Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Cherise

Personal Details

Reference # 201-66355
Name Cherise
Nationality South African
Age 31
Gender Female
Marital Status Single
Languages English (1st), Afrikaans(3rd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
No
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Opel Corsa chill 2002
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2008

Education

Secondary Education
Estcourt High School-2005
Tertiary Education
Unisa- Bsc in Information Systems- 2012-2016
First aid Training?No

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2014-2015 - Au pair program ended
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Boy - 4 years Boy - 2 years Boy - newborn
What were your duties?Driving the boys to and from school, play dates and extramural activities. Making breakfast lunch and occasionally dinner for the boys Bathing and grooming boys daily Supervising play dates and playtime Playing with the boys, indoors and outdoors Supervision while watching TV or playing with devices such as tablets. Administering medication to boys as requested by parents. Updating parents on how each day went and on various activities done throughout the day.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2012. The grandmother moved in with the family and looked after the children.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?Two boys. 7 and 11 years old.
What were your duties?Being an au pair and all it entails.
  

Reference 3:

Period and reason for leavingFor the year 2013. The family relocated.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One boy aged 3 and one girl, newborn.
What were your duties?I had to assist the mom with general care taking of the children.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am    

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm  
12pm-6pm  
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2011
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I would occasionally do baby sitting as a teenager and young adult. I then applied to become an au pair in New York for a year. I am interested in it, as it is a nice way to earn money, I enjoy caring for kids, and I am good at it.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?3 months
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?I love traveling, and doing fun outdoor activities like hiking, bungee jumping and horse riding. I also love reading, studying and watching TV and movies.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a child's life?I love influencing them to be the best they can be. I love watching them learn new things and making new milestones such as learning to use the potty, reading and writing or tying a shoelace.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Arts and Crafts - Baking - Face painting - Playing sport
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?Depending on the situation, If the child needs to be taken to the hospital, I would first check to see what the problem is, e.g what sort of first Aid is needed.After administering the necessary first aid, I will put the child in the car, and before leaving, I will call the parents to let them know about the situation and possibly meet them at the hospital. If the matter is not as serious I will first call the parents, then the doctors office as specified by parents, and ask for general advice on what steps to take next.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?I once had a punctured tyre on my way to fetch 2 boys from day camp. The stressful part of it was that I had a new born baby with me, who needed to be back home at a certain time for his next feed. I managed to park the car in the parking lot, call the parents who called the AA service to fix the tyre. All this took a lot of time and I had to look after 2 very active boys in addition to a very hungry 3 month old. Luckily the dad managed to leave work and bring some emergency formula for the baby. I managed to drive all three boys home and get them settled in for the afternoon.
What is your approach to discipline?I like being strict when necessary but keep my tone loving and my actions constant. Consistency is key.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?Depending on the reason for the tantrum. If he misses his mum or dad, I will lovingly soothe him and get his mind off his parents by enticing him with a fun activity or yummy appropriate snack. If it is because he is not getting his way, I will be a bit more strict and tell him what the repercussions of him not calming down are, which is most likely the removal of a favourite activity, snack or toy.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will let the 5 year old know what he did is wrong and unacceptable. I might explain to him why it is wrong, e.g, he is damaging a beautiful wall, and he is only supposed to use crayons or pens on paper. He will then go to time - out for 5 minutes.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will encourage him/her to do his homework by explaining what the repercussions of not doing it are, and I will take away a favourite activity for the day, hoping he will use that as motivation to do his/her homework.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?All age groups, I do prefer between 3 - 11
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?No
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am a loyal, friendly and fun loving person. I love nature and outdoors, but at the same time I love being indoors, cooking watching t.v or reading a good book.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastScrambled eggs with toast, cheese and grilled tomato.
LunchHam and Cheese Sandwich with lettuce, tomato and sauce.
DinnerSpaghetti and meat balls with an Italian tomato base sauce.
SnackYogurt, banana and crackers with cream cheese.
Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking?No
How do you handle a crying baby?Try to soothe the baby, diagnose which basic need should be met. If the baby keeps on crying, check if the baby is maybe ill, notify the parents and get the proper medical treatment.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Make sure that the child is safe and all basic needs attended too. I will entertain them age appropriately.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?Reading, play music, dancing. I will play with toys like blocks and puzzles and get them to engage in the activities as well.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?In a public place I would probably just take them back to the car or home.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I think training pants helps because it gives them a sense of control, not depending so much on nappies.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?They learn a lot outside just playing in nature outside. it is important socializing with other children and learning to behave and be kind is important for their social development.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?The best would be puzzle building. Start teaching them to count and write their name.I would also do colouring with them.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?Time out works well. And use the amount of years they are for every minute they stay in time out.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?
I think cartoons and programs on the Disney channel is appropriate. Only one 15 minute program at a time. Maybe one before they go to school and another after dinner. The rest of the time I will occupy them with fun and educational age appropriate activities.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?Yes. I think I will be comfortable helping kids up to matric with their home work since I am academically inclined myself, although I would recommend a tutor if they need special attention with subjects like maths.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes I like children to participate in play dates.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes I will wait for them and fetch them on time.
What kind of outings would you organize for the children?I think the best would be zoo's and museums, taking them to a public swimming pool. I will look for interesting age appropriate activities that is happening in the community that I can take them to.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?I think I would do a lots of arts and crafts stuff with them and do interesting projects. i will play soccer and cricket with them outside.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I believe in healthy and nutritious eating habits.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes. I am very organized, disciplined and punctual.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?I come from a family of 5 members. My mom and dad owns a business in the construction industry. In addition to my mum and dad I have an older sister who is a lawyer and younger brother studies a B com in Law. My older sister is married with a 2 year old daughter. We love catching up as a family during special occasions and are always in close contact via phone calls and social media.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.