Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lindsay

Personal Details

Reference # 201-68255
Name Lindsay
Nationality South Africa
Age 28
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel corsa 1.4 Model 2006
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
Spine Road High School - 2009
Tertiary Educatin

BSC Occupational therapy (3 years, not completed, my mom got really sick and as she was the main breadwinner I had to start working fulltime to support my family) - UWC - 2010 - 2013

BA -Community and health Psychology-  UNISA -  2016

First aid TrainingNo

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJune 2016 - current (September 2016)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 boy aged 14 years in Grade 9.
What were your duties?Tutoring Mathematics and Life Science
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2009 to Current (2016)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?3 kids aged from 3 years old when I started. The 3 year old was the oldest and the other two have been born since. The oldest is now 11 years old.  2 girls and a boy. I´ve been babysitting and helping out for the last 8 years.
What were your duties?Babysitting/driving - Friday and Saturday extra mural activities Swimming - girl aged 6 (Friday afternoon) Soccer - boy aged 8 (Saturday morning) Ballet - girl aged 11 (Saturday morning)adhoc babysitting in the evenings or over a weekend as required.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leaving2008 - present (2016)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Sunday school class, Youth development, Aged from 5 to 13 years old usually in groups of 15 to 20 children at a time.
What were your duties?Sunday school - Assisting and preparing lessons, care-taking, childminding Youth development - Youth activities, motivational talks, encouragement etc. We are usually 2 to 3 people assisting with Sunday school classes.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Northern Suburbs
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am        

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am        

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I started working professionally with children in 2008. I was in grade 10 and assisted at church and with adhoc babysitting.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Studies, teaching practicals, family. My love and passion for kids.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I've been assisting my sister with her kids since birth. Professionally from age 5/6 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy reading good novels, I partake in the local netball club and tutoring.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?Being able to teach and give back. Influencing the lives of young ones in a positive way.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Meaningful, stimulating activities. For example : improving on problem areas at school/creche be it sports or academics.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Firstly, its important to remain calm and to try and remain in control of the situation, try and get to the bottom of the issue by asking questions, try and access a nearby first aid kit, if the issue is too serious, call the ambulance, parents/relatives.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?While babysitting a 4 year old little girl, she was having a snack to eat and unfortunately it happened to be the last of what she was having. She threw a tantrum and wouldn't stop yelling for 20 minutes straight. I remained calm and tried to distract her - eventually the crying stopped she was placed in the "naughty corner" for a few minutes. Later she knew to apologise for her tantrum.
What is your approach to discipline?Discipline is an ongoing process, its not something that can be taught over-night. It is important to get to know the family´s discipline process to try and stick to a certain pattern, instead of confusing the child. Kids know how to "get their way" so its important to allow some leverage way but there should also be a point of understanding and regulation between the care-giver and the child.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depending on the situation, its best to acknowledge the tantrum, however, this does not mean that we have to succumb to it. It is also important to stay calm and consistent in your approach. Try and distract the child doing a different activity.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?They would need to be reprimanded. Such behavior should not be encouraged. Time out as part of punishment and maybe getting them to help wipe/wash the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?At this age, kids know exactly how to manipulate you into doing or getting what they want. They also have a fair understanding of right from wrong. If they refuse to do what is expected, I would simply take away a favorite extra mural or introduce the "band" rule for example, no television or game time until the homework gets done. Rewarding also comes into play here.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I am comfortable with most age groups, from birth to teenager as I´m still involved with kids between these ages.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I´m still tutoring, I still assist my sister with her kids and I´m still apart of the Sunday school and youth development programme.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?None
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would describe myself as vibrant and highly motivated, dedicated, hardworking. I am also very patient and I enjoy being in the company of others.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal
LunchHealthy sandwich accompanied by some fruit and/yoghurt. Fruit juice or water.
DinnerChicken nuggets, quick and easy oven pizza, stir fry, toasted sandwiches
SnackFruit, vegetable sticks, yoghurt
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No, I´m happy with preparing almost anything.
How do you handle a crying baby?
I would know if he had eaten or not so the first point of call would to check if he needs a diaper change or if anything is irritating him, or perhaps if he needs a burp. I would then otherwise soothe the child.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
To insure the child's safety is the number one responsibility.
Are you comfortable with changing diapers?Yes. I have had to change diapers before.
 Have you ever had to sterilize bottles before?Yes
 Can you prepare meals for infants?Yes, I can cook food for infants from veg.
 Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes
 Are you capable of looking after twins?I haven't done this before, but I have looked after multiple children before so I feel confident I could do so.
Have you ever had to care for more than 1 child at a time under the age of 2?
No
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I have never had to potty train before.
 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Barney, cartoon network, cool cats. I would say a max of 20 minutes for children aged 0 to 3 and not longer than an hour for older children. 
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in a clients home and/or take our chilrend to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes, not a problem.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I currently stay with my mom. I´ve got 2 older siblings, a brother(35) and sister(40),both married with kids. We are a close-knit family and spend most weekends together either picnicing, braaiing or just visiting. I value family time as it is very important to me.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.