Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Justine

Personal Details

Reference # 201-66796
Name Justine
Nationality South African
Age 23
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages IsiZulu (1st) English(2nd) Afrikaans(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate? Expired. Is going to redo Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes Serviced Aug 2015
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Chevrolet Spark 2015
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2015

Education

 

Where did you attend highschool? La Salle Collage. 2014
What was your passrate for Matric? 69%
Have you completed any other studies?If yes, what courses are you busy with or have you completed? Book Keeping Course through ICB. Foundation Phase Programme through Monash. First Aid Course
First aid Training? Yes. Expired. Will Redo

 

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving Feb 2015- Feb 2016 Distance to travel was extensive
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? 2 girls aged 14 & 15
What were your duties? Tutored Maths, accounting and science
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving Started 2010 till current
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started? Ranges from groups in sizes of 25-50. Grades 1-7. Boys & girls.
What were your duties?Play groups. Play interactive games. Read stories and role play. Prepare and give snacks to children. Supervise while parents are out. 
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full time 
 Fully negotiable. Including baby sitting after hours or weekends.
Part time  R80/hr. Excluding baby sitting after midnight.

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?8 years. I have been working with children professionally since 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting? I got involved in child care through my church. I council children and set up youth camps and groups for them. I realized that I'm very passionate over children of all ages. I connect well with them and find they open up to me easily. I am very excited and love making a difference in a child's life and being a role model. I love the look of delight on their faces when they learn something interesting or new and knowing that I educated them in that way.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?I've worked with babies from 3 & 4 month old babies on a full time basis.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I enjoy the outdoors. Love hiking, walking, gardening at my home, reading and cooking.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?
 Activities: ball sports, swimming, playing on a trampoline, crafts, playing on their bikes, building puzzles. Drawing with them, board games or Twister, putting on concerts and fancy dress shows with make up for girls.  Creating toys that the kids can play with or helping them make toys, puppets, paper crowns, cards for their parents. Outings: wall climbing and horse riding.

11month: tummy time, wheel barrow, show pictures in books with many colours, play with shiny toys and different textures eg: clay and jellies and course salt and fine sand. Climbing. Would take the child to a park for entertainment.

3 year old: Creative arts. Make cardboard toys and pictures. Love baking with them and involving them with the process. Love using whiteboards, trampoline and swimming in summer, ball kicking and bubbles. Role playing and fancy dress parties. Make bath time fun as well. Outing: parks, and animal farms where they can feed the animals etc.

5 year old: Story telling, reading to them, crafts and lots of outdoor play.  Building puzzles, snakes & ladders, role playing, swinging and tug-o-war. Experimenting with different foods and visual experiences e.g: fire tucks, police cars in a sand pit. Girls and Barbies. Doctor doctor. Lots of doll playing. Outings,  bike parks, zoos,rock climbing.

10 year old: Cycling, walking around the block, hiking, swimming, trampolining, ball sports eg: netball or soccer and cricket, hiking at Hennops , trips to museums. Hartebeesport dam. Help with homework and projects. 
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?The mother was also present, but the 3year old put a plastic gold bag that his toy clubs came in, onto a heater which caught alight. He started swishing it everywhere and his pants caught alight. We managed to douse the fire and the scorch was minimal, but applied burn ointment immediately. The child got a fright and was scared but otherwise the boy was fine.
What is your approach to discipline?
 Depending on child's age and the offense- Id remove their favourite toy for a few minutes as punishment before explaining the wrong doing or why I'm removing their toy. If it's an older child and was really naughty, any treat like ice cream or a fun outing would be cancelled. I handle tantrums by letting the child have their tantrum, then calming them down and talking positively and explaining the right way to handle the situation.
 

How would you handle:

 
 A two year old having a tantrum?I would ignore the child until they have calmed down enough to talk to and them explain calmly why that is inappropriate behaviour and how they are supposed to behave.
 A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would remove the drawing materials and then I would explain that it's not the right thing to do and offer and option of a blackboard/ whiteboard or paper to draw on instead.
 An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would explain the value of doing the homework as well as the consequences at school or not having the work done.
 Which age groups are you comfortable working with? All age groups.
 Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones? Yes the Youth Group with the classes of between 25-50 kids.
 Do you have any children of your own? No
 Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself? I'm a self driven, motivated and determined person. I have good presentation and communication skills. I have been in 3 leadership roles and have the right qualities. I'm very passion about people and they open up to me easily- I have good people skills. 
 Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack) Yes
 Breakfast  Yoghurt, cereal, eggs and toast.
 Lunch Sandwich with a healthy filling, cheese, carrot slices. Toasted sandwiches. Cooked meal: speghetti, and soups with bread.
 Dinner Chicken and veggies with potatoes. Sausage and mash with gravy. Pie and a salad.
 Snack Carrot & cucumber sticks, viennas, cheese wedges, biltong or nuts and fruit.
 Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking? No
 Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My Mom is a Project Manager and a loving, warm and very caring person. She is my role model. She loves fitness. My Dad is a Service Manager. He is caring and stern and enforces good behaviour and believes in manners and discipline. I have a younger sister 14yrs old. She's energetic and very talented musically.
  

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.