Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Frances

Personal Details

Reference # 201-66661
Name Frances
Nationality South African
Age 23
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans (3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)2008 Ford Fiesta 1.4
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2014

Education

Secondary Education Epworth High School-2014
Tertiary Education
Chef and Patisserie diploma: Institute of Culinary Arts:2015-2017
First aid Training?Yes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leavingDuring 2015. I worked for Katie on and off when she needed me to help with her 4 children. I stopped working for her as she no longer needed my help and my academic schedule became very time consuming.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?4 children Ages 4 - 13 3 boys and 1 girl
What were your duties?I drove the kids to where they needed to be i.e; to surf lessons, ballet, back from school, put them to bed, made dinner, was there friend and just generally made sure they were cared for.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2015. She just needed me for occasional babysitting.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?1 girl 5 months. One boy 2 years.
What were your duties?I had to care for them and attend to all their needs while their parents were not there.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
City Bowl
Atlantic Seaboard
Southern Suburbs

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm            
12pm-6pm            
6pm-6am

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2015
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I started babysitting friends children. I am interested in babysitting and I love children and helping out parents with busy schedules, its also more feasible for me due to my varsity hours.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?Age 4
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I do a lot of sport, canoeing, cycling, running and yoga. I also cook and read books.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?Watching them grow and progress. Also being present to help them when their parents are not available.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?I enjoy doing sporty activities, playing games, teaching them how to cook/bake simple things, help them when learning for a test by making it fun.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Well this would depend on the type of emergency. For instance, if the child fell and potentially broke their arm, I would contact the parents and then depending on their response, either wait and give basic first aid or give basic first aid and take the child to the doctors rooms/emergency room. Also I would do this in a very calm and reassuring manner.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I have been fortunate enough to have only looked after fairly well behaved children. However I think the most challenging situation was dealing with 8 children all under the age of 10 at a sleep over, where one child fell and scraped his knee. I calmed him, got him cleaned up (performed first aid) and we all sat down to watch a movie so that everyone would slow down before bed time.
What is your approach to discipline?Discipline is entirely up to what the parents have decided upon. Therefore I will always ask what they do if the child needs to be "disciplined" and what they consider to be "bad" behavior. If achild is rude they must have a time out and been explained to why they need a time out. I believe in communicating with children and explaining why certain things are wrong.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Try to calm them down and find out why they are so upset (if not clear). Then I would talk to them and wait for them to calm down as bribery is not a great idea in these situations as it open leads to more tantrums.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I would ask them why they are doing it, ask them not to and give them paper to draw on, then I would clean the wall. If the child is very rude (as they sometimes may be) I would give them a time out of whatever "disciplined" agreed by the parents if need be. however this really depend on the child and the parents.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I would look at what homework they were doing, find out why they didn´t want to do it, offer my help to do it with them so that its fun and easier.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?3 - 12
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No I do not.
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No I do not.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a relaxed and level-headed individual. I am an outdoors type of person and can be very adaptable if need be.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes I am an excellent and professional cook.
Breakfastscrambled eggs on toast, Eggs Benedict with Hollandaise sauce, pancakes etc.
LunchI would make a cooked meal like a pasta dish, or some sandwhiches
DinnerA stir-fry, pan-fried fish,a casserole, risotto, homemade pizza etc.
SnackFruit or crackers with some cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?Not at all, Culinary School has taught me to appreciate all foods.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.I am from Howick, KZN and an only child. My parents have been married for over 20 years. Both parents work for themselves, my dad is in transport and my mum is a caregiver. I feel I have lived a fairly privileged life and have been fortunate to attend wonderful private schools. We are close and enjoy each other's company.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.