Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Ceridwin

Personal Details

Reference # 201-68362
Name Ceridwin
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English(1st), Afrikaans (basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Currently driving a VW polo 2012 model.
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2016

Education

Secondary EducationCedar House - 2006
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed?

BA Hons Anthropology - Rhodes University - 2012 (3 year degree)

MSc Personal Development - Consciousness, Spirituality and Transpersonal Psychology - Essex University - 2 years completed and 2 to go.

First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2013- 2016. Returned to South Africa.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4-5 years old (K2) Gender: varied from class to class.
What were your duties?I was a Homeroom Kindergarten teacher. My duties involved classroom management, lesson planning and maintaining the welfare of my students.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2012 -end of March 2013. I went to the Kindergarten 2 class to gain experience working with 4-5 years old in the same school.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?22 students, both genders between 3-4 years old.
What were your duties?I was responsible for teaching the 3-4 year olds. I developed lesson plans and weekly curriculum outlines.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2012
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I tutored throughout university and loved teaching. After I completed my BA Honours Degree I went to Thailand to become a Kindergarten Homeroom Teacher. I love working with children and therefore au pairing/babysitting is a great way to make an extra income doing something I enjoy while I complete my Masters course.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love to study and read a lot. I also am a qualified Yoga Instructor, and enjoy my daily practice. Above anything I love being in nature, swimming, running and hiking.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I enjoy most what children teach us. Their joy for life is something that should be encouraged, and protected.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love outdoor activities where possible, playing and running around. I also enjoy creative projects with children, building and teaching them something new.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?In case of an emergency I would follow all the instructions I learned in my First Aid Course, and then call for help or immediately take the child to the hospital (which ever if possible first).
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?One of my students fell and took out their two front teeth. I was able to calm her and the class down, and call for assistance from the school nurse and she was then taken to the hospital to recover.
What is your approach to discipline?I like to be calm, clear, and consistent, but in a gentle and encouraging manner.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would get down to their level, hold them so they don´t hurt themselves and gently talk to them until they can calm themselves down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would explain to the 5 year old what they are doing is not nice and that it is someones property. I will ask them why they are doing it and receive an apology first before presenting them with another activity, a more productive activity, for them to engage in.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?With an 8 year old I would hold them accountable and discuss why they need to do their work. Explain to them if they do not want to do their homework they will have to miss out something they do enjoy, like playing outside .
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?2 years to around 12 years old
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am kind, consistent and considerate. I have a gentle demur and really enjoy working with people. I am active and love being in nature. I am also always open to learn new things and grow to be a better person.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs with a squashed tomato and spinach feta sauce.
LunchThai coconut soup served with rice
DinnerBaked or steamed veg, with quinoa, and a light lemon butter sauce.
SnackFresh fruit ad nuts
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I love to cook and enjoy learning new recipes.
How do you handle a crying baby?Hold the baby and console him until he calms down.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
To make sure the children are safe and have a safe environment.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?

I love making crafts and anything tactile based like tearing paper.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?

Get down to their level and talk in a calm and stern voice.. Take them to a more quiet area to calm down.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?With lots of patience, understanding and encouragement. This approach yields better results.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Definately. play is how we learn and also through being around peers. Kids learn through experiences.
What indoor activities would you engage a child aged 2 to 3 years old?

I love to engage in role play and story telling. I love to engage with puppets and props and help them learn to play.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

Always give very clear boundaries and a reward system where they are in competition not with others but just with themselves. Talk to them about what they would like to enjoy doing.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
It does depend on what the parents policy is. I love Peppa pig. BBC programs where the children can interact. i think about 20 minutes is fine. As long as there is balance with out door play.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love interacting with children like playing sports with them.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?

Yes I am comfortable to help them until about the age of 15.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?

Yes. it is important.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?I love taking them to the aquarium, Kirstenbosch and the library. I think going to places like the beach. I will always take them some place safe.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?I will give them subject matter they can do roll play with. Give them materials they can make art with. I will play board games with them and games like cards. I will read books with them. I will swim with them and play sports.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am the youngest of three girls. My oldest sister is a doctor, the middle is a dance instructor. My mother is a pharmacist and my father is a business consultant. I grew up with my mother in Cape Town, with my sisters, but am originally from Johannesburg. My older sister has two brilliant children whom I love to bits, being their aunt is a gift. As a family we are close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.