Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Michelle

Personal Details

Reference # 201-68790
Name Michelle
Nationality South Africa
Age 35
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans (1st), English(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2008 Mercedes A170
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2002

Education

Secondary Education
Rob Ferreira High - 2002
Tertiary Education

SA navy - 2003-2011

Currently registered to do: UNISA CSSA course 2017-( to be completed 2021)

First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingFeb 2016 till May 2016 - kids were blind and it was just a little bit harder then I expected.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children Girl 5 Boy 2
What were your duties?Driving, preparing meals, extramural activities, entertaining, swimming, general care of children.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingMay 2016 til current - too little money for the amount of work expected of me.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children Girl 3 Girl 6
What were your duties?Cooking, driving, extramural activities, arts and crafts, homework, take care of pets, general care of children.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingFeb 2015 till December 2015- Boy has severe cerebral palsy. Can´t walk, talk or eat with his mouth. The boy got to be too heavy for me, a lot of lifting involved.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 child Boy 7. 1 Newborn baby.
What were your duties?School run in mornings and afternoons. Cooking, feeding, bathing, changing nappies, physio, swimming, dressing, entertaining.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Professional childcare since 2015.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Needed extra income and being with children gives me pleasure.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I cared for my own children since birth. the youngest child I have professionally cared for is three.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Study during the week, qualified scuba diver, used to go horse Riding, like hiking.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I just love kids, you are always entertained and I love to see how they develop their own unique character.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing outside, baking, arts and crafts, swimming,
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Follow the emergency plan set out by the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?A very sick cerebral palsy boy that can´t talk. I held him close and soothed him for 3 hours till he stopped screaming.
What is your approach to discipline?Distract the child´s attention away from the situation and talk to the child about his behavior and how we can work together so the child does not feel the need to act up again.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Distract the child´s attention.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Show the child where it is okay to draw and explain why he should not draw on the wall. Then we can clean the wall up together.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Do a short activity wit child that he or she likes and then try to do homework again.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?0 till 18
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, Lizl
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes I have a boy 7 and a girl 5
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?The first thing that comes to mind is, I´m a people´s pleaser. I´m mostly friendly with a very positive outlook on life.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastBacon and eggs
LunchHealth sandwich or light cook meal
DinnerAny pasta meal,
SnackYogurt, fruit, nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Curries.
How do you handle a crying baby?I will tend to the basic needs and check if he is ill. If he keeps on crying after being picked up and soothed.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?

I will make sure that the child is safe and the environment is safe and make sure when we go out that I will not let them wander away from me.
Are you capable of looking after twins?I am sure I will be able to.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?

I will let the baby be on tummy time and learn to roll on the floor and other activities like building blocks, motor skills and outside time. Read stories and play age appropriate games.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?

I will distract the child from what upsets him and take him away from the situation to a safe place to the car or home.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?

I will approach the potty training relaxed and not punish for accidents. Take the child to sit on the potty at regular intervals and praise him for a positive result.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?

It is very important. The child has to learn to know different environments and social interaction encourage sharing, learning vocabulary and develops  gross motor skills.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?

We can play with clay, draw, build Lego and do all kinds of arts and crafts. Learn words, ABC, and counting. We can play with marbles and other fine motor skills. I like to get messy with them.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

Naughty chair works for me. Privileges get taken away. I will first talk to them about why they did what they did.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love to take children on play dates and to encourage them actively in activities.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?

Yes I am very punctual and the Navy taught me to manage my time.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?

We will go to the park, to movies, the aquarium, Buzzy bodies. I will foster their interests and go to fun and related activities. I will take them to the beach. If they like horse riding I will take them horse riding.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?

I will play board games and puzzles with them. I will bake and cook with them. I will encourage activities that relate to their hobbies. Arts and crafts.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I do that I pack healthy and nutritious food. We bake gluten free and they bake that.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Extremely. The navy taught me both of these attributes. I am almost over punctual and organized.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.Healthy family of 4. My husband is a personal trainer at Virgin active Constantia. We love to spend time together.My parents are divorced and stays in Zambia. He is a business man and is a mechanic and sells farm equipment. my mom lives in Vredenburgh and has a big laundry business. my Sister lives in America. We have very close ties.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.