Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Lyndsay Ann

Personal Details

Reference # 201-67777
Name Lyndsay Ann
Nationality South African
Age 41
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st); Afrikaans( 3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Suzuki Jimny 2008
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1997

Education

Secondary Education
St Cyprians-1996
Tertiary EducationHeadstart Montessori NQF level5 - 2009
First aid Training?No

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2010- Dec 2013. I left to gain other experience.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Both boys and girls, aged from 3 to 6 years old, with an average of 25 per group.
What were your duties?Hout bay Montessori school. I was an assistant and then directress. Toilet training, documentation and setting up the classes etc.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingAugust to December 2014. It was a short term contract.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One 12 year old girl
What were your duties?Live in au pair position: Managing the house, Looking after the girl and stimulating her with activities that were fun and educational inside and on outings. Helping her with homework and projects.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2013- Sept 2013
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Adults both genders
What were your duties?I had to facilitate group discussions where goals and life stories where shared. I had to oversee meals and written work, monitor clients behaviour, assist with admissions, maintain good communication between counselors and clients. Write up reports and reception and administrative work. I also did yoga classes with the clients.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leaving2010- and ongoing
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Aging animals
What were your duties?Care of aging animals and house sitting.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs
West Coast
Stellenbosch

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm
12pm-6pm
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2007
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?Through a partner of mine that was an au pair. I thought it was amazing. I started working at a Montessori school as an assistant and ended up doing the course for directress.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Photography. yoga. project manage for an eco village initiative, gardening , music, swimming, knitting, read. I love adventures in my for by four. Massage.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love being able to connect on the child like level. I like nurturing. I love to see the children grow and learn and play.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I like outdoor activities, gardening, exploration walks, music, reading and dancing. I like teaching them with the materials available and baking is fun.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would stay calm and ask for help from the right professionals and then the parents.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I had a problem child in my class with serious anger issues, who threw the chair across the classroom. I remained calm and called his mom in and asked her to remove him. I calmed the children down. I got in a child psychologist and sometimes I had to send him home to keep the class calm.
What is your approach to discipline?Clear boundaries. Assertive but fair. Open to problem solving and talking things through. Focusing on emotional intelligence.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would not give the tantrum attention. Be there and say some simple words to help the child with language. Ride its wave and look at distracting with another activity.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will recognize his need for creative expression and then supply other art materials like chalks to draw on the side walk outside.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Question what the homework is, what they are busy with and offer my help. Ask him what is it that you want to do now and then come back to the home work.
Which age groups are you most  comfortable working with?I love working with children of any age group.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I love exploration and creativity.I like to live mindful in the moment.I love challenges and the adventure it brings. I thrive on gardening, growing and cooking pure food. I love knitting and playing the piano. I am a religious believer in astrology. I am deeply moved by music and like to express myself through song and dance. I like writing. I am inspired by the theatre, film, art, my teachers, best friends, my parents, the children and elderly of the world and Madiba.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastOats, eggs, toast,
LunchSandwich, salad, jacket potato
DinnerRice, pasta soup and vegetables, mostly vegetarian.
SnackCrackers, fruit cheese, vegetable sticks, yoghurt
 Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Tripe
 How do you handle a crying baby?Pick it up, comfort and check for basic needs. Play music and take a walk around the garden.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
Safety and a safe environment.
Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes I had three sets of twins in one class.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
Blocks, water and other sensory stimulation and sound and touch.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I would explain we are in a public place and that there are other people to consider. We can talk about it if the child calms down and if he is too wound up  we would leave.
 How do you feel potty training should be approached?

Easily. With little fun, no pressure and curiosity.
 What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?

It is very important for children to play outside and with their peers to learn to share and for social interaction and development on all levels.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?

Puzzles, blocks, nursery rhymes, song and dance and reading. Fun activities with water and sand and basic baking and arts and crafts.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Clear boundaries spoken. Positive reinforcement and problem solving with the child..
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?I do not believe in TV. Maybe some educational viewing for at most half an hour.
Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes.
 re you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes up to 12 years.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?

Yes within reason to the amount of children and the time they are spending there.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes I will stay with them.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?
Walks, nature walks, aquarium and clay cafe and other activities.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?

Puzzles, read books, building things, art and foster their interests.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My parents are retired. Mom used to work for a law firm. My dad had his own construction business. My brother is a businessman and married with one son. We are all very close.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.