Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Emily

Personal Details

Reference # 201-68778
Name Emily
Nationality South African
Age 26
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (First language level), Afrikaans (Second language level)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Tata Indica 2013
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
If yes, please describe the accident and when it happened 
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Have you completed matricYes
Where did you attend highschoolBosmansdam High School:2011
What was your passrate for MatricI passed with a BA
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?UCT:2015: Bsc in Speech and language pathology
First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2009-
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two children, a a girl aged 10 months when I started and a boy from new born
What were your duties?Entertaining, bathing, preparing and giving supper, putting them to bed, being available for when they woke up during the night.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving Part time Since 2012
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 2 children aged 5 and 3
What were your duties? Entertaining, feeding, putting to bed.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am          

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have? Since 2008
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting? My sisters friend was looking for a babysitter and i offered to babysit. I also used to help children at school with their homework and found it very rewarding.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for? 6 months
  
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs? I enjoy reading, building puzzles, listening to music, jogging, spending time with friends and family and dancing.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life? Their ability to see all the good in the world and to always say things exactly as they are.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children? Anything and everything. Painting and reading, playing dress up or make believe, baking and cooking, and any outdoor activity.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency? Make sure that the child is safe, ensure that the child remains calm, provide CPR if required, call the emergency services and then call the childs parents. 
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it? Children often get very upset when their parents leave to go out. I find the best thing is to let the child say goodbye to their parents, even if they start crying, hug them if they allow it and then to distract them with an activity as soon as possible. 
What is your approach to discipline? I prefer to implement whichever method of dicipline was used by the parents to avoid confusing the child. Removing privileges often works very well, and so does a stern voice and sticking to your word i.e. not only threatening the child but actually following through.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum? I would pay no attention to them if it was something that i had already said no too and they were doing it on purpose. If the child did not understand why they were not allowed to do/ have something i would explain it to them and offer an alternative. If they continued to have a tantrum i would continue doing something else and remind them how much fun they could be having if they joined me.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall? I would reprimand them and explain why that is wrong. I would them give them a bucket of warm water and a cloth to clean the wall with. I would them give them some crayons and a piece of paper so that they could continue their artwork.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework? We would do small sections of his homework at a time and do activities that he enjoyed in between this. 
Which age groups are you comfortable working with? All ages
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones? No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they? No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself? Hard working, passionate individual who would do anything for a friend in need. I always try to see the glass half full and believe that everyone has their own story to tell and deserves to be treated with dignity and respect. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)

 Yes.  

Breakfast eggs and bacon, french toast, pancakes.
Lunch Tuna mayo snackwitch, salad, hot dogs
Dinner Spaghetti, chicken and roast veggies, potato bake, fish.
Snack cucumber and carrot sticks, two minute noodles, biscuits
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking? No
How do you handle a crying baby?

 Find out the reason for them to be crying- soiled nappy, hungry, pain, sick? solve the problem and hopefully the baby will stop crying. If the baby continues to cry and I have ensured that all of the above have been taken care of i will hold them and rock them until they calm down. 
 What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old? Make sure that they remain safe at all times, that they have a clean nappy and are fed and are stimulated with age appropriate toys.
 Are you capable of looking after twins?

 Yes
 What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?

 We would use Noise making toys, soft toys that can be put in their mouth. Go on walks in their pram and play in the garden.
 How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?

 I would ask them to stop and remind them what will happen if they dont stop (taking away a reward), ignore them and continue with what i was doing and if it still does not stop we would leave the public place and go home. 
 How do you feel potty training should be approached? The child should have set times during the day they go to the bathroom. It should be a fun experience and they should be praised for using the "big" toilet. 
 What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?

 A LOT! Children should spend as much time as possibile interacting with other children and experiencing the outdoors. It helps with all of their areas of development. 
 What indoor activities would you engage a child aged 2 to 3 years old? Painting, drawing, building blocks and puzzles, reading stories
 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old? make sure that boundaries are put into place before the start of an activity. Warn them when they have done something that they were not allowed to do, if they continue to misbehave remove the activity or game that they were enjoying. Time out can also work quite well. 
 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
anything on BBC kids-is usually quite appropriate and somewhat educational. children that age should only be watching about 10 minutes of TV a day though so i prefer to stay away from the TV as much as possible. 
 Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation? Yes
 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework? Yes
 Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?

 Yes
 Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities? Yes
 What kind of outings would you organise for the children?

I would make a list of activities that the child wanted to do and add things that I find educational and fun- i.e. going to the museum, planetarium, aquarium, etc and then we would decide together. Going on hikes, to the beach, art classes or baking classes are a few things that i would include. It all depends on the age and interests of the child. 
 What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old? We would do activities that the child enjoyed- other than playing on the ipad or computer. Board games, building puzzles, reading, painting/ drawing, playing dress up or make-believe, going to the park for a picnic. I would also try to teach them new things or games that they do not know about.
 Are you happy to prepack lunches for children? Yes
 Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual? Yes
Please tell us a bit more about your family?. I am from a very close family. I have three sisters and two brothers. We all get alone very well and enjoy having dinner together as a family. My dad passed away when i was younger and my mother had to raise us herself. We can argue, like any other family, but are always there for each other in times of need. 

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.