Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Elsje

Personal Details

Reference # 201-66753
Name Elsje
Nationality South African
Age 25
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans (1st),English (2nd), Xhosa(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)VW Gold TDI
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2012

Education

Secondary Education
Tygerberg High-2012
Tertiary Education

UWC-BioScience-2013-2014.

SATS-Bachelors degree in Theology: 2015-2018

First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2014-2016. She is leaving on maternity leave soon and won´t require an Au Pair for the next year.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children, little girl age 6 months and boy age 18 months
What were your duties?Looking after them during work hours, preparing lunch, study lessons for boy age 3, walks to the park, etc.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingBabysat for them over a period of 2 years. 2010-2012
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 children girl age 1 year, boy aged 2 years
What were your duties?Babysitting
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm      
12pm-6pm      
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am            

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2006
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?It is easiest to do with my part time studies. And I have a natural passion for children and as youth pastor see them as my calling.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?6 months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I am a full time volunteer at Hillsong Church for the youth department. My husband and I are the youth pastors of Hillsong Gugulethu. I have been a youth leader for 5 years and cannot imagine my life otherwise.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I love being able to invest into their future and watching them grow into their fullest potential.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Adventures to the park, building forts and playing on imagination, colouring.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Follow steps of first aid (if necessary) Get to a safe place. Phone the parents and necessary authorities.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?The little boy I was looking after fell down two of the garden steps and hit his head against a rock. It immediately started swelling so I told the caretaker of the house to call the ambulance and I called the mother.
What is your approach to discipline?I don´t believe in hitting children, but helping them see the right things through loving them.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I would let him finish his tantrum and not give any attention to it, and when he is calm try and explain to him why it was wrong and maybe find a fun middle ground for him.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would talk to him/her calmly and explain why it was wrong and then have them help me clean the wall so they can see how to take responsibility for their actions. I will then give them art materials to express themselves creatively.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework? If the child is tired we will take a break and then try again. I will motivate him and tell him why he should do his homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with? From newborn to age 13.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?I am currently still working for Rachael, but I am available to start at the end of June. I am also still babysitting on the odd occasion for Lizaan.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself? I am passionate about my religion and love my work at the church and I absolutely love children. I do respect others view on religion and spirituality though. I am very energetic and athletic and like playing ball games and sports. I am interested in Sience and studied it for a while and hope to complete my degree when I am financially able to do so.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs and mini tomatoes, rolled up ham and toast. Maybe Oats.
LunchCheese and ham and fruit and crackers and healthy sandwiches.
DinnerFried chicken with vegetables and potatoes and pasta dishes.
SnackFruit and crackers and yogurt.
 Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No.
 How do you handle a crying baby?I will pick her up and soothe her. I will tend to her basic needs and see if she needs anything. I will contact the parent if I think the child is ill.
 What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?

Safety of the child and her environment. And quick reaction time.
 Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes I will feel comfortable because the two I am looking after now is very close in age.
 What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will do basic puzzles, building blocks and age appropriate games.  I will read to them.
 How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will wait the tantrum out and calm him down and take him out. I will take the child to a safe place and remove him out of the location.
 How do you feel potty training should be approached?

I take an alarm and every time the alarm goes off we went to the bathroom and every time he made something he got a star on a reward chart. Now that the child is using the toilet, I make the time longer.
 What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?

It is of paramount importance. I take the children to the park regularly to interact with other toddlers too interact and get rid of energy.
 What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Painting and colouring and tracing and sticker books and clay and lego blocks. Cycling, hoola hoops and jungle gym activities.
 What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 

I will give time out to let the child calm down and then give him a chance to apologize after telling him what he  did wrong.
 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
 How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
No longer than an hour. Usually just for a settling time. Educational cartoons. Interactive programs like Dora explorer and Mickey mouse club house.
 Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I am very comfortable with that. I love taking part actively in sports and games with children and always think socializing for peers is beneficial.
 Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?I am comfortable to help children up to 13 with their home work. I tutored my sisters child. I absolutely love science and maths and are comfortable doing these kinds of subjects with children.
 What kind of outings would you organize for the children?

I would take them to groups where they can play. I will take them to fun and educational places like the aquarium and museums, the beach, the zoo etc.
 What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?I will foster interests and hobbies and do fun and educational projects with them. We will play board games and read when the whether is not appropriate for outside games.
 Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?I am very organized and punctual and can stay calm and act appropriately in a crisis situation.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are three children of which I am the youngest. I have a sister who have two children and a brother with two children and they are both in the IT business. My parents are divorced and still on good terms with each other. We are very close. We have regular family gatherings. I got married in March this year.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.