Sign in using e-mail address:

< Back to Listing

Venencia

Personal Details

Reference # 201-65709
Name Venencia
Nationality Zimbabwean
Age 34
Gender Female
Marital Status Married
Languages Shona (1st) English (2nd)

Requirements

1.Do you have at least 1 years child care experience with contactable references?Yes
2.Do you have your own reliable child safe vehicle (ie seat belts all round) and a valid South African driving license?Yes
3.Have you completed your Matric or Gr.12 equivalent?Yes
4.Do you hold a valid First Aid/CPR Certificate?
Yes
5.Is your criminal record clear (ie. no criminal record)?Yes
6.Are you in good health?Yes

Transport

Do you have a drivers license?Yes
If yes, do you have a vehicle?Yes
If yes, is your vehicle roadworthy?Yes
If yes, specify your transport (Specify year and model or public)Toyota Etios 2013 and Toyota Corolla 2009
Do you have seat belts all round?Yes
Have you ever been in an accident where you were driving and it was your fault?No
In what year did you obtain your driving license?2011

Education

Secondary Education
Mhuriimwe high school, Harare , Zimbambwe-2002
Tertiary Education

Nice Touch- Basic cooking and baking course-2013.

Chilton-Au pair Training course and CPR & First aid-2014.

Mhlanga Nursing School: Child Care & Nursing & CPR: 2015

Sarah Fox Hospital: Practical Nursing: 2015

First aid TrainingYes

References:

Reference 1:

Period and reason for leaving2008 -2014. She started working half days so she said she will manage to fetch her son from school herself. That´s when I stopped working for her
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One son  that was 2 yrs when I started working for Sandra.
What were your duties?Helping her maid , doing her son´s laundry, playing with him ,packing his school bag, driving him to school and fetch him and driving him to extra murals, helping him with home work and preparing his lunch and dinner.
  

Reference 2:

Period and reason for leaving2 months. She was not paying well.
Number of children,age and gender of the children when you started?One 4 year old girl.
What were your duties?Driving, fetching Sophy from school; going with her to extra murals , packing her lunch box , playing with her , preparing her dinner and bathing her.
  

Areas & Availability

Areas

CAPE TOWN
Southern Suburbs
South Peninsula

Availability

Au Pair availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm    
6pm-6am              

Babysitting availability:

Availability Mon Tues Wed Thurs Fri Sat Sun
6am-12pm              
12pm-6pm              
6pm-6am    

Availability Questions

Full timeNegotiable
Part timeNegotiable

Questions

How many years of childcare experience do you currently have?Since 2008.
How did you get involved in child care and why are you interested au pairing/ babysitting?I love children , I feel good around them and I also teach Sunday School at church.
What is the age of the youngest child you have cared for?2 years old
What do you do in your spare time? Do you have any hobbies or other jobs?Have time with my family and going to church.
What do you like most about childcare and being part of a childs life?I like to see how they develop and overcome challenges and meet goals.
What kinds of activities do you enjoy doing with children?Playing educational games , sports , art, cooking and going out with them to have fun.
Explain what you would do in case of an emergency?If it is the emergency I can´t handle, I will call for help and afterwards the parents to let them know what happened.
What is the most difficult situation you have encountered while caring for a child? How did you handle it?None
What is your approach to discipline?I will discipline the child the way his/her parents wants me to and I will provide warmth and structure.

How would you handle:

A two year old having a tantrum?I will use a lot of energy (creativity and effort ) to distract the child from the issue that is causing alarm and upset.
A 5 year old drawing on a wall?I will tell him in a calm way why it´s wrong to draw on the walls and we will start cleaning together as a team.
An 8 year old refusing to do homework?I will encourage the child to do the homework with me , will make it fun and exciting and praise the child sincerely for his /her effort. I will not give any negative criticism.
Which age groups are you comfortable working with?From 0 to 10yrs.
Do you still work for any of your previous clients? Which ones?No
Do you have any children of your own? If so, how old are they?I have an 11 year old girl and a 3 year old boy.
Please tell us a bit more about how you would describe yourself?I am married and a mother of two children. l love being around children because they make my life complete.
Can you cook? (give an example of a breakfast, lunch, dinner and snack)Yes
BreakfastWhole grain cereal with milk
LunchShepherd´s pie with green beans/carrots and water
DinnerTuna pasta bake with sweet corn ,broccoli and fruit
Snack I will choose between these snacks: Banana,cucumber, carrots sticks,mixed fruits and water.
 Is there any type of food you feel uncomfortable cooking? No
 How do you handle a crying baby?I will hold the baby so that he will feel safe and secure. then I will gently rock him and sing to him. I will make sure that all his basic needs are met and that he is not ill.
What do you see as your primary responsibility to a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will make sure that the child is safe and has a safe environment.
What activities would you engage in with a child aged 0 to 2 years old?I will stimulate the senses and play with house hold items that are safe and I will teach the child sounds. I will teach the child to roll.
How would you handle a child aged 2 to 3 years old having a temper tantrum in a public place?I will take the baby give him a hug and tell him it is inappropriate to behave  this wayin public. I will act calmly and firmly.
How do you feel potty training should be approached?I will take the child regularly to the toilet and then praise him if he has done something. I will let the child get use to the toilet gradually.
What role should outdoor play and interaction with other toddlers have in a child´s day?

The child has to learn how to play with peers and how to control their temper and how to communicate and give love to others.Playing outside is important because children need to explore different environments and it is part of the learning process and of free play.
What types of educational activities would you engage a child ages 2 to 3 years old?Firstly I would build puzzles with them and play games that involve the alphabet and mathematics and rhymes.
What indoor activities would you engage a child aged 2 to 3 years old?I will do art and read stories together and play music and bake with them.
What methods of limit setting or discipline do you find effective for children aged 3 to 5 years old?If the child is not listening I take away privileges and use time out in the naughty corner.
What television shows do you feel are appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old? How much television do you feel is appropriate for children aged 3 to 5 years old?The children's channel; Cbbs ,only for 30 minutes to an hour. As an au pair it is my duty to actively engage with the child and do educational and fun activities with them.
 Are you willing to supervise play time with other children in our home and/or take our child to outside activities which may or may not require your active participation?Yes I love playing volley ball and skipping rope and playing soccer with children.
Are you comfortable reviewing and assisting with my children’s homework?I am able to assist children until the age of ten with their home work.
Are you willing to supervise friends of our children who are invited to our home while you are in charge?Yes I will also definitely arrange play dates for them because I think socializing  with other children is important.
Are you happy with staying with the children at their extra-curricular activities?Yes I am happy to stay with them at extra activities.
What kind of outings would you organise for the children?I will take them to the aquarium and I will find out what they like and what their interests are.
What age appropriate activities would you do with the children aged 5 to 12 years old?I will play board games with them and foster their interests and I will get involved with their projects from school. I will play hide and seek and memory games with them.
Are you happy to prepack lunches for children?Yes I know what a healthy lunch should look like. I did a basic cooking and baking course and know what is healthy and nutritious for children to eat.
Would you consider yourself to be organized and punctual?Yes. I always show up for work on time and like to work in an orderly manner.
Please tell us a bit more about your family?.We are  a happy family and we practice the Christian faith. My husband has a small catering  equipment business and also run a taxi service. My parents stay in Zimbabwe and my mom has leukemia and my dad is retired. We look after them financially. We are very close and family orientated. I have four brothers. The one is a plumber, the one an electrician an the one an accountant. My sister recently came from Zimbabwe and lives with us and take care of my children when I help my husband in his business.

Made with love by Artificial Studio - awesome design for web & email.