am currently employed but my contract terminates in December with current employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes - Maya. She turned 3 in October.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a calm and happy person who loves my family. I am Italian so anything family including raising children correctly is what is important to me. I try my best everyday. I am hardworking honest and patient.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastSoldiers/ scrambled eggs and toast/ croissant
LunchFish fingers/chicken strips and veggies
DinnerChicken, meat, pasta & veggies
SnackFruit/ nuts yogurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I would prefer not to cook- I enjoy it but prefer baking with children
How do you handle a crying baby?
I will pick the baby up and give the baby affection. I will check that the babies' basic needs are met.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
The child's safety is most important.
Are you capable of looking after twins?
I think I could.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
Water play, sand play, art activities that are age appropriate, music.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?
I will pick the child up and speak to the child and divert their attention. Remove the child from the situation as fast as possible if the tantrum does not stop.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?
I think you should wait until the child is ready and show interest. Encourage it when the child is ready.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?
It is very important for a child to interact with other children of their age for them to learn problem solving and to develop social skills.
What indoor activities would you engage a child aged 2 to 3 years old?
Play dough, colouring in, painting, puzzles, music activities and age appropriate games that are fun and educational.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
If the answer is no I stick with the answer no. if the "no" is ignored 3 times I make the child sit on the time out chair for an age appropriate time.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
Barney, Dora the explorer and other programs like Mickey Mouse club house and age appropriate cooking an baking programs.
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
Half an hour at most per day. For winding down time.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love being interactive with the children and to organize play dates.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes. I am comfortable to help up until the age of 7.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?No I prefer working with younger children.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes definately so that I can be accountable if something goes wrong.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?I will take them to the beach, the movies, the aquarium, Ratanga , putt-putt and other fun and education activities museums and the science center and the planetarium.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?
Build things with the children like Lego, foster interests ad encourage hobbies. Board gamesto play and to bake and cook with them.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?
Yes I am happy to pack healthy and nutritional lunches for the children.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes. I like being on time and hate being late.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Family is everything to me. I have an older sister who is a lawyer, a step sister - an environmentalist who lives in Victoria falls and who works with one of the most well known wildlife vets in Africa and a step brother who is an architect but is currently in Nepal re- building the areas that were damaged by the earthquake. My dad is an architect too. We are all very close and love spending holidays and time together on weekends. We are all goal orientated & hard working. My mom is a property consultant for Greeff.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.