Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Annelie

Personal Details

Reference # 201-66698
Name Annelie
Nationality Republic of South Africa
Age 32
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Afrikaans (1st) English (1st)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Polo Classic 2004 1.6 Hatch
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Elan Private School - 2005
Tertiary Education

Health and Skincare - Potchefstroom Academy - 2 year diploma - 2006 - 2007

Make-up Artistry- Hydro International Collage - 1 year diploma - 2009

First aid TrainingI will be completing the course shortly.

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving1 Oct 2012 - 20 Dec 2012 Reason for leaving; Temporary Contract in the Nelspruit Area, the client moved to Rustenburg.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 Child, Dystonia Cerebral palsy, teenager, 13 year old girl.
What were your duties?I would start at 8am and stay until 2pm. She needed physical stimulation. I had to assist with schooling. She couldn't remember a lot of information at a time, so this formed a very small part of the day. I did a lot of exercises with her and swam with her. I also took Anuscha to the Therapists. Making sure that therapy is done at home. Seeing that Anuscha is kept busy during normal school hours.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leavingSeptember 2015- February 2016 Reason for leaving. Contract ended and Au pair service was no longer needed because the mother no longer worked, she has since started working again, however they cannot afford an afternoon Au pair anymore.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?2 Girls, Age 9 and 8 years old.
What were your duties?I would start at 1pm collecting children from their schools.  I would take them home provide lunch, assist with homework. The oldest child had both epilepsy and ADD so assistance with homework was essential. We would then play games or I would drive them to their afternoon activities. Supervising homework; and supervising until one of the parents got home.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingMarch 2016- current (intend to continue long term, afternoon role)
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boy and Girl Age 7 and 11 years.
What were your duties?Collecting children from school at 13h30pm. Preparing lunch before homework. Driving them to their afternoon activities. Soccer, Piano lessons, Ballet Supervising and assisting with homework and extra projects. Also do extra fun things: Like Arts and Crafts, Educational games. Baking and play roles as Professional Chefs. Waiting, playing and reading with them until one of the parents gets home.
  

Reference 4:

Period and reason for leavingJuly 2011 - September 2011 Commission Based, moved on to a job that could offer a better salary
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Mostly the smaller children, 3 years of age , small classes, 4-7 children at a time, mixed genders
What were your duties?Computer training, taking them to the toilet
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

JOHANNESBURG
Johannesburg East Rand
Johannesburg Sandton
Johannesburg Central
PRETORIA
Pretoria Centurion
MIDRAND
Midrand

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm    
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?I have been involved in childcare professionally 2013.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I relocated from Nelspruit and did not want to go back to Corporate lifestyle. Sitting in an office, did not fulfill my passions. I decided I would like to make the move to Au pair assistance to any family that is in need of  an Au pair, babysitter or pet sitter. I knew I could be a great Au pair because of my love for children, animals and the outdoors.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?It was my friend's baby 3 months old and it was only to help her. Professionally the youngest was 18 months old.
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Currently I own a Pekingese Kennel- Pabloven Pekingese Kennel, (Facebook) (Registered breeder) Photography (Wedding and Wild Life) Make-up Artistry, Dancing, Movies, Arts and Crafts (Painting or DIY Things to make)
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?The children look up to you, you are their role model in every aspect, so being the adult you have to interpret their way of seeing the world the way they see and describe it to you. You can help them be amazing, because you already made mistakes in the past. you can be part of assisting and teaching them the right way and be proud of how they pursue life and happiness.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Going on outings like Bounce, Avalanche, Movies and Arcades. I enjoy homework time as well. My absolute favorite is to do creative things like making or baking things from scratch or arts and crafts. They always have a blast.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depends on how serious or what the emergency may be. If it's an injury or stroke/heart attack or fire ect. First call 911 Provide details- name, location and what type of emergency. I would stay on the phone for instructions and move the patient only if danger is imminent. Then i would notify the parents - if patient/child is stable or you are waiting for ambulance to come.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?Tantrums was the most difficult one, but I calmly bend down to their level look them straight in the eyes asked what the problem is and explain to them in a patient and kind manner -what they are doing, is not right.
What is your approach to discipline?I address the issue in a calm but firm voice.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will bend down to their level look them straight in the eyes approach them with a firm voice and inquire why are they so mad or sad? I'll explain to them in a patient and kind manner but with a firm voice once again. -what they doing, is not right.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I'll take away the crayon or pen. asked them why do they do it, and explain to them they will clean it and rewarding them- give them lots of paper to draw pictures and stick to the wall.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?One can't force them, but the ball is still in their court. They have to learn right and wrong by choosing themselves. If the homework is not done there are consequences for the next day. eg:Trouble with the Teacher. If the homework I'd done, the teacher is satisfied. There are also no issues at home and playtime can start.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From 3 months - 14 years.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?Anneleen Van Wyk
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No, not yet.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a friendly, passionate young woman. I enjoy the small things about life. I am dedicated to my work, my family and friends. I am trustworthy, patient and very responsible. I am an excellent driver and great listener. I am a problem solver and I like to make or create things from scratch. I am organized and professional I plan ahead and I observe before I make a decision.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastEggs, bacon, bangers, toast tomatoes
LunchWhole wheat wraps with butter chicken
DinnerRoast with mixed vegetables and couscous/ rice
SnackTuna salad or mixed salad.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Af-val, sushi, bran
How do you handle a crying baby?
I would pick the child up, see if they are hungry, check their diaper, and temperature.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?
The child's safety would be the main priority, then there physical needs.
Are you comfortable with changing diapers?
Yes, not a problem.
Have you ever had to sterilise bottles before?Yes, I have had to use the milton steriliser.
 Are you capable of looking after twins?Yes, I enjoy a challenge. I would like the opportunity to work with toddlers and infants. If I don't know something I will research how to do it.
 What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I do not think any TV shows are appropriate. I do not believe in TV at all. 
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.My husband is working in the concrete/slab market as a Sales Representative. My Mom has her own shop in Cape Town. My Gran is living with my mom in Cape Town. My Dad passed away in 2015 .My Brother is a Mechanical Engineer and living in Witbank. We are a very close family although we living far from each other. We stay connected.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.