Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Ashley

Personal Details

Reference # 201-68999
Name Ashley
Nationality South Africa
Age 23
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans (1st) and English(1st).

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Volkswagen, Polo Vivo 2015 model
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?February 2014

Education

Secondary Education
Bellville High School - 2014
Tertiary Education
Stellenbosch University for my undergraduate degree in law: (4 year course: 2016-2019)
First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingI am still on a temporary basis helping this family.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Girl age 4 months when I started for a period of two years so far.
What were your duties?Feeding, Bathing, Putting to sleep, Cooking meals, Changing nappies, Stimulating activities, etc.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving 
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?No response from this reference
What were your duties? 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am  

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2014
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always love little children, since I am much older than my younger siblings. I knew this foreign couple who had a baby with no family in South Africa and wanted to bless them by helping them as much as possible with their little girl.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?4 Months old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am involved at University within my faculty. I am involved at my local church with facilitating some courses or participating in events. I love jogging, walking my dogs, reading, dancing and going to the movies.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I absolutely adore the joy of a child and how fascinating their imagination can stimulate the most incredible moments and conversation. I love their kind and generous hearts and their excitement about the smallest things in life.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Coloring, reading, building blocks and puzzles, running outside, singing and dancing.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It would depend on the severity of the circumstances. In the case of serious injuries I would apply my first aid knowledge, get a hold of the parents and also immediately contact medical services for assistance.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The little boy I watched in Italy fell off the bed and hit his head quite hard. I comforted him and made sure there were no bleeding. Once he was calmed, I looked at the seriousness of the bruise and monitored him for a while after to ensure that he did not have a more severe injury.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in firmly addressing a child with a firm but loving voice and explaining why he is receiving discipline. I will apply appropriate punishment according to how the parents see as fit.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would calmly try and ask them to stop. I will say in a firm tone,"This is not the right way to behave". If that does not work, I will warn them on their eye level with a serious facial expression of having a time out.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will give them time out, to sit in a corner for 10-20 minutes. Then I will explain to them why they had time out and that it is not okay to draw on the walls. I will fetch a bucket of warm soapy water and as part of their accepting  responsibility, encourage them to help me clean the walls.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will explain to him the importance of homework and what a big role it plays in the learning process and how through education they can change the world. If the encouragement does not work, one would have to warn them of punishment: for example if they do not complete their homework, they won´t be able to watch TV or play outside.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any ages from 6 moths - 14 years
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, I will still be helping the Van Der Male family. I absolutely adore their girls and the whole family and see them as having become my family too.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am very gentle and kindhearted. I am extremely passionate about the injustices in our world and study law to be a voice for those who cannot defend themselves such as women and children. I love animals (even cats to which I am allergic). I am very hard working and responsible and I love new adventures that can expand my knowledge in any way. I love learning and growing as a person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastFrench toast and bacon
LunchCous-cous chicken, butternuts, avocado and feta salad
DinnerRisotto: Rice, chicken, mushrooms
SnackRice Cakes with peanut butter and a fruit
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?None
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the second oldest of 4 children. My older sister is 23 years old and is graduating from university this year. My younger sister is 15 years of age and is currently still at school. My baby brother is 11 years of age and is still in primary school. I absolutely adore my mother, she is my best friend and biggest hero. She is an accountant and actively involved in community service. My hardworking and strong father is a very charming business-man who has his degree in engineering and law and has recently been actively involved in environmental projects.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.