Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Bonita Ann

Personal Details

Reference # 201-68201
Name Bonita Ann
Nationality South African
Age 45
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st) / Afrikaans (Basic)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Yaris
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1993

Education

Secondary Education
The Wykeham Collegiate Pietermaritzburg- 1992
Tertiary Education

Christina Martin School of Food & Wine - Chef diploma - 1993.

Educare Marina da Gama: Educare Diploma in Au pair & First Aid - 2016 

First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2016 - June 2016. No longer fee-sable for the family
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Twin Girls aged 11 1 Older Girl 13
What were your duties?Collection From School Extra Mural activities collection too and from assisting with Homework Delegating and informing both parents of children in the afternoon
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJanuary 2001 - December 2003 I went back to working on my culinary skills.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boy aged 7 Girl aged 9
What were your duties?Live - In Au Pair Getting Ready for School in the Morning & breakfast Collection from school and lifting to extra mural activities Playing, arts & crafts, baking, taking out to outings. Preparing evening dinner for them and bathing before parents come home.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingFebruary 1998 - December 2000 Moved To Cape Town.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children. Girls Aged 7 & 13
What were your duties?Collecting from School , and lifting to extra mural activities. Assistance with Homework. preparation of meals.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 1998.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved Children from a very young age. Together with my culinary experience I have wanted to expand my time to assisting children. I am a single mother to a boy of 9 years old and would like to assist other children to reach there full potential as I have with my son.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From Birth up to 14 Years
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Walking, yoga, reading, music, crafts, baking & traveling to new places.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Watching them grow & learn and become young adults in the world. They see life in a total different way from adults. I enjoy spending time with young children.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Swimming, Arts & Crafts, Baking, Outdoor Play, Messy Play, reading, taking to outings . Spending time learning and exploring.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the severity of the emergency I would call the ambulance first, if necessary administer CPR until the ambulance/paramedics arrive . If it is a minor injury I would contact the doctor and take them immediately. Once I have the medical bookings in place I will then contact both parents and advise them that the situation has been taken care of and they can meet me at the hospital or doctors room. If a minor emergency I will keep them informed at all times.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?When a sister and brother where fighting and he bit her on the arm. I bit him back on his arm (not hard) but it hurt so he could see what it felt like and I sent him to time out, called both parents and advised them what had happened, and he was only allowed to leave the room once he had apologized to his sister for hurting her.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe it depends on the age of the child & severity of what has happened. Time out or a quiet corner where they can sit for a while and think of what they have done. Remove there favorite item until they have realized what has been done. It also depends on the parents requirements and what they implement as this must be carried through the day because children like routine.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?

a.) If they are lying on the floor I would walk away not too far and see if they have a reaction to this. If they notice they are not getting attention they will discontinue

b.) I would call them aside and tell them that this is not acceptable, and they must remain in time out until they can be nice again. If they are in a public place I will take them to the car until they can behave and I will obviously be watching them.

A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would make them assist me in scrubbing the wall with a sponge until the marks are removed and phone the parents and make them apologize.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Remove Cell Phone/ Any items they enjoy until it is completed. Set aside specific time until activities and outings can commence , if they don't want to do homework no luxuries will be given back until such time and the parents will be informed.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group from birth to 14 years old.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Not at the moment . But I still have good relationships with my past employers.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?Yes I do he is 9 years old, and on the autism spectrum. He attends Vera School in Rondebosch and is a weekly boarder. In holidays I do have assistance should I need to work.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Pleasant Outgoing manner, caring towards others. Friendly. Very understanding & loving towards children of any age group. I feel I also come from a place of experience & understanding should the child battle with certain things and have extreme patience.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled Egg Soldiers grilled tomato & baby mushrooms
Lunchhomemade chicken nuggets with cheese & cucumber/carrot Sticks
DinnerSpaghetti bolognaise & baby vegetables
Snackboiled egg, ham, cucumber rice cakes hummus
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?

None at all I am a qualified Chef.

 How do you handle a crying baby?One needs to find out what is wrong. The baby could be hungry, tired, teething or have a dirty nappy. I will settle  the baby gently in my arms or give medication or a bottle depending on the situation. I will apply teething gel for teething problems.
 What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Safety first then guidance, friendship, role model and setting boundaries in a happy space.
 Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes I am.
 What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?

Fun activities, messy play, basic baking, drawing, imaginary play at a level the child can cope with.
 How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?

Call them aside, in a nice voice say this is not nice behavior hold them if necessary let them calm down and remove them from the situation if is difficult for them to calm down.
 How do you feel potty training should be approached?When the child is ready. It must be made fun and not traumatic. Make a reward cart for all successful tries.
 What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?Activity and outside play is very important for a child's well being.
 What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Imaginary play, puzzles, read- a- long, at the level they can cope with, building blocks.
 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Depending on the variety of the situation they will get a warning and time out will be implemented depending on the child's age. Or their favorite item will be removed until they can behave.
 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Disney, Barney, friendly cartoons. educational dvd's like clamber club.
 How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

3 afternoons per week Monday, Wednesday, Friday. limited to one short movie of there choice on each of these days.
 Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I often take children out to active engagements and organized sleep overs and play dates.
 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes I am.
 Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?

Yes I am.
 Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes I am.
 What kind of outings would you organise for the children?

Excursions to the beach, aquarium, world of birds. Taking them to something they have a keen interest in.
 Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I am and have done so many times.
 Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes absolutely. I will rather be early than late. 
 What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?

Reading, creative writing, baking, art, outdoor activities swimming, fetch ball, etc. 
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I reside with my Mom in Hout Bay. My mom is retired but we have a family business.  I have 2 older step brothers who live in Natal, and my younger brother is married and lives in Somerset West he has a  young daughter of 10 months. Have uncles & aunts also residing in Cape town. My real father passed away when I was newly born and my mother re-married. My stepfather passed away 3 years back. I am part of a loving family. I am divorced 8 years and mom to a son of 9 years old, on the special needs spectrum. He attends school in Rondebosch and is a weekly boarder. I have assistance with him in the holidays.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.