Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Monet

Personal Details

Reference # 201-67491
Name Monet
Nationality South African
Age 27
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages Afrikaans(1st) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Black, Mazda 3 Dynamic sport (2010)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2010

Education

Secondary Education
Uplands College- White River - 2010
Tertiary Education
BEd Early Childhood Development and Foundation Phase - University of Pretoria - 2015
First aid TrainingYes, valid until March 2018

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingAu-Pair from 2011-2014 I left because I got my degree and started working full time.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Children, 1 Girl (10) and 1 Boy (7)
What were your duties?Fetch children from school. Drive to afternoon activities, assist with homework and studying and occasional babysitting.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingStarted January 2016, Currently working there
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Grade R, 23 children in a class on average, mixed genders
What were your duties?Planning and presenting Grade R Lessons, assisting with afternoon and weekend sport activities

 

 

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingStarted in August 2014, currently still do babysitting for this clients
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One 2 year old boy.
What were your duties?Bath, feed him, play with him, read bedtime stories, etc and put him to bed.

 

 

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingStarted in August 2016 and currently still does baby sitting for Tanja
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One child, a 1 year old girl
What were your duties?Feeding, bathing, playing and putting  the child to bed

 

 

Areas & Availability

Areas

PRETORIA
Pretoria East
Pretoria Central and West
Pretoria Centurion

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full time
Negotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been caring for children professionally since 2011. I started in a daycare centre, then au-paired for a year and now I am a  Grade R Teacher.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I have always loved spending time with children and have been babysitting since High School. I love my job as a teacher and would like to earn an extra income in my free time.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 Months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy a hobby called "Postcrossing" where I send postcards around the world and receive postcards from around the world. I cherish time with my family a great amount.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?My favorite part about working with children is seeing the enormous growth over time. Their innocence and honesty often give me giggles.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love doing art activities and getting dirty. If not possible I enjoy activities where they can experience achievement. (Puzzle Building)
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?I would immediately call for help and depending on the situation either assist using First Aid or transport the child to the nearest hospital.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?In the beginning of 2016, On the first day of school, the one little boy started screaming, and wouldn't stop, he refused to come into the class. I didn't know his name as it was the first day of school and he was a Zulu speaker. I eventually got one of the children to call another teacher, to find a Zulu speaking teacher. We then talked to him until he calmed down.
What is your approach to discipline?I use firm but loving discipline. I set my boundaries and stick to them but always make sure the children know that I am punishing/correcting their actions and not that I do not love/like them as a person anymore.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to comfort them, if this does not work I will leave them to tantrum until they calm down.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?Give them paper. (Even maybe stick it on the wall)
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?Provide an incentive, for example, 20 minutes outside play. (Not a toy or something to eat).
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?I prefer pre-school and Foundation Phase children.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Yes, occasionally for Aletta van Heerden.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?Outgoing, strict in terms of discipline, willing to go the extra mile. I can be short termpered. Fun. I give. I am quiet until you get to know me, loyal, always willing to go further. I am conservative.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs on Toast or Yogurt and muesli
LunchSandwich
DinnerChicken breast with vegetables and cheese sauce
SnackBiltong, provitas
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?I don't eat fish myself but I am happy to cook it.
How do you handle a crying baby?I remain calm. I would keep the child close and soothe them, patting and rocking them.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?My primary responsibility is their safety.
Are you comfortable with changing diapers?Yes, no trouble with this.
Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before?No, but I know how to do it.
 Can you prepare meals for infants?
Yes, I can make babyfood from scratch.
 Have you ever bathed an infant before?Yes. I am comfortable with bathing infants.
Are you capable of looking after twins?No, I wouldn't feel comfortable as I havent experienced this before.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?I love puzzles, I understand their value. I love things that develop fine motor skills like shape matching etc.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I only like the channel CBB's, which is for small children. I don't agree with children watching TV at such a Young age, we normally will just play.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes, up until around Gr. 7.
Are you willing to supervise friends of a family children who are invited to the home while you are in charge?Yes.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years oldDepending on the child, I love going for walks, playing cricket, tennis, I enjoy being outside. Drawing, I enjoy baking with them, playing games, I find children of this age range enjoy playing on their tablets as well.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?My Father is a Quantity Surveyor, my Mother is an Artist and my Sister is completing her degree in Information Design. We are an extremely close family and enjoy dinner around a table every evening.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.