Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Sheena

Personal Details

Reference # 201-67974
Name Sheena
Nationality South Africa
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans(2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Renault Clio 2004
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2016

Education

Secondary Education
Belhar Secondary High School: 2006
Tertiary Education
Early Childhood Development – Educare – N4 - N6: Northlink College -2010
First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2010- Oct 2010 College In service (Practical) while studying.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Both genders, six months to five years. between 10 -20 children
What were your duties?Sometimes I would help the teacher set up lessons, sometimes I planned and gave lessons myself and I supervised outside play.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2011 -August 2012, the baby girl I was looking after was going to creche and I got a job on a cruise ship and had to prepare for joining the ship.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One girl aged 18months
What were your duties?I was her nanny, kept her stimulated educationally, fed her, bathed her and kept her happy.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2011- June 2011 ( in service practical)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?30 children of both genders between the age of four and five
What were your duties?I helped set up classes, planned some classes myself, supervised outside play.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2013-2016
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Children of all ages and genders, in groups of varying sizes.
What were your duties?I was on the youth team of the Camp Carnival staff. We had to run and plan scheduled activities for the children and deal with the reception and admin work, customer services and guest relations. We also had to plan and execute parties.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2012
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always had a way with children and I loved to see the look on their faces when they did something new or to have a friendship with an amazing child with a fantastic personality. Children have so much to give, sometime they even teach me a thing or two. I am trying all fields of childcare and this is the next step and when I feel I am ready I  would like to go into teaching.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Reading and writing. Ive started taking up exercising again and since it is spring, I am taking walks and hikes and swimming.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Being fun and silly.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Arts and crafts, outdoor play, bowling.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?It would depend on what kind of emergency it is, if its a fire I would remove the child from the area and call the fire department. If its a small fire I would remove the child from the area and try and put it out. If the child is injured I would do basic first aid if it is not serious, if its a serious injury I would secure the child, call a medical response team, then call the parents and let them know. In any emergency I would ensure the child's safety first before calling for help and then inform the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?There was a fire in my department and we had to evacuate the children which me and my team did in an orderly manner.
What is your approach to discipline?Its not my place to discipline the child, I will inform the parents after the incident and leave it to them to pick out the best method of discipline but in the mean time I will talk to the child and try to understand why they acted the way they did. Children often act out in anger or frustration or for attention and making sure you find out the reason without shouting or showing disappointment will only affect their self esteem.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would approach the child calmly and in a gentle voice talk to the child to find out why they are throwing the tantrum and find a solution together while making the child understand that there is another way to get their wants and needs heard.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Explain to the child calmly that drawing on the wall is not allowed and provide them with a page to draw on, if they still want to draw on the wall ask the child if it would be better if you stick the page on the wall so that you can keep their art for a collection.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Find out why the child does not want to do their homework and compromise, if that does not work barter. Complete your homework and you will get a reward, maybe like a few extra minutes of television or desert after dinner.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?Any age group will be fine with me.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I´m friendly, fun, sometimes silly, energetic, domestic, imaginative, playful, punctual.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastSmiley pancakes or egg cupcakes
LunchHot dogs or chicken salad sandwiches
DinnerMacaroni and cheese or fish and vegetables
SnackCarrot, celery sticks with dip or chicken nuggets and dip
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Anything, I can follow recipes easily.
How do you handle a crying baby?Pick up the child and try to find out why they are upset. Comfort and cuddle them and distract them with favourite toys.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
 

To keep the child safe and the environment around the child safe.
Are you capable of looking after twins?

Yes I am very capable. I work well under pressure.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Toy time, reading sing-a-longs, play dough, hand painting, arts and crafts. Stimulating them with age appropriate toys and activities.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?Approach the child calmly, ask them what is wrong, speak in a calm voice and if nothing helps, remove the child to a safe place.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?You have to ask them constantly ask them if they have to go and let them sit regularly on the potty.If they have an accident I do not make a big deal about it I just reassure them.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?It is very important to learn to share and interact socially. out -door play is crucial for their development.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Reading, singing ABC's and counting, catching balls for hand and eye co-ordination.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?

I make them understand the consequences of wrong actions. I am loving but firm.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?TV shows that are short can be spread out through the day. I like interactive educational programms like Dora explorer and Peppa Pig.I do not approve of too much television.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love interacting with them and am comfortable working with a big group of children.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?

I am comfortable helping children with their home work and help revising what they have learned.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes I will wait for them, watch, cheer and support them.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?

I would go to the beach or the park, to the zoo, aquarium and other fun and educational places.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?I can  bake and cook with them, play charades, board games like "heads up". Foster the childrens' interests and help them with their hobbies.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I believe in healthy and nutritious lunches.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes very.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I have two younger sisters and three step brothers, my father is a draftsman, my mother is a teacher. My step mother is a nurse, one of my step brothers is a chef. We are pretty close, I pride myself of being around to take care of them even when they think I am being a bit bossy but I love them. Family will always be there for one another.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.