Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Marian Rose

Personal Details

Reference # 201-67065
Name Marian Rose
Nationality South African
Age 63
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages English (1st) Afrikaans (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Ford Figo 2010 (last road worthied 2010, serviced in 2015 (2016)
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?1978

Education

Secondary Education
Maurice Secretrial College Wynberg - 1974
Tertiary Education
Elf Montessori Pre-Primary-(Ages 3 to 6 years old) NQF Level 5
First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingApril 2010 - Feb 2014, The older one went to university and my services were no longer required.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two girls, aged 12 and 17 years old.
What were your duties?I worked for them five days a week, I would collected the children from school, I would prepare them lunches. I would start dinner for the family before the mom came home. 
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingJan 2016 - present
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?I am working in an assistant teacher capacity, caring and teaching 30 children aged 3 to 6 years
What were your duties?I get in at 7h00, I prepare the classroom, insuring that all the activities are out for the children, I assist in serving breakfast, we then do a 3 hour cycle of activities, assisting for the duration with any child that requires assistance, they would then have a snack at 11, we would then do circle time, followed by playtime, I would then assist in serving lunch. After lunch some of the children would go home, and those that remain have a nap.They then have playtime with a snack at around 2 or 3. The children are then collected by around 5 or 6pm.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Northern Suburbs
West Coast

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm          
12pm-6pm          
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?In a personal capacity I have 30 years of experience. I started working with children in a professional capacity in April 2012.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children, and I do not have grandchildren yet.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?From 2 1/2 years old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy cooking. I love reading and art. I enjoy drawing.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?To stimulate the child from a young age, watching them grow. 
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I love circle time, to see their expressions and expressing them selves, showing them activities. I enjoy doing fine motor development exercises, teaching them to cutting, baking, making pizza for example.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If the child needed to get to hospital and was movable I would take the child myself, otherwise I would call 10111 for the closest fire department to assist.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I haven't had a situation I couldn't handle.
What is your approach to discipline?I believe in teaching children manners. I prefer not to pay attention to negative behaviors and rather insure the child is occupied and busy, I reward positive behaviors.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would remain calm and then provide a distraction.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would get the child to assist me to clean it and then provide an alternative, possibly sticking a paper on the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?This is not a situation I have yet encountered.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 to 6 years old as my training is these groups.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am still working at Starfish Montessori (July 2016).
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have 3 sons, They were born in 1978, 1985, and 1989.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I would say I am hard working, I am patient and calm. 
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastCereal, scrambled egg and toast
Lunchpasta, spaghetti bolognaise, fish fingers (if they eat them), tea,
Dinnerbrown stew, baked chicken, roasts, salads, etc.
Snackfruit snacks
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I have 3 sons, my oldest son is manager of IT for SAB in Johannesburg, the middle son is a facilitator and my youngest is on a learnership course to work as an insurer for Sanlam. I have been married for 39 years, he had a plumbing business. Sadly he suffered from a triple bypass and a heart attack. Thankfully he is still up and around and capable of looking after himself.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.